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South Dakota’s Reemployment Assistance (RA) program (formerly known as Unemployment Insurance) is financed by
employers through payroll taxes. It is insurance — and benefits are paid to eligible claimants who meet the conditions fixed
by law, as a matter of right, without regard to need.

As an employer, if you are liable under the state law, you will also pay federal unemployment taxes directly to the federal
government. This federal tax helps finance various South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation workforce and
training programs, such as job placement, labor market information and training of workers to meet industry needs. Your
federal tax also pays the administrative costs of the state reemployment assistance program and provides funds that may
be loaned to states whose unemployment insurance reserves are depleted.

To protect your investment in this program, you should understand your rights and know your responsibilities under South
Dakota law. Cooperation with the department will help ensure the reemployment assistance (RA) program is administered
efficiently and economically.

This handbook will help you and others in your organization who are responsible for hiring and/or discharging workers,
examining and completing reemployment assistance claim notices and preparing payrolls and tax forms. This handbook
also provides information on other department programs. We hope it will be useful.

Statements in this handbook are for general information and do not have the effect of law or regulation. The actual
reemployment assistance laws and regulations are contained in South Dakota Codified Law, Title 61 (sdlegislature.gov/
Statutes/Codified_Laws/2077726) and South Dakota

Administrative Rules, Article 47:06 (sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/19393).

Be advised that wage information and other confidential information may be requested and utilized for other
governmental purposes including, but not limited to, verification of an individual’s eligibility for other governmental
programs in accordance with federal regulations.

If you have a question not covered in this handbook, please contact any RA Field Representative (see p. 20), or write to:

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
Reemployment Assistance Division, Tax Unit

PO Box 4730

Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

Or visit our website, dir.sd.gov, and choose “Reemployment Assistance,” then choose “Reemployment Assistance for
Businesses.”

EMPLOYER LIABILITY AND COVERAGE

Definition of an Employer - An employer is an individual, partnership, corporation, limited liability company (LLC),
association, trust, organization or political subdivision, etc., which has in its employ one or more individuals performing
services in South Dakota.

Covered Employer - You become a covered employer when you incur liability and are required to pay taxes into the
Unemployment Insurance Fund. You must pay taxes if you meet one of the following criteria:
e Employed one or more individuals (full- or part-time) in 20 different calendar weeks in the current or preceding
calendar year.

* Paid wages of $1,500 or more in a calendar quarter in the current or preceding calendar year.
e Are covered under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA).
e Acquired all or a portion of a covered business.

 Paid wages for agricultural employment of $20,000 or more in a calendar quarter or employed 10 or more individuals
for some portion of a day in each of 20 different calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year.

¢ Paid wages for domestic employment of $1,000 or more in a calendar quarter in the current or preceding calendar
year.

¢ Have proof of 501(c)(3) non-profit status with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and employed four or more
individuals in 20 different calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year.
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COVERED EMPLOYMENT

Covered employment - is an individual’s entire service (including service in interstate commerce), performed for wages or
under any contract of hire, written or oral, expressed or implied.

Day Labor

Day Labor, temporary labor and part-time labor all count as employment and need to be reported to the Reemployment
Assistance Tax Division by covered employers. Under South Dakota statute, there is no reemployment assistance tax
exemption for part-time wages (including short-term or day labor). If you are a covered employer under South Dakota’s
reemployment assistance tax laws, you must report all wages paid, including those of part-time/short-term employees.

Corporate Officer Remuneration

Corporate officers are considered employees for reemployment assistance tax purposes. When a shareholder employee of
an S corporation provides services to the S corporation, reasonable compensation generally needs to be paid. Reasonable
compensation to shareholder employee(s) must be declared before a non-wage distribution may be made to that
shareholder employee. This compensation is subject to reemployment assistance taxes.

Individuals Hired by Your Employee

Any individual engaged to perform or assist in performing the work of any person in your service is considered your
employee. It does not matter whether that individual was engaged or paid directly by you or one of your employees, so
long as you have actual or constructive knowledge of the work.

Multi-State Employer
To be considered covered employment under the South Dakota law, the worker must perform services entirely within the
state or perform most of the services in the state with only temporary tasks outside the state.

However, if a worker’s service is not localized in any state, all employment is reportable to the state in which the base of
operation is located.

If you have any doubt as to where to report wages, contact a tax representative of the RA Division, listed on
p. 20.

EXEMPT EMPLOYMENT

¢ Services performed by a sole proprietor, the sole proprietor’s spouse, the sole proprietor’s minor children under the
age of 21 years and sole proprietor’s parents. The term “child” has been defined to include stepchildren and foster
children.

e Service performed by a partner in a partnership comprised of two or more individuals or businesses.

e Services performed by elected officials, members of legislative and judicial bodies, members of the state national
or air national guard, temporary employees hired during an emergency, and nontenured policy-making or advisory
positions. State and local government employees who do not fall under these exclusions are covered employees.

