- Home to DLR
- Home to Electrical Commission
- Commission Information
- Consumer Complaints
- Disciplinary Actions
- Fees for Inspections
- Homeowner Wiring
- Experience Requirements for Licensure
- Applications & Forms for Licensure
- Continuing Education Requirements
- Continuing Education by Licensee
- Exams for Licensure
- Reciprocal Agreements for Licensure
- South Dakota Laws & Rules
- Tool Box - Resources for Electricians
- Undertaking & Insurance Requirement
- Wiring Bulletin (Adobe PDF)
- Contact Us
- Other Boards & Commissions
South Dakota Electrical Commission
Anyone doing electrical work in South Dakota must have an electrical license. To become an electrician and obtain a license, the first step is to complete an application to become an apprentice electrician. See our Forms page for the Apprentice Electrician Application.
After completing four years (for a total of 8,000 hours) as an apprentice working under an electrical contractor, you will be ready to write the journeyman's exam.
It will then take another two years as a journeyman (with a total of 4,000 hours of additional work under a contractor, including a minimum of 2,000 hours of commercial work) to write the electrical contractor's exam.
If you are working in South Dakota, you must be registered or be licensed in order for your working time to count toward the hours required to take the exams.
Anyone who holds a license or registration with the State of South Dakota must have the required continuing education hours in order to renew his or her license or registration.