Marcia Hultman

Cabinet Secretary

Font Size: A A A

Unemployment Insurance Tax

Employer Registration

All newly established businesses are required to register with the Unemployment Insurance Tax Unit.

Successors to a business already subject to the unemployment insurance laws must register within 30 days of the change.

If there is a change in the ownership structure of your business (i.e. individual ownership changing to a corporation or LLC), you must register within 30 days of the change.

Registration Options


  1. Complete the registration online.
  2. Download and complete Form 1 from our Forms page.
    • Non-profit entities with a 501(c) (3) status must complete Form 1NP
    • Political Subdivisions must complete Form 1PS.
  3. Submit your completed form by mail, send to:
    Unemployment Insurance Division – Tax Unit
    South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
    PO Box 4730
    Aberdeen SD 57402-4730 Or fax to: 605.626.3347

Please note: Complete all information requested on the registration form. Incomplete registrations may be returned and can delay processing, causing your taxes to become delinquent.

Please also visit the South Dakota Department of Revenue website for general information on business tax requirements in this state.

Contact Us

Unemployment Insurance Division – Tax Unit
South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
PO Box 4730
Aberdeen SD 57402-4730
Phone: 605.626.2312
Fax: 605.626.3347
email