Department of Labor and Regulation

Title - South Dakota Electrical Commission

The South Dakota Electrical Commission works to keep the citizens of our state and their property safe from the hazards associated with using electricity. The Commission administers the state laws and regulations concerning electrical wiring, inspects wiring installations, investigates complaints related to electrical wiring and licenses all electricians within the state.

The Commission, a unit of state government, should not be confused with the South Dakota Electrical Council, which is a non-profit organization supporting the electrical industry in South Dakota.

Please note: 2014 renewal forms are now available.

Learn about recently adopted changes in Administrative Rules of South Dakota (ARSD) impacting electrician licensing.

Contact Us

South Dakota Electrical Commission

Department of Labor & Regulation

308 S. Pierre Street
Pierre, SD 57501

Phone: 800.233.7765 or 605.773.3573
Fax: 605.773.6213

Executive Director: John J. Linn Jr. [JJ]

Secretary: Roxie Mobley (handles continuing education & inspections)

Secretary: Diana Peterson (handles billing, exam information, insurance & licensing)

Mission Statement: The mission of the South Dakota Electrical Commission is the practical safeguarding of persons and property from hazards arising from the use of electricity.



Marcia Hultman, Secretary
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
Tel. 605.773.3101
Fax. 605.773.6184