- Home to DLR
- Home to Division of Insurance
- About Us
- Applications, Forms, Reports, & Related Fees
- Bail Bonds
- Commission Sharing/Commission Rebating
- Continuing Education
- Enforcement/Administrative Actions
- Guidance for Producers - Various Topics
- Laws, Administrative Rules, Bulletins, Memorandums
- Publications (Alerts, Newsletters)
- Report Insurance Fraud
- Securities Regulation
- Sign up for Alerts & Bulletins
- Workers' Compensation
- Contact the Division of Insurance
Division of Insurance - Producer Information
If you have not previously held a producer license in South Dakota or any other state, you must take insurance exams for each line of authority you wish to sell in this state. Upon completing and passing your exam(s), you will need to complete a resident producer license application available online through Sircon.
The licensing fee is paid when the online license application is completed and submitted. The electronic payment due is $25 plus a service fee.
No pre-licensing education is required to obtain a resident or non-resident producer license in South Dakota.
Producer Licensing Exam
A producer licensing exam should be scheduled through the South Dakota exam provider. As of January 1, 2018 the Division will be contracted with Pearson VUE to conduct examinations. To schedule an exam prior to December 31, 2017, login at Prometric or contact them at 800.864.8373 (Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. ET).
If you wish to take an exam in 2018, please login at Pearson VUE at 888.873.6205.
To prepare for your exam, pre-licensing study material information is available here.
Resident producer licenses renew biennially based on the producer's birth month. Renewals are completed electronically through Sircon. The renewal period will open 60 days prior to the license renewal deadline.
See the Continuing Education (CE) webpage for CE requirements for license renewal.
Resident Limited Lines
Resident producers who hold a limited or restricted license shall renew their license pursant to South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) 58-30-115.2 and 58-30-121.
See additional information on the Guidance for Producers webpage.
Contact the Division of Insurance