- Home to DLR
- Home to Unemployment Insurance
- Advisory Council
- Services for Individuals
- Services for Businesses
- Report New Hires
- Report Possible Fraud
- Equal Opportunity to Services
- South Dakota Laws & Rules
Overpayment - Collections
Repayment of all Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit overpayments is required by law regardless of the reason for the overpayment. For information on avoiding being overpaid UI benefits, visit our Accurate and Honest Reporting page. Or refer to your Facts about UI Benefits guide (Adobe PDF format) and UI Benefits portion of this website for additional information.
If you receive a notice in the mail that you have been overpaid UI benefits:
- Read the notice carefully. If you have any questions, call the Benefit Payment Control Unit at 605.626.7649.
- Appeal and waiver rights should be reviewed. Appeal on time if you disagree with the overpayment. Visit our File an Appeal page for information about the appeals process.
- Monthly billing statements will be sent until the overpayment is paid. You should make a payment within 15 days and set up a reasonable monthly payment in order to prevent further collection action. If you make no payment on your overpayment, the Benefit Payment Control Unit may begin collection actions. See our Civil Actions and Prosecution of Offenders page.
- Interest — If you are at fault in the overpayment, interest will begin accumulating immediately. If you are not at fault, interest will begin accumulating after six months. Accumulated interest cannot be deducted from your future benefits. Interest will continue to accrue until the principal balance is paid. Repaying the overpayment quickly reduces your interest cost and preserves your future UI Benefits.
- Fraud Penalty — If you commit fraud to secure or increase benefits, a penalty of 50 percent of the amount of benefits obtained by fraud is applied for the first offense and a 100 percent penalty is applied for each subsequent offense. The department shall also impose four weeks of administrative penalty for each week that an individual willfully or fraudulently mispresents a fact to secure or increase benefits. You cannot be paid any benefits until you have served the penalty by continuing to file weekly requests for payment you would otherwise be paid for. There is no expiration of this penalty.
- Check or money order can be mailed to:
Unemployment Insurance Division – Benefit Payment Control Unit
South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
PO Box 4730
Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730
- Online from your checking or savings account at www.sd.uiclaims.com by clicking on “Click here and log in to ..." You will then be guided through the process.
- Credit/Debit Card — Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express. To authorize an auto payment, use the Credit Card Authorization Form (Adobe PDF format).