License Types and Requirements of Each
In addition to the requirements below, an applicant for a license must be at least 18 years of age, be a citizen of the United States or a resident of South Dakota and must meet the statutory requirements for a license pursuant to South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) chapter 36-21A.
Grounds for Denial of License Application: The Commission may deny the issuance of a license for reasons such as conviction of a felony, unpaid judgments, misstatements, etc. For more information, review SDCL 36-21A-33.
If a person has reason to believe their license application may be denied, the SDREC office recommends submitting an Application for Conditional Approval before completing the pre-licensing education.
|Broker Associate||116-Hour Prelicensing Course||None||Exam score of 75%|
|Approval of Application|
|Responsible Broker||116-Hour Prelicensing Course||2 years active
|Exam score of 75% Approval of Application|
|15-Hour Responsible Broker Course|
|Auctioneer||116-Hour Prelicensing Course||None||Exam score of 75% Approval of Application|
|Property Manager||40 hrs of Fundamentals of Property Management||None||Exam score of 75% Approval of Application|
|None||None||Approval of Application|
|Timeshare Agent||None||None||Exam score of 75% Approval of Application|
Executive Director: Melissa Miller
221 W. Capitol, Suite 101
Pierre, SD 57501