¢ Service performed by a student hired as part of a cooperative education program.

e Service performed by an individual under 18 years of age in the delivery or distribution of newspapers.

e Service performed by an individual as an insurance agent or a solicitor, if all such services are performed for
remuneration solely by way of commission. See p. 2 for an exception for corporate officers.

e Service performed:

- In the employ of a church or convention or association of churches, primarily for religious purposes, or an
organization which is operated, supervised, controlled or principally supported by a church, convention or
association of churches.

- By a duly ordained, commissioned or licensed minister of a church in the exercise of the ministry or by a
member of a religious order in the exercise of duties required by such order.

e Service performed in a facility conducted for the purpose of carrying out a program of rehabilitation for individuals
whose earning capacity is impaired by age, or physical or mental deficiency or injury, or providing remunerative
work for individuals who, because of their impaired physical or mental capacity, cannot be readily absorbed into the
competitive labor market, by an individual receiving such rehabilitation or remunerative work.

e Service performed as part of an unemployment work-relief program or as part of a work-training program assisted
or financed in whole or in part by a federal agency or an agency of a state or political subdivision, by an individual
receiving work relief or work training.



e Service performed by a non-resident alien temporarily present in the United States with a F-1, J-1, M-1, Q-1 or H2A
visa. Note: you must report all wages for individuals with any other type of visa, including H2Bs, if you are a covered
employer.

OPERATING MORE THAN ONE ESTABLISHMENT

If you operate more than one establishment under the same ownership in South Dakota, two separate account numbers
may be assigned. One reason for maintaining separate accounts is for cost accounting. Experience-rating accounts will be
consolidated for rating purposes. See p. 10 for more information.

If each of the establishments is operated by a separate employing entity, an account must be established for each business.
For example, two corporations would be separate legal entities, even though individual “A” owns the majority of the stock
in each corporation.

If “A” is a partner of “B” in operating one store and a partner of “C” in operating a second store, the two partnerships
would each be separate employing entities.

SEASONAL EMPLOYERS

A seasonal industry or employing unit is one that customarily suspends its operations for revenue for a period of five
months or more within a calendar year except for basic caretaking activities.

A seasonal employer is one who is operating in a seasonal industry as defined above and who, upon application, is
designated by the department.

Duration of Seasons
The following industries have been designated as seasonal industries in South Dakota:

e Summer hotels, inns, camps, curio shops, roadside restaurants, ice cream/soft drinks stands, and stable/trail ride
operations: May 1 to October 1

e Tourist souvenir stores, tour buses, information centers and other operations in the tourist industry:
May 1 to October 31

e Drive-in theatres and concessions: April 15 to November 1

e Racetracks and racetrack concessions: May 15 to October 1

¢ Baseball teams/ball park concessions: May 1 to September 15

e Carnivals: May 1 to October 1

¢ Seasonally operated country clubs/golf courses: April 1 to November 1

e Seasonally operated chair lifts: May 1 to November 1

e Seasonally operated ski resorts: November 1 to May 1

e Qutdoor swimming pools: May 15 to September 15

¢ Seasonally operated small game cleaning services, hunting preserves/game lodges: September 1 to February 1

e Retail nurseries classified in industry number 444220 as enumerated in the North American Industrial Classification
Manual (NAICS): May 1 to October 31

¢ Retail fireworks stands: May 1 to September 15

Applying to Become a Seasonal Employer

The Application for Designation as a Seasonal Employer (Form 26) may completed and then printed for mailing at_sd.gov/
eformssecure/agencyforms/dir/UlTaxForms/E0772v3-form26/E0772v3-form26.html or obtained by contacting us:

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation

Reemployment Assistance Division, Tax Unit

PO Box 4730

Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

Benefit Eligibility of Seasonal Employees

If you are a designated seasonal employer, your former employees who were engaged in other than year-round work will
be eligible to draw benefits based on wages earned with you only for weeks of reemployment assistance when the major
portion of such week falls within the defined season of operation of your industry.
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Reporting Requirements

Employers approved for seasonal designation will still need to file a quarterly report for all four quarters by regular due
dates.

INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR OR EMPLOYEE?

Contract labor is perhaps the most misused category of workers in the business world. You cannot assume casual labor,
temporary or part-time labor, or individuals who sign independent contractor agreements can be considered independent
contractors. Issuing 1099s and not withholding taxes does not make an individual an independent contractor.

South Dakota Codified Law 61-1-11 states to be considered an independent contractor, a worker must be both:
¢ Free from your control or direction, and

e Customarily engaged in their own independently established business.

Otherwise, the worker is your employee. Any contractual agreement as well as the actual working relationship must be
examined to support a finding that a worker is an independent agent and not an employee.

The courts have defined both portions of the South Dakota statute. The first part of the statute concerns control. Although
individuals may have freedom of action in the way the work can be performed, control can still be exercised through other
means such as written or verbal agreements or a contract. What really matters is who has the legal right to control the
outcome of the work. If you direct and control the services of an individual, or have the right to direct and control the
individual’s services, that individual is your employee. The fact that the individual is paid on a commission, share of the
profits, fee, job or piecework basis does not necessarily mean that worker is an independent contractor.

