Marcia Hultman

Cabinet Secretary

Font Size: A A A

Appraiser Certification Program

Renewal of Certification

Please note: Renewal applications will not be accepted after March 31 of the following year. (For example, for a certificate that expires on September 30, 2017, renewal applications will only be accepted up to March 31, 2018 for that renewal period.)

The 2017 renewal applications were mailed the first week in July and are due August 17, 2017. In order to renew your certificate for state-certified general, state-certified residential, state-licensed and state-registered appraiser you must submit the completed renewal application, applicable renewal fees and verification of the required 28 hours of approved continuing education (unless deferred or exempt)* which includes the seven-hour National USPAP. [Pursuant to Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:13:01, the 2016-2017 edition of the seven-hour National USPAP update course must have been completed between January 1, 2016 and June 30, 2016. If the course was not completed by June 30, 2016 the applicant will be assessed a $100 administrative penalty fee.]

Requirements

Continuing Education Requirements

Approved Continuing Education

Renewal Process and Forms

South Dakota Sales Tax License Requirements

South Dakota Codified Law Related to Certification Renewal

Administrative Rules of South Dakota Related to Certification Renewal

Requirements

All South Dakota appraisal certificates, including those on inactive status, expire on September 30 of each year except for those issued after the first week of July. New licenses issued after the first week in July will not expire until September 30 of the following year.

Renewal packets are mailed out the first week in July and must be thoroughly completed, notarized and returned to our office along with the applicable renewal fee no later than August 17 of the current year.

Late renewals (after October 1) must pay a late penalty fee of $25 for each month or fraction of a month that has passed since October 1. (See Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:10:04.)

Each odd numbered year, verification of completed continuing education must also be submitted with the renewal application and fee. (See our continuing education page.)  

Inactive status certificates must complete the same renewal requirements as active except there is no continuing education required.  Be sure to check the box for inactive status on the application and follow the guidance provided in the administrative rules.

Reciprocal appraisers must also complete the same renewal requirements as active appraisers except their continuing education requirement may be exempted. (See our continuing education page.) 

A printed copy of the current statute (South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) 36-21B) and Administrative Rules (ARSD 20:14) relating to appraisers and appraisals is available free of charge upon request by contacting our office.

back to top

Contact Us