Marcia Hultman

Cabinet Secretary

Font Size: A A A

South Dakota Real Estate Commission

License Types and Requirements

In addition to the requirements below, an applicant for a license must be at least 18 years of age, be a citizen of the United States or a resident of South Dakota and must meet the statutory requirements for a license pursuant to South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) chapter 36-21A.

In addition to the requirements below for the Registered Home Inspector license, an applicant must meet statutory requirements for a license pursuant to SDCL chapter 36-32-21C.

Grounds for Denial of License Application: The Commission may deny the issuance of a license for reasons such as conviction of a felony, unpaid judgments, misstatements, etc. For more information, review SDCL 36-21A-33.

License Type

Educational Requirements

Experience

Other Qualifications

Auctioneer

116-Hour Prelicensing Course

None

Exam score of 75% Approval of Application

Broker Associate

116-Hour Prelicensing Course

None

Exam score of 75%

Approval of Application

Home Inspector, Licensed None 100 home inspections as a Registered Home Inspector Approval of Application
Experience Log
Home Inspector, Registered Minimum 40-hour Prelicensing Course None Exam score of 75%
Approval of Application

Responsible Broker

116-Hour Prelicensing Course

2 years active
status

Exam score of 75% Approval of Application

15-Hour Responsible Broker Course

Property Manager

40 hrs of Fundamentals of Property Management

None

Exam score of 75% Approval of Application

Residential Rental Agent

None

None

Approval of Application

Timeshare Agent

None

None

Exam score of 75% Approval of Application