- Home to DLR
- Home to Appraiser Certification Program
- Advisory Council
- Consumer Information
- Information for Appraisers
- Classifications & Requirements
- Important Announcements
- Appraisal Standards Board Guidance
- Letter of Good Standing
- Renewal of Certification
- Supervisory Appraisers
- Supervisory Appraiser Log
- Temporary Permit
- Upgrading Certification
- Laws, Rules & Standards
- Information for Appraisal Management Companies
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Information for Education Providers
- News and Announcements
- Upcoming Events
- Related Sites
- Other Boards & Commissions
Appraiser Certification Program
Supervisory appraisers must be State-Certified Residential or State-Certified General appraisers who have satisfied the requirements of a supervisory appraiser.
Requirements of a Supervisory Appraiser:
- Be endorsed by the Department as a Supervisory Appraiser.
- Be in good standing in this state or any other jurisdiction in which the appraiser is certified. (A supervisory appraiser is considered to be in good standing if the appraiser has not been subject to any disciplinary action within any jurisdiction that affects legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice for three years after the successful completion or termination of any sanctions imposed.)
- Have knowledge and experience in the types of appraisal assignments that he or she is supervising.
- Have a minimum of three years appraisal experience as a South Dakota state-certified residential or state-certified general appraiser or three years experience as a South Dakota reciprocal state-certified residential or state-certified general appraiser.
- Successfully complete the Department of Labor and Regulation, Appraiser Certification Program's course entitled "Training Course for Supervisory Appraisers and State-Registered Appraisers" before supervision begins. (If a supervisory appraiser has not actively supervised or has not been an approved supervisory appraiser within the past three years after the training course is successfully completed, he/she must complete the course again.)
To become an endorsed supervisory appraiser you must:
- Complete, submit and receive approval of a Supervisory Endorsement form.
- Submit a nonrefundable fee of $150.00.
- Submit verification of completion of the Training Course for Supervisory Appraisers and State-Registered Appraisers (if completed). (Supervision cannot begin until completion of this course.)
You are responsible for affirming the Department's supervisory appraiser/state-registered applicant registration. For confirmation, see our Supervisory Appraisers & State-Registered Appraisers Log.
A maximum of three state-registered appraisers may be supervised at one time.
Supervisory appraisers will be required to renew their supervisory appraiser status yearly on a renewal application form (valid July through March 31) provided by the Secretary along with the prescribed $100 renewal fee. The renewal application and fee must be submitted no later than August 17 of each year. The endorsement period is from October 1 through September 30 of the following year.
If you do not renew your supervisory appraiser endorsement and it expires on September 30, you have until March 31 of the following year in order to renew your endorsement with a $25 late penalty fee for each month or fraction of a month that has passed since October 1. [Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:100:04].
The 2017 renewal applications for supervisory appraisers were mailed the first week of July. In order to renew as a supervising appraiser you must submit a completed Renewal Application for Supervisory Appraiser Endorsement and $100 renewal fee by August 17, 2017.
Late Supervisory Appraiser Renewals
If your supervisory appraiser endorsement expired on September 30, 2017, you have until March 31, 2018 in order to renew your endorsement with a $25 late penalty fee for each month or fraction of a month that has passed since October 1, 2017. [ARSD 20:14:10:04].
Training Course for Supervisory Appraisers
The supervisory appraiser must attend and successfully complete the Department of Labor & Regulation, Appraiser Certification Program's approved course entitled: "Training Course for Supervisory Appraisers and State-Registered Appraisers" before supervision begins. (Please note: This is the only course that satisfies this requirement.)
Please note if the Course has been previously successfully completed by a supervisory appraiser who has not actively supervised or has not been an approved supervisory appraiser within the past three years, then he/she must complete the course again.
Visit www.paasd.com for course offering information. Verification of successful completion must be submitted to the Department.
This training course is awarded four hours of continuing education credit to the supervisory appraiser.