Marcia Hultman

Cabinet Secretary

Font Size: A A A

South Dakota Electrical Commission

Continuing Education

Continuing Education Applications

Continuing Education Requirements

Continuing Education Opportunities

Related South Dakota Administrative Rules - See our Laws and Rules page


Online or Correspondence Continuing Education Application

If you are interested in presenting a continuing education course, use the Instructor and Course Application. Courses are approved on a date basis only.

Continuing Education Requirements

To renew your license (every even year) you must have at least 16 hours of continuing education. Eight hours must be code-related. The remaining eight hours may be non-code.

Please note the Commission is no longer keeping track of your continuing education hours. Licensees are required to retain their copies of certificates of completion. The licensee will check the box on the renewal form stating they have attained the required continuing education to renew. Any licensee may be selected for an audit in the future. Failure to provide the appropriate documentation during the audit may result in disciplinary action. (Disciplinary action includes a fine; suspension, revocation, refusal to issue a license; or limit the scope of practice.) Starting with the biannual ending 6/30/2022 the commission will request the certificates be submitted when a licensee applies for the next level of licensure(you are not required to submit with renewal form). So, keep your certificates ladies and gentlemen. Documentation prior to the 6/30/22 biannual will be kept on file at the Commission (classes remitted to the commission and taken prior to 6/30/20). A licensee will be required to submit 3 renewal cycles of continuing education for an audit and all the continuing education earned during their supervised experience utilized when applying for the next level of licensure. Please do not contact the Commission inquiring on how many education hours you have or how to submit certificates. 

Important Reminder

The South Dakota Electrical Commission plans to move forward with renewal and the continuing education requirements without change. Licensees are required to attain 16 hours of continuing education by the time of renewal or by June 30, whichever is sooner. A minimum of eight hours are required to be on the National Electric Code. In addition, only eight hours are allowed to be pre-approved correspondence or interactive online courses. Licensees are required to remit the certificate of completion to the Commission office once an online class has been completed.

PLEASE NOTE, due to the limitations on in-person events due to COVID-19 and the uncertainty it may cause over the next few months, the Commission will allow all continuing education hours to be gained online for the 2022 renewal cycle.

Please also note some local providers are preparing webinars in anticipation of this change, so please be sure to check with local providers

The South Dakota Electrical Commission will no longer provide the annual three-hour code classes.

Continuing Education Opportunities

Pre-Approved Training Providers
For dates and locations of classes,
please contact the contact person for the training provider.

These providers are valid through August 15, 2022

Training Provider
Contact Person
Phone Number
Type of Class
1 Attempt Pat Caldwell 877.724.6150 Online
180 Degree Education Brett Hallongren 877.669.0766 Online Mohamed Itratullah 515.236.5475 Online
@Home Prep Joshua Purvis 800.952.0910 Online
American Electrical Institute Mark Newcomer 855.780.5046 Online/Correspondence
AnytimeCE Ben Engelking 425.778.2510 Online
A & A Electric, Inc. Matthew Hermanson

Ft. Dodge, IA

515.576.5037 Classroom
AETech Electrical Training Center Steve Arne
Rapid City
605.342.9088 Classroom, Webinar
All Star Training

Michelle Barham 817.385.1136 Online
BBF Code Seminars Dan Frohberg 402.371.6158 Classroom
Big Woods Electric Motor Chuck Bigwood 701.642.3145 Classroom
Kevin Booker Code Classes
South Dakota

Kevin Booker 605.728.3903 Classroom
BlueVolt Brooke Parker 503.223.2583 Online
BoBo Technologies Krista Bobo 719.488.2632 Classroom
Certified Training Institute Josh Francis 844.842.8272 Online
CEU Authority, LLC, The Audrey Pins 515.333.1293 Classroom
CEU Solutions Matthew Hermanson 515.576.5037 Classroom
Dakota's & Western MN JATC Mark Wasfaret 701.293.1300 Classroom
EC & M Workplace Learning Center
Overland Park, Kansas
Kim Good 913.967.1865 Classroom
ECSTI - Certified Training Institute Ellen Musser 800.727.7104 Online
Education Power Continuing Electrical Education [EPCEE]
Robert Webber 402.612.2949 Classroom
e-Hazard Management, LLC Nancy Lewis

General Manager

502.498.7978 Classroom



Electrical Association

Kelly Kristo 612.827.6117 Classroom or

Real-time Online Mike Miller 855.LOG.CEUS
Electrician U Learning Dustin Stelzer 888.227.5222 Online
Elite CEU, Inc. Kaleb Brashear 866.566.5512 Online
Enterprise Safety, LLC Arthur Fedie 715.672.4260 Classroom/Webinar
Global Safety Company LLC

Rocky Clark
Chris Chase
HomePrep Tom Dorsey

Joshua Purvis

800.952.0910 Online
Industrial Trailers of America, Inc. Bonnie Leana 717.227.8030 Classroom
Interstates Construction Services, Inc.
Lowell Reith 712.722.1660 ext 179 Classroom
Iowa Chapter IAEI Jerry DePenning 319.377.1076 Classroom
Iowa Electrical Apprenticeship Ron Pinegar 515.224.4349 Classroom
Instrument Technologies Philip Custer 208.376.4502 Online
Inspector's View Mike Livingston 605.843.2024 Classroom
JCR Productions Inc
Mooresville, North Carolina
Carol Rodriquez 704.360.4323 Classroom Online Correspondence
Jade Learning Amy Bonilla 800.443.5233 Classroom, Online
Johnstone Supply
Steve Pins 515.650.0186 Classroom
Lake Area Technical College Steve Hauck 605.882.5284 ext 260 Classroom
Lightwave Bryron Cropp 503.915.4345 Online - Classroom
Mike Holt Enterprises Meghan Roy Holt

888.632.2633 Classroom



Mike Miller Instructional Services
South Dakota
Mike Miller 605.886.8638 Classroom
MTI Corporate Education
(Mitchell Technical College)
Doug Greenway 605.995.7207 Classroom Charles Clemmens 509.981.5957 Online
National Electrical Seminars
Pelham, AL
Steven J. Owen 205.567.2735 Classroom
ND State College of Science (NDSCS) Carol Meehan 701.231.6933 Classroom
Northeast Community College
Dan Frohberg 402.844.7205 Classroom
Northland Electrical Code Seminars
Dean Hunter 218.564.NECS
Classroom Meredith Douthit 888.405.7849 Online
Powder River Coal

Peabody Western Training Center

Tom Gadsden 307.685.8563 Classroom


RedVector Ellen Sakamoto 813.425.7372 Online
Reliance Electric


Heidi Johnson 435.874.1250 Classroom
SAFE Consulting Services Corp. dba
Adrian Steik 888.660.1333 Online
Connie Moorhead 502.254.1590 Online
Tom Kelly Continuing Education Tom Kelly 605.290.2121 Classroom
TPC Training Naomi Yencich 303.531.4560 Classroom Unknown 877.724.6150 Online
Western Dakota Technical College
South Dakota

Patsy Schmidt 605.718.2410 Classroom
Western Iowa Tech Richard Moon 712.274.8733 ext. 1279 Classroom


South Dakota Electrical Council Chapters

SD Electrical Council Chapters
Call the contact person for your area for times and dates of upcoming meetings.
Hub Chapter Aberdeen Tony Simon
Brookings/Watertown Chapter Brookings/Watertown Don DeGreef

Huron Chapter Huron Carl Maas
Oahe Chapter Pierre
Black Hills Chapter Rapid City Steve Arne
Sioux Chapter Sioux Falls Mike Fisher

back to top