The second portion of the statute concerns whether the individual is customarily engaged in an independently established
trade, occupation, profession or business. The word “independently”’means a trade, occupation, profession or business
must be established independently of, and separate from, the services rendered to the alleged employer. The present
tense of “is” indicates the individual must be engaged in such independent activity at the time of rendering the service

to the alleged employer. If your attorney or accountant draws up a contract labor agreement and the worker signs the
agreement, you may think you have complied with the law. This is not so! By law, a worker cannot sign away their rights
to reemployment assistance. The worker must meet the independent contractor criteria to be considered anything other
than your employee.

If you have misclassified workers as independent contractors and a determination is made that they are employees,

you may be subject to back taxes, penalty and interest. In addition, you may also be liable for FUTA taxes. If you have
qguestions about whether an individual is an employee or an independent contractor, and would like to request a written
determination, please contact the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation at 605.626.2312 or complete , print
and mail the Worker Relationship Questionnaire (Form 23) found at sd.gov/eformssecure/agencyforms/dIr/UlTaxForms/
EO0776v1-Worker Relationship Questionnaire/E0776v1-Worker Relationship Questionnaire.html.

IRS or Other State Determination of Exempt Employment

Even if the Collector of Internal Revenue or another state determines that certain services constitute exempt employment,
you cannot assume those services will be exempt under South Dakota law. While the laws are often similar, the federal and
state laws do differ. Also, court decisions and precedent cases are not always the same at the federal level or in different
states.

REPORTABLE WAGES

Wages are all payments for services from all sources, including cash, commissions, bonuses, gift cards/certificates and
cash value of any payment in anything other than cash. Cash value would include items such as goods, board and lodging,
working out a debt, etc. Tip and gratuity income must be reported if it totals $20 or more per month. These tips must be
included in the gross wages of the employee.

Sick pay and medical leave pay are considered wages and are reportable unless they are payments received under a
workers’ compensation law.



Some exceptions to reportable wages are:

e Dismissal or severance payments which you are not legally required to make.

¢ Payments made to yourself, your parents, or your children under the age of 21, if you are a sole proprietor.
e Services performed by a partner in a partnership comprised of two or more individuals or businesses.

e Business expenses if expenses are reasonable and ordinary and if the expenses are well documented.

e Employer contributions for life and health insurance and payments made under a workers’ compensation plan.
Note: Employee-paid premiums for life and health insurance are reportable. Employers must report the gross wage
(amount before any deductions are taken out).

e Employer contributions to retirement or pension plans authorized in 26 U.S.C. §401(k), §403(b), §408(k), §457 and
§408(p), the Simple IRA.

The above explanation is not all inclusive. If you have a question regarding wages, contact a Reemployment Assistance
Tax Representative (p. 24).

RECORDS YOU MUST KEEP
You must keep the following records for each employee:

¢ Full name and Social Security number

¢ Places of work within the state

¢ Date hired, rehired or returned to work after temporary or partial layoff
e Date of termination of employment

¢ Information covering the termination, stating if the termination occurred by voluntary action of the individual, or by
discharge, and complete reason for such termination

e The cause of all time lost due to unavailability for work occurring within any week

e Hours worked and wages earned in each pay period, and total wages for all pay periods ending in each quarter of the
year, including the cash value of other remuneration, and the amount of all bonuses or special commissions

¢ Hours worked and wages earned in exempt employment

Covered Versus Exempt Employment Records

You must keep records of exempt employment wages and hours separate from those for covered employment for each
worker. If you do not keep such records separate, you will be required to report and pay on all wages, including the exempt
wages.

Your Responsibility to Keep Us Informed

It is your responsibility to inform the RA Division when you become a covered employer or when there has been any
change in ownership or legal adjustment in operating a business.

We request that you tell us about:
e Purchase or sale of a business or a portion of a business
e Wages paid to each individual employed
e Total wages paid
e Any possible errors, especially errors which may result in payment of incorrect benefits
To register for your Reemployment Assistance Tax account, you may go online at dlr.sd.gov.
1. Select “Reemployment Assistance”
2.Choose “Reemployment Assistance for Businesses”
3. Click on “Log in here to register your business”
A domestic employer may apply to report annually to the RA Division by submitting the Domestic Employer Election to
Report Wages and Pay Contributions Annually (Form DE) by December 31 for the following calendar year. The request, if

approved, remains in place as long as the domestic employer continues to employ only domestic employees. For more
information review this information on the FAQ web page.

View forms at dlr.sd.gov/ra/forms.aspx or call 605.626.2312.
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DURATION AND TERMINATION OF LIABILITY

Once you become a covered employer, liable under South Dakota law, you must continue to report and pay contributions
on any wages paid until your account is terminated by the Division.
You can ask for termination prior to July 1 if:

¢ No individuals have performed services for you in covered employment in the previous calendar year.

¢ During the prior year, you did not have one employee in 20 calendar weeks and did not pay $1,500 or more in one
calendar quarter.

