- Home to DLR
- Home to Appraiser Certification Program
- Advisory Council
- Consumer Information
- Information for Appraisers
- Classifications & Requirements
- Important Announcements
- Appraisal Standards Board Guidance
- Letter of Good Standing
- Renewal of Certification
- Supervisory Appraisers
- Supervisory Appraiser Log
- Temporary Permit
- Upgrading Certification
- Laws, Rules & Standards
- Information for Appraisal Management Companies
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Information for Education Providers
- News and Announcements
- Upcoming Events
- Related Sites
- Other Boards & Commissions
Appraiser Certification Program
Frequently Asked Questions - General Topics Concerning
Appraisal Management Companies
What is the definition of an appraisal management company (AMC) in South Dakota?
You are an AMC if you recruit, select, and retain appraisers; contract with licensed or certified appraisers to perform appraisal assignments; manage the process of having an appraisal performed (including providing administrative duties); review and verify the work of appraisers for compliance with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.
Is my company exempt from registration as an AMC?
See a list of companies exempt from registration as an Appraisal Management Company.
Does my AMC need to be registered with South Dakota?
Any appraisal management company doing business in the State of South Dakota is required to be duly registered or cease business until registered.
How much is the fee for registration of an Appraisal Management Company?
$1,000 initial registration fee.
Is a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit required for AMC registration?
Yes, a Surety Bond or irrevocable letter of credit in the amount of $25,000 must be obtained and submitted with an ending effective date of December 31 or Continuous. (See our Surety Bond page for more information.)