- Home to DLR
- Home to Real Estate Commission
- Commission Information
- Consumer Complaints
- Consumer Information
- Email us
- Fee Schedule
- Guidance from SDREC
- Home Inspector Information
- South Dakota Laws and Rules
- License Verification
- Online Licensee Services
- Contact Us
- Other Boards & Commissions
South Dakota Real Estate Commission
All applicants for a real estate license must register for and pass the licensing exam prior to applying for a license.
Applicants for a license have 60 days from the date of the notice of having passed the exam to file an application for license. If an individual does not file an application within that time frame, any rights to a passing score are forfeited.
Auctioneer license applications must be made within two years of completion of the pre-licensing courses. Property manager license applications must be made within two years of completion of the Fundamentals of Property Management Course. For a list of schools that provide these courses, Schools Providing Approved Pre-Licensing Courses.
Licensing exams for real estate brokers and broker associates are available in Rapid City and Sioux Falls via computer. The exam is administered by Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP). Candidates must schedule examination appointments directly with AMP at www.goamp.com or by calling 913.895.4600. The test center in Sioux Falls is located in the H & R Block office at 3308 South Minnesota Avenue. The test center in Rapid City is located in the H & R Block office at 1819 West Main. Phone registrations will require credit card payment of $190 ($95 for each portion) at time of registration. Registration procedures are detailed in the AMP handbook which are distributed by the pre-licensing schools or available on the AMP website.
Broker associate and broker candidates will be permitted to register for the exam either by phone or by mail. Phone registrations will require a credit card payment of $190 ($95 for each portion) at time of registration. Registration procedures are detailed in the AMP handbook which are distributed by the pre-licensing schools.
Auctioneer, property manager, and timeshare exams are administered by appointment in Pierre and Sioux Falls at the offices of the South Dakota Real Estate Commission. These candidates must contact the commission office at 605.773.3600 to schedule an exam date. There is no fee for these exams.