Your coverage will be terminated upon notification of sale of your entire business, and your entire experience-rating
account (see p. 10) may be transferred to your successor. If, however, you have any employment during the remainder of
the year, you must report it.

EMPLOYERS’ CONTRIBUTIONS

As a covered employer, you are required to pay taxes on taxable wages at the rate assigned to you.

Tax Rates

If you are a new employer, or an employer who is not eligible for a reduced rate, you will pay tax at the rate of 1.2 percent,
plus an investment fee of 0.55 percent, for a total of 1.75 percent the first year. The rate then decreases to 1.0 percent
plus an investment fee of 0.55 percent for a total of 1.55 percent for the second and third year until you are eligible for a
rate based on experience (see p. 10; see also p. 12 for an explanation of the investment fee). You must maintain a positive
reemployment assistance account balance to receive the 1.0 percent rate for the second and third year. The Administrative
Fee is not applicable to employers not eligible for a rate based on experience.

Exception for Construction Industry

All new employers classified in construction industries will pay tax at the rate of 6.0 percent plus an investment fee of
0.55 percent, for a total of 6.55 percent the first year. The rate then decreases to 3.0 percent plus an investment fee of
0.55 percent for a total of 3.55 percent for the second and third year until the employer is eligible for a rate based on
experience. You must maintain a positive reemployment assistance account balance to receive the 3.0 percent rate for
the second and third year. If further information is needed, contact your local RA Tax Representative (see p. 20). The
Administrative Fee is not applicable to employers not eligible for a rate based on experience.

Table 1. Taxable Wage Base*

Year
2009 $9,500
2010 $10,000
2011 $11,000
2012 $12,000
2013 $13,000
2014 $14,000
2015 and thereafter | $15,000

*All rates and wage bases subject to change by the South Dakota Legislature

Surcharge

An additional surcharge goes into effect when the Ul Trust Fund balance is below $11 million at the end of any quarter
and remains in effect until the Trust Fund balance reaches $16.5 million at the end of a quarter. Effective January 1, 2012,
any surcharge rate increase will remain in effect for four consecutive calendar quarters. The rate for the second, third and
fourth quarters may increase based on the fund balance on the last day of the immediately prior quarter, but may not
decrease from the prior quarter during the four consecutive quarters. The surcharge rate is a permanent part of South
Dakota law (SDCL 61-5-28). The surcharge is in addition to any other payments due. Surcharge payments do not credit to
the employer’s experience rating account. Any applicable surcharge rate is announced by the Division at the end of each
calendar quarter. For more information contact a tax representative (see p. 20).
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Table 2. New Employer Tax Rate*

RA Tax
Non-Construction Construction Investment Fee | Administrative Fee
Year 1 1.20% 6.00% 0.55% Not Applicable
Years2 & 3 1.00% 3.00% 0.55% Not Applicable
(with positive
account balance)

REPORTS REQUIRED

The two most common reports you are required to file are the Employer’s Reemployment Assistance Quarterly Report
(Form 21; see appendix) and Notice to Base Period Employer (Form 238; see appendix). Other reports may be required
depending on your particular circumstances.

Employer’s Reemployment Assistance Quarterly Report

Covered employers must file these reports quarterly by the last day of the months of April, July, October and January. You
must file your report during these months even if no wages were paid.

The proper reporting forms are mailed during the last week of each quarter to all employers who:

¢ Filed a paper report for the previous quarter.
e Are filing a report for their first quarter in business.

Employers who file electronically will not receive a form in the mail. If the employer has provided the Division with
an email address, a reminder will be sent to the email address provided. It is your responsibility to file a report during
the month it is due, even if you do not receive a form in the mail. Employers have the option of filing their Employer’s
Quarterly Contribution reports online at sdwagereport.com. See p. 8 for details.

The Employer’s Reemployment Assistance Quarterly Report (Form 21) may also be obtained as a PDF document (dlr.
sd.gov/ra/forms/form21.pdf). You may also contact your nearest RA Tax Unit Field Representative (see p. 20) or write to us
at:

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation

Reemployment Assistance Division, Tax Unit

PO Box 4730

Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

If approved in advance, domestic employers may report annually. Annual reporting must be done by submitting the
Employer’s Annual Contribution, Investment Fee and Wage Report, (Forms 21D & 21E) available on our RA Forms web
page. For more information visit our Domestic Employer Web page.

Types of Information Required
There are two main sections of the quarterly report:
e The employer’s contribution report totals and general statistical information.

e The listing of individual wage details.
An example of the Employer’s Reemployment Assistance Quarterly Report is in the Appendix (i).

Note: Wages should be reported in the quarter they were actually paid to the employee, even if they were earned or
the work was done in a different quarter.

Submitting Reports

We encourage employers to file their reports online at sdwagereport.com. Filing online will calculate your taxable wages
for you, and will allow you to either pay online or mail in your payment. See p. 8 for details. Or you can send your paper
report and remittance by mail to the Aberdeen address listed on the form.



