Department of Labor and Revenue

Title - South Dakota Appraiser Certification Program

NOTE: It is not mandatory for a State-Registered Appraiser to upgrade to the State-Licensed Appraiser classification. A State-Registered Appraiser may upgrade to State-Certified Residential or State-Certified General.

News and Upcoming Events

Allied Business Schools, Inc. Discontinues Course Offerings
Upcoming Events

News Articles
Latest Information from the Appraiser Certification Program
Latest Information from the Appraisal Standards Board
Current Number of Certified Appraisers

Allied Business Schools, Inc. Discontinues Course Offerings

Effective September 22, 2015, Allied Business Schools, Inc. will no longer be offering qualifying or continuing education course for South Dakota.

Upcoming Events

Date/Time Event Location
June 27, 2016* Training Course for Supervisory Appraisers and State-Registered Appraisers Department of Revenue Field Office
1520 Haines Avenue, Suite 3
Rapid City, South Dakota
Aug. 18, 2016 South Dakota Advisory Council Meeting To be determined

back to top

News Articles

(As published in the Real Estate View, the newsletter of the South Dakota Real Estate Commission)

May/June 2016
March/April 2016

January/February 2016

November/December 2015

September/October 2015

July/August 2015

May/June 2015

March/April 2015
January/February 2015
November/December 2014
September/October 2014

July/August 2014
May/June 2014
February 2014
November 2013
October 2013
July 2013
April 2013
February 2013
October 2012
August 2012
June 2012
April 2012
February 2012
December 2011
October 2011
August 2011
June 2011
April 2011
February 2011
December 2010
October 2010
August 2010

back to top

Latest Information from the Appraiser Certification Program

  • The 2015 renewal applications were mailed the first week in July. In order to renew your certificate for state-certified general, state-certified residential, state-licensed and state-registered appraiser you must submit the completed application, applicable renewal fees and verification of the required 28 hours of approved continuing education (unless deferred or exempt) which includes the 7-hour National USPAP update course by August 17, 2015. [Pursuant to Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:13:01 the 2014-2015 edition of the 7-hour National USPAP update course must have been completed between January 1, 2014 and June 30, 2014. If the course was not completed by June 30, 2014 the applicant will be assessed a $100 administrative penalty fee.]
  • Late Renewals – If your appraiser certificate expired on September 30, 2015 and you have not renewed, you have until March 31, 2016 in order to renew your certificate with a $25 late penalty fee for each month or fraction of a month that has passed since October 1, 2015. [Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:10:04].
  • The 2015 renewal applications for supervisory appraisers were mailed the first week of July. In order to renew as a supervising appraiser you must submit a completed Renewal Application for Supervisory Appraiser Endorsement and $100 renewal fee by August 17, 2015.

  • South Dakota state-registered, state-licensed, state-certified residential and state-certified general appraisers must complete the 2016-2017 edition of the seven-hour National USPAP Update Course prior to June 30, 2016. A penalty fee of $100 will be charged if not completed by the deadline date. (Certified or licensed appraisers by reciprocity should review the administrative rules regarding continuing education requirements for reciprocal appraisers found in ARSD 20:14:13:01.01(3).
  • Appraisal Management Companies are required by ARSD 20:77 to disclose their certificate of registration number within their engagement document with each utilized appraiser.

back to top

Latest Information from the Appraisal Standards Board

Visit the Appraisal Standards Board website for answers to questions like those listed below.

2016-17 USPAP Q & A 8

  • Is Turnaround Time an Assignment Condition?

2016-2017 USPAP Q & A 9 and Revised 12 from 2015

  • Public Trust
  • Appraising Two Lots as One (revised)

2016-17 USPAP Q & A 1-7

  • Are Physical Characteristics Confidential?
  • Physical Characteristics or Assignment Results?
  • Physical Characteristics or Assignment Results - Residential Real Property Example
  • Physical Characteristics or Assignment Results - Non-Residential Real Property Example
  • Physical Characteristics or Assignment Results - Machinery and Equipment Example
  • Physical Characteristics or Assignment Results - Fine Art Example
  • What are "Reasonable Steps"?

2016-17 USPAP Q & A 8

  • Is Turnaround Time an Assignment Condition?

2014-15 USPAP Q & A 1-6

  • "Verifying" Completion of an Appraisal
  • Assignment Results
  • Fannie Mae Form 1004
  • Use of Certification with Form 1004D/442
  • Use of Certification with Form 1004D/442
  • Applicable Edition of USPAP

2014-15 USPAP Q & A 7-9

  • Explaining The Exclusion of Approaches
  • Value Conclusion Below Contract Price
  • "USPAP" Certified Advertisement

2014-15 USPAP Q & A 10-11

  • Impact on Values of Surrounding Properties
  • Providing a Copy of a Workfile

2014-15 USPAP Q & A 12-13

  • Appraising Two Lots as One
  • Certification With Multiple Appraisers

2014-15 USPAP Q & A 14-16

  • Review For an Ethics Committee
  • Does Disclosure of Prior Services Apply to Appraiser or Property?
  • Definition of Value in Appraisal Review Reports

2014-15 USPAP Changes Q & A

This is a special edition of USPAP Q & A intended to address some questions associated with the 2014-15 edition of USPAP, which is effective January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2015. The Q & A apply to the 2014-15 edition of USPAP only. They do not apply to the 2012-13 edition.

back to top

Current Number of Certified Appraisers

As of May 11, 2016
Appraiser Status
Number of Certified Appraisers
Active Appraisers
  State-Certified General 212
  State-Certified Residential 95
  State-Licensed 48
  State-Registered 54
Inactive Appraisers

13

back to top

Contact Us

Executive Director, Sherry Bren

South Dakota Appraiser Certification Program
308 South Pierre Street
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605.773.4608
Fax: 605.773.5405
email: appraisercertification@state.sd.us

*Opening and printing Adobe .pdf files requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here as needed to download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.

 


 

Marcia Hultman, Secretary
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
Tel. 605.773.3101
Fax. 605.773.6184