See our Approved Continuing Education Web page for a list of approved courses.
All state certified, licensed and registered appraisers must complete and document 28 hours of instruction in approved courses or seminars each odd numbered year.
A minimum of seven of the 28 hours must be completed prior to June 30 of each even-numbered year in the most current edition of the 7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) Update Course or its equivalent whose instructor is certified by the Appraiser Qualifications Board. A penalty fee of $100 will be charged if not completed by the deadline date. (For the 2017 renewal cycle, an applicant must have completed the 2016-2017 7-hour National USPAP Update course between January 1, 2016 and June 30, 2016.)
With the exception of the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course, to meet the requirements, approved courses must be taken between October 1 of the previous odd numbered year and the end of the current continuing education reporting period. (For the 2017 reporting period, classes must be taken between October 1, 2015 and September 30, 2017 to fulfill the continuing education requirements.)
Credit may be granted for continuing education in courses which cover the appraisal-related real estate topics listed below:
The length of any continuing education course must be at least two class hours.
It is the responsibility of the providers to submit outlines and information for approval of their continuing education courses to the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation.
Resumes for the instructors of the courses must be submitted to the Department of Labor and Regulation.
The course coordinator or sponsor must furnish each participant with a certificate of completion. This certificate must be properly signed by the instructor or administrator of the approved course or courses.
The course coordinator or sponsor must maintain a list of participants for a minimum of three years.
Any change in instructors, program content or location must be reported to the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation for its review.
Courses and seminars are approved for three years from the date of approval.
A course schedule with date and location must be submitted to the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation for approval prior to the date the course is offered.
Continuing education credit may be granted to individuals other than as a student in appraisal educational processes and programs. Examples of activities for which credit may be granted are:
Credit for education and continuing education may be obtained from the following:
It is the responsibility of certified, licensed and registered appraisers to submit documentation proving 28 hours of continuing education has been completed in the appropriate reporting period. [The reporting period is October 1 of the even numbered year through August 17 of the odd numbered year.]
The Department of Labor and Regulation will handle approval of continuing education courses and seminars.
If you are an education provider seeking approval of a course, see Continuing Education Provider Application.
View Approved Continuing Education for a list of approved courses or contact the Department of Labor and Regulation at the address at the bottom of this page to request a printed list of the approved courses.
Deferral of Continuing Education Requirement
The continuing education requirement may be deferred for the following reasons. (See Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:13:01.01.)
If you have any questions regarding continuing education requirements, please feel free to contact us.
Executive Director, Sherry Bren
South Dakota Appraiser Certification Program
308 South Pierre Street
Pierre, SD 57501