Notice to Base Period Employer

When a former employee files a claim for reemployment assistance, notice of a claim having been filed is sent to each
employer whose reemployment assistance account is potentially chargeable. The form is called the Notice To Base

Period Employer (Form 238). If the reason for this unemployment is anything other than lack of work, you should give
complete details concerning the reason for separation in the space provided on the form. This form also provides space for
separation payment information.

You need to return the form to our office within 15 calendar days of the date appearing on the notice. Prompt return of
this separation notice helps protect your right to a reduced contribution rate and limits the charges to your account to only
those benefits paid to former employees who are involuntarily unemployed. This also prevents payment of reemployment
assistance benefits to individuals not entitled to benefits. If a controversy arises regarding this separation, we will request
additional information, either by mail or telephone. Refer to Appendix ii, Notice To Base Period Employer.

Your account cannot be relieved of charges if an erroneous payment has been made because you were at fault for failing to
respond timely or adequately to the department’s request for information. An erroneous payment is a payment that would
not have been made but for the failure to fully respond.

PROTESTING CHARGES

All employers within a claimant’s base period will receive notice of potential charges and have the right to protest those
charges. If you think benefit payments should not have been charged because of the reason for separation of the claimant,
contact us for information on how to file a protest. When writing to us in reference to a claim of a former employee, you
should be sure to include the employee’s social security number.

WHEN TO PAY

All quarterly reports are due 30 days after the end of the quarter. Contributions must be paid quarterly by the end of the
month following the calendar quarter covered. If you are unable to make a payment in full, file your report by the due date and
contact our office to set up a payment plan or complete and return the Payment Agreement (Form 10), found at RA Forms.

Quarter Due No Later Than Midnight
January 1 to March 31 April 30

April 1 to June 30 July 31

July 1 to September 30 October 31

October 1 to December 31 January 31

If approved in advance, a domestic employer must pay contributions annually. Annual reports are due by January 31 for the prior
calendar year.

REMITTANCE/WHERE TO PAY
Your check, money order or other remittance should still be made payable to the South Dakota Unemployment Insurance.

Mail to:
South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
Reemployment Assistance Division, Tax Unit
PO Box 4730
Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

ONLINE REPORTING

You can submit your quarterly report online with the option of making your payment using electronic funds transfer or
sending a check. The online method will automatically calculate excess wages and tax due, and also allows you to update
important account information. Upon completion of the filing process, you will get a confirmation number with a date and
time the report was filed. You may print a copy of the report for your records.

Go to sdwagereport.com or go to our department home page, dir.sd.gov/ra, and select “Reemployment Assistance for
Businesses,” then click “Log in here to File a Quarterly Report.” See online help for further instructions or call 605.626.2312
or your area field representative (see p. 20).

Domestic employers who report annually must submit the Annual Employer’s Contribution, Investment Fee and Wage
Report, Forms 21D &21E, available on our Forms web page (dlr.sd.gov/ra/forms.aspx).
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Remittance
Your check, money order or other remittance should still be made payable to the South Dakota Unemployment Insurance.

Payment Date
Contributions are due by the end of the month following the quarter end. To avoid interest and penalty, any payment must
be received by the RA Division on or prior to the last day of the month.

Late Contributions or Reports
A penalty may be assessed when the quarterly report is not submitted by the due date. The penalty accrues separately on
each quarterly report due.

A penalty of $25 per month (or fraction of a month) is assessed for each delinquent report and an additional penalty of $25
for each delinquent contribution. The maximum penalty is $150 for each delinquent report and $150 for each delinquent
contribution, for a total possible penalty of $300.

Interest of 1.5 percent for each month (or fraction of a month) is also computed from the due date of the report.
NOTE: A report is required even though you may not have had employment during the quarter.

COMMON PAYMASTER

The state of South Dakota will recognize common paymasters (related corporations or companies reporting all payroll
under one account). A common paymaster situation exists when two or more related companies concurrently employ the
same individual and one of the corporations compensates the individual for the concurrent employment.

Payrolling is NOT allowed. Payrolling is the practice of an employing unit paying wages to the employees of another
employer or reporting those wages on its payroll tax reports. Often, under this arrangement, the “payrolling” corporation
processes the payroll information and issues the paychecks to all employees. However, it is customarily reimbursed by the
related or subsidiary corporations not only for the wages, but also for the employer share of federal payroll tax expenses.
The “payrolling” corporation may also receive a processing fee.

Adjustments and Refunds

If, at the time of filing a quarterly contribution report, you find that a mistake was made on a previous quarterly report, you
may make adjustment by showing the tax underpayment or overpayment on the lines provided on the contribution report.
A complete explanation of the error made must be attached to the adjusted report. You may also complete and return
Form 21C, Statement to Correct Information Previously Submitted, found on our RA Forms web page.

