Marcia Hultman

Cabinet Secretary

Font Size: A A A

Labor Market Information Center

What's New


Overview of South Dakota Labor Market

See an overview of the January labor market in South Dakota, including the estimated labor supply, labor force and nonfarm worker data.

Snapshot of South Dakota's Economy

Get a quick synopsis, or snapshot, of the most current data available for numerous closely watched economic indicators. The snapshot was recently enhanced to include comparative data for the month prior. Labor force data for the metro areas was also added.

Revised Labor Force Data Available Soon

Each year about this time, the Labor Market Information Center revises past labor force data through a process known as benchmarking. Users of past labor force data available through our virtual labor market data system should download the most current data available on or as soon as possible after the following dates to ensure they are using the most recent and accurate data available. Learn more about benchmarking on our Definitions page.

Release Date Labor Force Data Sets Being Revised
February 27, 2018

Statewide not seasonally adjusted benchmarked data for 2010-2017

Statewide seasonally adjusted benchmarked data for 1990-2017

April 20, 2018 Benchmarked data for all sub-state areas for 2010-2017

Please note: an explanation of seasonal adjustment is also available on our Definitions page.

Seasonally Adjusted December Labor Force Data for Metro Areas Available

Seasonally adjusted labor force data for South Dakota's Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSA) of Rapid City and Sioux Falls for December 2017 were released Feb. 1 from the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). See the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) news release or view the data specifically for South Dakota's MSAs.

January 2018 data for the metro areas will be released March 16, 2018. Historical data back to 1990 for all metro areas nationwide is available to download in a .txt file from BLS website.

Release Dates

Find out when the next data release from LMIC will be.