Department of Labor and Regulation

Title - South Dakota Cosmetology Commission


The following fees are current as of January 2008.

Examination fee and initial license
(cosmetology, nail technology or esthetics)
Examination Retake
One test-$40;
Two tests-$50;
Three tests-$60
Cosmetologist, nail technician or esthetician renewal
Temporary cosmetologist, nail technician or esthetician license
Instructor initial license and renewal license
Reciprocity, initial license and waiver of examination
Certification or Endorsement
Apprentice license
Apprentice Salon initial license and renewal license
School initial license and renewal license
Student license
Salon or booth initial permit license
Salon or booth renewal
Reinspection of failed salon
$50 each reinspection
License duplicate or replacement
Lapsed license penalty for each year lapsed
Verification for advanced educational requirements (electric files & microdermabrasion)
Lapsed license review course
Continuing Education Provider


Marcia Hultman, Secretary
123 W. Missouri Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-4505
Tel. 605.773.3101
Fax. 605.773.6184