Department of Labor and Regulation

Title - Labor Market Information Center

Occupational Wages - Counties Included in Wage Areas

Balance of State (BOS) Areas

Beginning with data published in May 2016, occupational wage estimates are available for statewide South Dakota; the Rapid City, Sioux City and Sioux Falls Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs) and two Balance of State (BOS) areas. The Balance of State Areas are East South Dakota and West South Dakota. Listed below are the counties included in each of the Balance of State Areas.

East Balance of State Area
Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brookings, Brown, Clark, Clay, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Marshall, McPherson, Miner, Moody, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Yankton

West Balance of State Area
Bennett, Brule, Buffalo, Butte, Campbell, Charles Mix, Corson, Dewey, Douglas, Fall River, Gregory, Haakon, Hand, Harding, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jones, Lawrence, Lyman, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Perkins, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Walworth, Ziebach

Metropolitan Statistical Areas

Rapid City MSA
Custer, Meade, Pennington

Sioux City MSA
Union County, South Dakota; Plymouth and Woodbury counties, Iowa; Dakota and Dixon counties, Nebraska

Sioux Falls MSA
Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner

See definition of MSA.


Marcia Hultman, Secretary
123 W. Missouri Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-4505
Tel. 605.773.3101
Fax. 605.773.6184