- Home to DLR
- Home to Appraiser Certification Program
- Advisory Council
- Consumer Information
- Information for Appraisers
- Classifications & Requirements
- Important Announcements
- Appraisal Standards Board Guidance
- Letter of Good Standing
- Renewal of Certification
- Supervisory Appraisers
- Supervisory Appraiser Log
- Temporary Permit
- Upgrading Certification
- Laws, Rules & Standards
- Information for Appraisal Management Companies
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Information for Education Providers
- News and Announcements
- Upcoming Events
- Related Sites
- Other Boards & Commissions
Appraiser Certification Program
Frequently Asked Questions About Renewal
Do appraisers licensed/certified with the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation's Appraiser Certification Program need to renew their license/certificate?
Yes. Licenses/certificates are renewed yearly. On even numbered years you must submit a renewal application and fee. On odd numbered years you must submit a renewal application, fee and proof of successful completion of required continuing education. See our Certification Renewal page for further information.
How do I renew my reciprocal license/certificate?
Reciprocal licensees must renew yearly by submitting a general renewal application and fee. Continuing education is deferred upon demonstrating possession of a current appraiser certificate and upon being in good standing in your state of domicile. See our Certification Renewal and Continuing Education Requirements pages for further information.
How many hours of continuing education do I need?
In each odd-numbered year an applicant for renewal of a certificate must document completion of the equivalent of 28 hours of instruction in approved courses or seminars during the preceding reporting period. A minimum of seven of the 28 hours of instruction must be completed prior to June 30 of each even-numbered year in the most current edition 7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) Update Course or its equivalent whose instructor is certified by the Appraiser Qualifications Board. A penalty fee of $100 will be charged if not completed by the deadline date. [For the 2017 renewal cycle the applicant must have completed the 2016-2017 seven-hour National USPAP Update course between January 1, 2016 and June 30, 2016.] (See our Continuing Education page.)
Are there any deferments for required continuing education?
Yes, there are deferments which are listed under Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:13:01.01. See our Continuing Education page for further information.
back to top
Do I need to renew my inactive appraiser license/certificate?
Yes. Renewal is required yearly with submission of a renewal application and fee. Renewal requirements are the same as on active status, except continuing education is deferred until license/certificate is reactivated.
Do I need to renew my supervising appraiser endorsement?
Yes. You must renew yearly on a form provided by the Secretary of the Department and pay the renewal fee of $100.00.