Department of Labor and Regulation

Title - Banking

About Us

Mission and Goals
Legal Authorization and Responsibilities
Annual Reports
Contact Us
Staff Directory
Other Contact Information
Past Directors

Mission and Goals

The primary mission of the South Dakota Division of Banking is to charter, license, regulate, supervise and provide guidance to South Dakota
financial entities in order to instill consumer confidence, protect consumer interests and promote economic stability through a common sense, efficient and risk-focused approach.

Our major goals are:

  • Create, sustain and enhance a stable experienced staff.
  • Provide better coverage of non-banks.
  • Enhance state regulation and supervision.
  • Improve efficiencies.
  • Evaluate the Community Banking Model.

back to top


The Division of Banking is administered under the direction of the Department of Labor and Regulation. The Division is under the administrative control and supervision of the Director of Banking, Bret Afdahl. In addition to the Director, the Governor appoints a Banking Commission consisting of five members.

The Director of Banking is the executive officer of the Commission and complies with and enforces orders and directions of the Commission. The Director is responsible to act on applications to organize a bank, change control, merge, change location, and establish or close branch banks. The Commission is required to hear appeals of application decisions or disputes and also acts on Administrative Rules of South Dakota (ARSD) necessary for the management and administration of banks and trust companies over which it has jurisdiction.

back to top

Legal Authorization and Responsibilities

For more information on the authorization and responsibilities of the Division of Banking as mandated in South Dakota Codified Law and Administrative Rules of South Dakota, and for a list of the types of entities supervised by the Division of Banking, please see Legal Authority.

back to top

Annual Reports

The following Annual Reports of the Division of Banking are available in Adobe .pdf format*.

2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995

back to top

Contact Us

Division of Banking
South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
1601 N. Harrison Avenue, Suite 1
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605.773.3421
Fax: 866.326.7504

Staff Directory

Division of Banking Staff
Title Name and
email Link
Director Bret Afdahl  
Deputy Director - Banking John Crompton CEM
Deputy Director - Trust Scott Kelly CEIC, CFIRS, CSTE
Division Counsel Brock Jensen COE, CFIRS, CTE
Policy Analyst Jean Blow  
Financial Institution Examiner Jim Benham CFIRS, CTE
Financial Institution Examiner Donald Berger CEIC, CFIRS
Senior Secretary Delaine Campbell  
Financial Institution Examiner Casson Campbell  
Financial Institution Examiner Austin DeLange  
Financial Institution Examiner Michael Dummer CEIC
Financial Institution Examiner Max Eckrich  
Financial Institution Examiner Blake Gunderson  
Financial Institution Examiner Drew Haack CEIC
Financial Institution Examiner David Henry  
Financial Institution Examiner Chase Koskovich  
Financial Institution Examiner Morgan Kronaizl  
Financial Institution Examiner Jordan LaBrie CEIC
Financial Institution Examiner Jason Nomsen CFIRS, CTE
Financial Institution Examiner Bradley Pesicka  
Financial Institution Examiner Aspen Ruane  
Financial Institution Examiner Jonathon Sanborn  
Financial Institution Examiner Brady Schlechter COE
Financial Institution Examiner Matthew Schlechter CFIRS, CTE
Financial Institution Examiner Florence Simmons CEIC, CME
Financial Institution Examiner Matt Spolum  
Financial Institution Examiner Jacob Wagner CEIC
Financial Institution Examiner Todd Youngbluth CEIC
Financial Institution Examiner Michael Zellmer CCE

*CCE — Certified Credit Examiner
 CEM — Certified Examination Manager
 CEIC — Certified Examiner In Charge
 CFIRS — Certified Fiduciary and Investment Risk Specialist
 CME — Certified Mortgage Examiner
 COE — Certified Operations Examiner
 CSTE — Certified Senior Trust Examiner
 CTE — Certified Trust Examiner

back to top

Other Contact Information

If you wish to lodge a complaint, please refer to the Consumer Complaint Reference List for the appropriate entity to contact.

See Contact Information for other financial entities, including those not regulated by the Division of Banking.

back to top

*Opening and printing Adobe .pdf files requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here as needed to download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Marcia Hultman, Secretary
123 W. Missouri Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-4505
Tel. 605.773.3101
Fax. 605.773.6184