If the adjustment involves an employee’s wages, the explanation should include the worker’s name, social security number,
wages originally reported, correct wages, and the quarter and year in which the error was made. You should notify us

as soon as the error is discovered. The notification may be made by letter, or by submitting Form 21C, supplying full
information concerning the error. If the error resulted in an underpayment, you should forward remittance with your letter
or Form 21C. If the error resulted in an overpayment, we will correct the account and refund any amount more than $25.

Contesting Charges
All employers have the right to contest charges made to their account. If you do not agree with a decision that has been
made, you may request a hearing. For more details, see p. 17.

COST REIMBURSEMENT
South Dakota law allows certain employers to elect the “Cost Reimbursement” alternative as a means of financing benefit
payment costs.

Nonprofit organizations as defined by Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, hospitals and institutions of higher
education operated by political subdivisions may be eligible to elect to repay benefit costs, instead of making the regular
contributions required of other covered employers. This election must be made for a period of at least two years. The
election can be initiated or terminated by filing written notice with the Reemployment Assistance Division no later than 30
days before the beginning of a calendar year.

There are two methods of repayment:

e Reimburse the actual cost of benefit payments based on wages reported by the organization(s). The organization will
be billed for benefit costs each quarter and payment must be made within 30 days after the date of billing.



¢ Pay equal amounts each calendar quarter, with an adjustment being made at the end of each calendar year. This
determination shall be based each year on the average benefit costs during the preceding calendar year.

Eligible employers electing the cost-reimbursement method may be required to provide a surety bond. However, in most
cases, the “payments in advance” option will satisfy this requirement. A group of cost-reimbursement employers may
elect, with the approval of the Secretary of Labor and Regulation, to act as one entity in electing the cost-reimbursement
option.

For additional information regarding cost reimbursement, contact us at:

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
Reemployment Assistance Division, Tax Unit

PO Box 4730

Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

FUTA PAYMENTS

FUTA (Federal Unemployment Tax Act) taxes are a federal tax and are paid to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). For more
information, call the IRS Business and Specialty Tax Line at 800.829.4933 or go to irs.gov.

EXPERIENCE RATING

The method used to determine your assigned contribution rate based on both your experience as a covered employer
(unless you are a cost-reimbursement employer) and the status of the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund balance.

Rate Determination

Rates are determined strictly according to statute. We are prohibited from arbitrarily determining your reserve ratio or
your resulting contribution rate. Rates are computed annually and are assigned for the calendar year. A Notice of Rate
Determination will be mailed to you no later than November each year.

Reserve Ratio

We determine this ratio in the following way. The employer’s reserve ratio for calendar year 2012 and thereafter is the
result obtained by dividing the balance of credits existing in the employer’s experience-rating account (as of June 30 of the
preceding year for which the rate is to be computed) by the total taxable payroll

Eligibility for a Reduced Rate
You may be an “eligible employer” if you are a covered employer (not electing cost-reimbursement) who has qualifying
experience as specified by reemployment assistance law, such as:

¢ You must have filed all reports and paid all money due prior to the cutoff date (July 31).

¢ You must have been a covered employer for three fiscal years (ending June 30) to have your rate based on experience
for the following year.

¢ You may be able to reduce your contribution rate for the following calendar year by making a voluntary contribution
to your account prior to December 31.

Rate Increases

South Dakota law provides for increases in all employer rates if the state Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund balance
falls below the minimum reserve level of $11 million. If this occurs, the additional rate information will be provided to
employers advising them of any applicable increase. Rate increases do not apply to nonprofit or governmental employers
that elect the cost-reimbursement to self-insure their reemployment assistance costs.

Experience-Rating Notice

No later than November each year, we mail an Experience-Rating Notice to all covered employers (except cost-
reimbursement employers). The notice sets forth your rate for the following calendar year, information about experience,
methods used in calculating the rate and the period of time during which a valid protest may be filed.

Review and Redetermination of Rate

Because clerical error is possible when we calculate tax rates, you have the right to request a review and re-determination
within 15 days of the date the notice is mailed. Such requests should be made in writing, contain an explanation of why
you think the rate assigned is incorrect, and mailed to our Aberdeen office.
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Table 3. SD Reserve Ratios and Reemployment Assistance Rates* (2020 forward)

Contribution Rate Reserve Ratio
Schedule A| Schedule B

0.00% 0.00% 2.25% and Over

0.05% 0.00% 1.75% and Less than 2.25%
0.15% 0.00% 1.50% and Less than 1.75%
0.25% 0.10% 1.25% and Less than 1.50%
0.35% 0.20% 1.00% and Less than 1.25%
0.55% 0.40% 0.75% and Less than 1.00%
0.70% 0.55% 0.50% and Less than 0.75%
0.95% 0.80% 0.00% and Less than 0.50%
1.45% 1.30% -0.25% and Less than 0.00%
1.95% 1.80% -0.50% and Less than -0.25%
2.45% 2.30% -0.75% and Less than -0.50%
2.95% 2.80% -1.00% and Less than -0.75%
3.45% 3.30% -1.50% and Less than -1.00%
3.95% 3.80% -2.00% and Less than -1.50%
4.45% 4.30% -2.50% and Less than -2.00%
4.95% 4.80% -3.00% and Less than -2.50%
5.45% 5.30% -3.50% and Less than -3.00%
5.95% 5.80% -4.00% and Less than -3.50%
6.45% 6.30% -4.50% and Less than -4.00%
6.95% 6.80% -5.00% and Less than -4.50%
7.45% 7.30% -5.50% and Less than -5.00%
7.95% 7.80% -6.00% and Less than -5.50%
8.45% 8.30% -6.50% and Less than -6.00%
8.95% 8.80% -7.00% and Less than -6.50%
9.45% 9.30% Less than -7.00%

