Marcia Hultman

Cabinet Secretary

Font Size: A A A

Service Hours

Schedule of Office Closures for State-recognized Holidays

Unless otherwise noted on this website, hours of South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation's administrative offices are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. The State of South Dakota recognizes the following 10 legal holidays plus any other day proclaimed as a holiday by the Governor of South Dakota or the President of the United States.

Holiday Day Observed*
New Year's Day January 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Third Monday in January
Presidents Day Third Monday in February
Memorial Day Last Monday in May
Juneteenth June 19
Independence Day July 4
Labor Day First Monday in September
Native Americans Day Second Monday in October
Veterans Day November 11
Thanksgiving Fourth Thursday in November
Christmas December 25
*If a holiday from the list above falls on a Saturday, the preceding Friday is observed as a State holiday. If a holiday falls on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday.