Licensure as a petroleum release services professional involves completing three main components, which are education, experience and examinations. In order to be eligible to apply for licensure as a petroleum release assessor, an individual must have earned at least a high school diploma or a baccalaureate degree in engineering or related science as well as gained a minimum of five years or one year, respectively, of qualifying petroleum release assessment experience under the direct supervision of licensed petroleum release services professionals.
In order to be eligible to apply for licensure as a petroleum release remediator, an individual must have earned at least a baccalaureate degree or a master and/or doctoral degree in engineering or related science as well as gained a minimum of three years or two years, respectively, of qualifying petroleum release remediation experience under the direct supervision of licensed petroleum release remediators. Upon approval of the application by the Board and passing the South Dakota petroleum release take home exam as well as the South Dakota take home exam on laws and rules, the individual is licensed as a petroleum release assessor or remediator and may begin to legally practice the profession of petroleum release services in accordance with the license that has been granted.
Applicants should refer to the Blue Book, Page 15 (covering South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) 36-18A-31) as well as Page 35 (covering Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:38:30:05 and 20:38:30:06) for specific information regarding education requirements for licensure as a Petroleum Release Remediator. Applications should refer to the Blue Book, Page 15 (covering SDCL 36-18A-31), Page 35 (covering ARSD 20:38:31:01) and Page 37 (covering ARSD 20:38:31:06 and 20:38:31:07) for specific information regarding experience requirements for licensure as a Petroleum Release Assessor or as a Petroleum Release Remediator.
Petroleum Exam Application (Complete and submit it and the fee online.)
Or print, then complete the Petroleum Exam Application (in Adobe .pdf format*) and submit it and the fee by mail.
Before taking the exam, you will need to have references complete and submit an Exam Reference Form (in Adobe .pdf format*), as detailed in the Petroleum Exam Application instructions.
Please visit our Forms and Applications Web page for any additional forms needed.
The completed application form and all of the required supporting documentation must be received by the Board office, along with achieving a passing score on the petroleum release services exam, by the following deadline for consideration at the respective Board meeting.
January 1 for January Board meeting
March 1 for March Board meeting
May 1 for May Board meeting
July 1 for July Board meeting
September 1 for September Board meeting
November 1 for November Board meeting
The petroleum release services exam is an open book, take-home exam which will be mailed to you after you complete and submit the Petroleum Exam Application online. The cost of the exam is included in the $150 application fee. The exam is to be completed and returned to the Board office (using the address below) within 30 days, as well as by the application deadline above for consideration at the respective Board meeting. The exam will be scored within two weeks of receipt.
As mentioned above, there is a $150 application fee for the petroleum release services license, which includes the cost of the exam. Please visit our Fees Web page for additional information on fees involved in licensure of petroleum release services.
Individual licensees are expected to maintain their professional competency by participating in continuing education activities throughout their practicing career. Generally, licensees are expected to earn a minimum of 30 professional development hours (PDH) during each two years of licensure and demonstrate their compliance with this minimum requirement by submitting a "PDH log" showing their completed continuing education activities at the time of renewing their individual license. A maximum of 10 PDH can be earned in professional management subjects, with the balance being earned in technical subjects relating to their petroleum release services practice.
Individual licensees should refer to the Blue Book, Page 17 (covering SDCL 36-18A-39) as well as Pages 42-45 (covering ARSD 20:38:35:01-10) for specific information regarding continuing professional development requirements for maintaining licensure as a Petroleum Release Assessor or a Petroleum Release Remediator.
Visit the Spill Control Association of America (SCAA) website for information on providers of continuing education for petroleum release services. Please note this link is provided as a service to licensees. It is not an endorsement from the South Dakota Board of Technical Professions. The Board does NOT pre-approve courses for those organizations offering continuing education/Professional Development Hours (PDH). Licensees should take only those courses that meet Board requirements and are pertinent to the petroleum release services profession.
2525 W. Main St., Suite 211
Rapid City, SD 57702
Executive Director (vacant)
Kathryn Patterson, Senior Secretary
Susan Neuf, Secretary
*Opening and printing Adobe .pdf files requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here as needed to download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.