Table 4. SD Reserve Ratios and Investment Fee Rates*

Reserve Ratio Investment Fee Rate
Less than 1.00% 0.53%
1.00% and less than 1.20% 0.50%
1.20% and less than 1.30% 0.40%
1.30% and less than 1.40% 0.30%
1.40% and less than 1.50% 0.20%
1.50% and less than 1.60% 0.10%
1.60% and over 0.00%

*All rates and wage bases subject to change by the South Dakota Legislature
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Administrative Fee

Each employer eligible for experience-rating as defined in law (SDCL 61-5-24) shall pay an administrative fee on wages. If
the employer’s reserve ratio is less then two and one-quarter percent, an administrative fee of two hundredths percent
(.02%) or .0002 shall be paid. No administrative fee may be credited to the employer’s experience-rating account or
deducted in whole or in part by any employer from the wages of individuals in its employ.

Experience-Rating Account Activity

As a covered employer, you will have a unique experience-rating account recording your accumulated paid contributions,
the accumulated benefit payments charged to your account, and your total taxable payroll. These three totals are used
each year to compute your reserve ratio. See p. 10 and p. 11 for reserve ratios and corresponding rates.

Charging of Benefits
Benefit payments to your former employees are charged to your account in inverse chronological order. In other words,
the most recent employer is charged first, then the next most recent, etc.

These charges will match the corresponding percentage of wages from each of the claimant’s employers. In other words,
if you paid only 30 percent of the claimant’s wages during his or her base period, your account will be charged only 30
percent of the benefit payment.

Probationary Period

You may establish a probationary period for new employees for reemployment assistance purposes. You will be exempt
from reemployment assistance charges if the new worker is terminated within 90 days after his or her hire date because
the worker lacks ability to do the work. You must establish the 90-day probationary period at the time of hire.

You may not use a probationary period to gain exemption from reemployment assistance benefit charges if you have
elected to be a reimbursing employer (see p. 9).

Voluntary Contribution
You may be able to reduce your contribution rate for the following calendar year by making a voluntary contribution to
your account prior to December 31. Please contact us for details at 605.626.2312.

Investment Fee

The investment fee is not credited to your experience-rating account. The proceeds from this fee are used for one-time
research grants and economic development projects.

Negative Account Balances

Starting in 2009, if your experience rating account has a negative balance, you may be assessed interest on the negative
balance.

In 2006, the South Dakota Legislature adopted a comprehensive package to put the South Dakota Unemployment
Insurance Trust Fund on a path to improved solvency. One of the pieces was an assessment of interest on experience-
rating accounts that have maintained a negative balance.

The South Dakota Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund is held by the U.S. Treasury, where it earns interest. The South
Dakota Legislature decided that employers whose experience-rating account balances were negative and had become
more negative compared to the balances as of December 31, 2006, will be charged interest equivalent to the interest rate
earned by the Trust Fund.

Details

If your experience-rating account has had a negative balance at the end of each quarter for the last two calendar years and
the balance is more negative now than it was as of December 31, 2006, your account will be assessed interest at a rate
equal to the rate the U.S. Treasury pays on the Trust Fund.

During March of each year, you will receive notice of interest due. The interest is payable in four equal payments due on
the last day of each quarter. Effective July 1, 2011, the interest payment will be deposited in the South Dakota Ul Trust
Fund, as in the past, but will also be credited to your Ul employer account. Negative account balances prior to December
31, 2006, will be not charged.
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Example

If your account balance on December 31, 2011, is a negative $2,000 and if your account balance on December 31, 2006,
was a negative $1,000, you will pay interest on the $1,000 difference. The average 2011 interest rate earned by the Trust
Fund (3.57 percent) times $1,000 equals $35.70.

STAYING INFORMED AND GETTING HELP
We will notify employer about:
e Your experience rating
¢ Any decisions made affecting your experience-rating account

e Amounts charged to your account to pay benefits

Potential benefit charges

Any errors detected during processing of reports

Field Representatives

Field personnel of the Reemployment Assistance Division Tax Unit who work directly with employers are available at most
local Department of Labor and Regulation offices listed on p. 20.

