Marcia Hultman

Cabinet Secretary

Font Size: A A A

South Dakota Electrical Commission


All electrical wiring installations must be inspected by a State Electrical Inspector. You will need a rough-in inspection and a final inspection. Wiring installations are not approved until the work passes final inspection. A "final" sticker will be placed near your service panel after the final inspection has taken place.

Commercial installation fees are based on the number of services and circuits being installed. (Please see our Fees page for more information.) Residential wiring is also based on the number of services and circuits, but may not exceed the flat rate of wiring a complete home.

Contact your local electrical inspector with any questions. (Rapid City and Sioux Falls have local inspection departments for work done within their city limits.) All inspectors have mobile phones with voice mail; please leave a message during work hours Monday through Friday.


Color-coded list of inspector districts by city Adobe PDF | Excel

Inspector Contact Information

To email one of the inspectors, click on his name below.

District Inspector
(Click name to email)
Phone Number Home Base Preferred Method of Contact
District 1 Brent Schoulte 605.222.1683 Presho No preference
District 2 Stan Rogers 605.517.2478 Hot Springs Text
District 3 Kyle Dahl 605.592.2029 Brookings Text
District 4 Vacant      
District 5 Jason Wingert 605.201.0520 Hartford Email
District 6 Dan Larson (part-time) 605.380.8981 Aberdeen Phone
District 7 Vacant      
District 8 Thad Stoddard 605.390.1638 Meade County Email
District 9 Dan Urban 605.222.0143 Watertown Text
District 10 Vacant      
District 11 Scott Ochsner 605.370.8801 Tea Text
District 12 Dan Schoenfelder 605.661.1691 Scotland Text
District 13 Aaron Dimitt 605.390.4423 Pennington County Email
District 14 Jeff Hotchkiss 605.220.6885 North Central South Dakota Text
District 17 Tom Kelly
605.290.2121 Aberdeen Phone
District 21 Doug Brende
605.251.5454 Southeast South Dakota Text
District 22 Curt Mitchell 605.205.0084 Wessington Springs No preference
District 24 Tim Heairet 605.639.1178 Spearfish Email

Please contact the Electrical Commission at 605.773.3573 for questions regarding assigned inspectors.