- Home to DLR
- Home to Board of Barber Examiners
- Board Information
- Consumer Information
- Consumer Complaints
- Disciplinary Actions
- Health, Safety & Sanitary Rules
- Rosters of Barbers & Barbershops
- South Dakota Laws & Rules
- Tax Information
- Contact Us
- Other Boards & Commissions
South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners
ADA Policy for Testing
ADA Policy for Testing
If you anticipate needing testing accommodations, please read the Board's ADA Policy and contact us at 605.642.1600 for more information.
It is not required to be a licensed barber to own a barbershop; however, a barbershop must at all times be under the direct supervision and management of a registered barber.
Barbershop licenses are not transferable. If you change your shop location, you must obtain a new barbershop license, have your new shop inspected by a Board member and pay the application and inspection fees. See the table of fees below.
A cosmetologist is not licensed to work in a barbershop. Contact the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission at 605.773.6193 for information regarding cosmetology licensing requirements. If a barber requests to work in a cosmetology salon, the station must be inspected by the Board of Barber Examiners and a barbershop license issued.
Contact the Board office at 605.642.1600 for specific dates and locations.
|Apprentice barber license application fee||$100|
|Apprentice barber license fee||$50|
|Apprentice barber license renewal fee||$25|
|Barber license application fee||$100|
|Barber license fee||$50|
|Barber license renewal fee||$75|
|Barbershop inspection fee||$125|
|Barbershop license application fee||$50 + $10 per chair|
|Barbershop license renewal||$50 + $10 per chair|
|Duplicate (replacement) license||no charge|
|Lapsed license renewal (less than three years)||$75 + $12 per year of lapse
+ restoration fee $15
If you have a valid barber's license from another state, you may apply to be licensed in South Dakota by reciprocity. To be eligible, South Dakota must have a reciprocity agreement with the other state. The states holding reciprocity with South Dakota are listed on the License Application, available on our Forms page.
To apply for licensure through reciprocity, you will need to fill out and submit the License Application and a Verification of All Past/Present Licensure (both in Adobe PDF format and available on our Forms page). You must read the Application Instructions (Adobe PDF format and available on our Forms page) for obtaining a South Dakota license. You must also submit a 3" x 5" current photograph and pay the reciprocity licensing fee of $140.
If your licence is not from the United States, reciprocity is not an option.
All barber, apprentice barber and barbershop licenses must be renewed each year by June 30. Use the appropriate renewal form available from our Forms web page and check the fees listed above.
If you have let your license lapse for less than three years, you may reinstate it by paying the lapsed license fees listed above. If you have let your license lapse for three or more years, you must re-take the practical and written exams.
If you have lost your copy of your license, call the Board office at 605.642.1600 to request a duplicate license form. There is no fee to obtain a duplicate license.