- Home to DLR
- Home to Appraiser Certification Program
- Advisory Council
- Consumer Information
- Information for Appraisers
- Classifications & Requirements
- Important Announcements
- Appraisal Standards Board Guidance
- Letter of Good Standing
- Renewal of Certification
- Supervisory Appraisers
- Supervisory Appraiser Log
- Temporary Permit
- Upgrading Certification
- Laws, Rules & Standards
- Information for Appraisal Management Companies
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Information for Education Providers
- News and Announcements
- Upcoming Events
- Related Sites
- Other Boards & Commissions
Appraiser Certification Program
Articles Published in the Real Estate Commission's VIEW Newsletter of Importance to Appraisers
Public Hearing to Adopt Rules
A public hearing will be held October 25 at 10 a.m in Pierre to consider the adoption and amendment of proposed rule numbered § 20:14:06:01, inclusive. The meeting will be held in the Appraiser Certification Program Conference Room, 308 South Pierre Street.
The effect of the proposed rule will be to adopt the 2018-2019 Edition of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice promulgated by The Appraisal Foundation’s Appraisal Standards Board effective January 1, 2018. View the full proposed rules text (Adobe PDF).
2017 Renewal Applications
The 2017 renewal applications were mailed the first week in July and are due August 17, 2017. In order to renew your certificate for state-certified general, state-certified residential, state-licensed and state-registered appraiser you must submit the completed renewal application, applicable renewal fees and verification of the required 28 hours of approved continuing education (unless deferred or exempt)* which includes the seven-hour National USPAP. [Pursuant to Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:13:01, the 2016-2017 edition of the seven-hour National USPAP update course must have been completed between January 1, 2016 and June 30, 2016. If the course was not completed by June 30, 2016 the applicant will be assessed a $100 administrative penalty fee.]
Changes in Allowance for Midway Review & Allegations of Noncompliance/Complaints Effective September 20, 2016
Midway to Upgrade Review: When a state-registered appraiser has achieved at least fifty percent of the experience hours required to upgrade to the state-licensed, state-certified residential, or state-certified general appraiser classification, the appraiser may request an appraisal review of an appraisal completed by him/her. A maximum of two appraisals can be reviewed with the applicable midway upgrade fee applying for each appraisal submitted.
If the review reveals that the licensee's appraisal is in compliance, the appraiser shall be granted credit for the compliant appraisal report when he/she applies to upgrade to a higher classification.
If the appraisal review reveals that the licensee's appraisal is not in compliance, remedial education may be prescribed to the licensee. No disciplinary action may be taken against the licensee or their supervisory appraiser. (See Administrative Rules of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:05:05.05.)
Allegation of non-compliance: An allegation of non-compliance must be in writing and meet the following criteria:
- The allegation of error or violation of any provision is considered credible and based upon factual information which is independently verifiable; and
- The allegation is accompanied by a copy of the appraisal report or other credible documentation which contains a clearly identifiable error or violation, and provides sufficient evidence that it is probable the allegation has merit.
Complaints: Upon receipt of an allegation of non-compliance against any certificate holder or applicant for certification, or upon the Secretary's own motion, the secretary shall initiate an investigation of the allegation. If the investigation provides evidence of non-compliance, the secretary may enter a formal complaint stating the charge against any certificate holder or applicant for certification.
Late Appraiser Certification Renewals
If your appraiser certificate expired on September 30, 2016 and you have not renewed, you have until March 31, 2017 in order to renew your certificate with a $25 late penalty fee for each month or fraction of a month that has passed since October 1, 2016. See Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:10:04 for more information.
Late Supervisory Appraiser Renewals
If your supervisory appraiser endorsement expired on September 30, 2016, you have until March 31, 2017 in order to renew your endorsement with a $25 late penalty fee for each month or fraction of a month that has passed since October 1, 2016. See ARSD 20:14:10:04 for more information.
Please note: It is not mandatory for a State-Registered Appraiser to upgrade to the State-Licensed Appraiser classification. A State-Registered Appraiser may upgrade to State-Certified Residential or State-Certified General.
Email and Address Changes Must Be Reported
It is important that any email and address changes be reported to the Appraiser Certification Program as timely as possible. For appraisal management companies, the changes are to be reported to our office within five days of the change. For appraisers, it is to be immediately upon any change of residential or business address, along with the email address, if available.
back to top
Appraisal Experience Log
Appraisal experience must be documented using the Appraisal Experience Log (Microsoft Excel format). Instructions for completion are included in the file. Only this format is accepted for assignments and experience hours claimed on or after June 1, 2015.
back to top