Marcia Hultman

Cabinet Secretary

Font Size: A A A

Division of Human Rights

Related Federal Agencies

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
The EEOC enforces Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, which prohibits job discrimination based on race, color, religion, national origin or sex. Title VII covers employers of 15 or more persons, including state and local governments, labor unions, apprenticeship programs and employment agencies. The EEOC also enforces the Equal Pay Act, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act and the Genetic Information Non-Discrimination Act (GINA). The South Dakota Division of Human Rights works closely with the EEOC, and charges filed with the EEOC are referred to the Division of Human Rights for investigation.

The EEOC has launched the EEOC Public Portal ( to provide online access to individuals inquiring about discrimination. The portal allows individuals to submit online initial inquiries and requests for intake interviews with the agency. Initial inquiries and intake interviews are typically the first steps for individuals seeking to file a charge of discrimination with EEOC.

You may contact the EEOC at:

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Chicago District Office
John C. Kluczynski Federal Building
230 S. Dearborn St., Suite 1866
Chicago, IL 60604
Fax: 312.588.1260
ASL Video Phone: 844.234.5122

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Minneapolis Area Office
Towle Building
330 S. Second Ave., Suite 720
Minneapolis, MN 55401
Fax: 612.335.4044
TTY: 800.669.6820 
ASL Video Phone: 844.234.5122

Office of Federal Contract Compliance
Located within the U.S. Department of Labor, the OFCC administers the President's Executive Orders requiring affirmative action by federal contractors and subcontractors for women, minorities, Vietnam veterans and the handicapped. The EEOC and OFCC work closely together, and a charge of discrimination filed with one is considered filed with both.

Office of Personnel Management
Under the provisions of Executive Order 11478 and Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, the Office of Personnel Management promotes and enforces equal employment opportunity in the federal government. Complaints of discrimination are investigated by each federal agency but may be appealed to the Office of Personnel Management.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
HUD's Office of Equal Opportunity administers the Fair Housing Act of 1968, which prohibits discrimination based on race, color or creed in the sale or rental of housing.

Federal Trade Commission
The FTC enforces the Equal Credit Opportunity Act, which prohibits creditors from discriminating on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age and marital status.

U.S. Department of Education
This department enforces the provisions of Title IX of the 1964 Civil Rights Act that prohibit sex discrimination in any educational program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.


The information provided on this website should in no way be considered legal advice. For specific information about your legal rights, you should consult your personal attorney. If you have a general question, contact us.