Still Have Questions?
If you have questions about:
e Workers you consider to be exempt, independent contractors, or who work in more than one state
¢ How wages of employees should be reported
e The effect of a provision of the reemployment assistance law
e Any other matter related to reemployment assistance insurance or new hire reporting
You should:

e Forward a complete statement of facts regarding the matter in question to the South Dakota Department of Labor
and Regulation, Reemployment Assistance Division, PO Box 4730, Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

e Contact the RA Tax Representative in your area (p. 20) and discuss the question
e Call 605.626.2312

NOTE: If you do not submit your question to us, and it is later determined that you must report additional wages, you may
be required to pay penalty and interest for late reporting, in addition to the tax. So when in doubt, ask. We will work with
you to answer all your questions.

BENEFIT PAYMENT POLICY AND PRACTICES

Reemployment assistance benefits provide temporary aid to workers who have lost their jobs through no fault of their
own. These benefits are not meant to be a total replacement of wages, but rather to be a protection against a total loss of
wages. An individual can file an initial claim or reopen a claim at raclaims.sd.gov or call 605.626.3179.

The payroll tax you pay as a covered employer provides reemployment assistance benefits for not more than the
equivalent of 26 weeks in a 52-week benefit year.

DEFINITIONS

Effective Date - This is the starting point of a claim. Under South Dakota law, the effective date of a claim is the (Sunday
proceeding) the date a person establishes a claim.

Base Period (Standard) - The time period used to determine a claimant’s eligibility for reemployment assistance benefits is

the individual’s base period. This includes the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters immediately preceding
the application for benefits. See the example below.
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Base Period Lag Period

Jan Apr Jul Oct Jan Apr
Feb May Aug Nov Feb May
Mar Jun Sep Dec Mar

1 2 3 4 5 Incomplete

In the example, the claimant filed a claim in the month of May. His or her base period includes the four completed
calendar quarters of the preceding year. The first quarter of the current year (January, February, March) plus April and part
of May combine to make the lag period.

Alternate Base Period - There is a special base period for persons who are not monetarily eligible because they have not
worked for an extended period due to a work-related injury. This base period can only be used if a claim is filed within 24
months after the injury.

Alternative Base Period (aka Lag Quarter Base Period) - South Dakota adopted a new policy, starting July 1, 2009, that
allows a different base period if the claimant is not eligible for benefits during the standard base period. This Lag Quarter
Base Period counts the first four previously completed quarters. When this type of base period is used, an employer may
be asked to provide the claimant’s wage information immediately, in addition to the Employer’s Quarterly Contribution,
Investment Fee and Wage Report.

Lag Quarter Base Period Claim Filed
Apr Jul Oct Jan Apr
May Aug Nov Feb May
Jun Sep Dec Mar
1 2 3 4 Incomplete

Lag Period - The length of time between the end of the base period and the beginning of the benefit year is the lag period.
Wages earned during the lag period are not used in figuring the amount of benefits a claimant may receive.

Benefit Year - This is a one-year period starting with the effective date of the claim. During this period a claimant cannot
receive more than the equivalent of 26 full payments at the weekly benefit rate established when the claim was filed.
However, during periods of high unemployment, up to 13 additional weeks of benefits may be paid to a claimant at the
claimant’s regular benefit rate, and such payments may be made beyond the expiration of the claimant’s benefit year.

Waiting Period - The first week a claimant files a valid claim for benefits is his or her waiting period week. All claimants
must serve this week before receiving any benefits and are not compensated for this week.

BENEFITS

Weekly And Maximum Benefits
The weekly benefit amount is 1/26 of the wages paid in the highest quarter of the claimant’s base period, up to a
maximum amount determined by the state’s average weekly wage.

The maximum amount of benefits payable within a claimant’s benefit year is one third of his or her total base period
wages. This must not exceed 26 times the weekly benefit amount.

Partial Benefits

A claimant working less than full-time may receive partial benefits. His or her paid benefits are reduced by

75 percent of the amount by which the wages or earnings exceed $25 per week. However, if the claimant’s wages or
earnings equal or exceed the weekly benefit amount, the claimant is ineligible for benefits that week. A calendar week is
a full seven days from Sunday to Saturday. All wages (whether actual payment is received or not) must be reported by the
claimant for the week in which they were earned.
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Reduction Of Benefits
In addition to a claimant’s weekly benefit amount being reduced because of earnings, the following types of payment will
also reduce the individual’s weekly benefit amount.
e Termination, holiday, vacation, severance or dismissal payments, sick leave or wages in lieu of notice.
e Compensation for temporary partial disability under a workers’ compensation law. Other disability payments are not
deductible.
e Compensation for retirement or pension if the payments were made under a plan contributed to by a base-period
employer.

ELIGIBILITY AND DISQUALIFICATIONS

Qualifying for Benefits

To qualify for benefits each claimant must exhibit all of the following:
e Total or partial unemployment through no fault of his or her own
¢ Ability and availability for work
¢ Reasonable effort to find work on his or her own

These eligibility requirements have been established through law, court decisions, secretary appeals, appeal judge decisions
and central office policies and regulations. Not meeting these requirements may mean losing rights to all or a portion of
benefits.

30-Calendar-Day Rule

When a claimant is filing a new claim for reemployment assistance benefits, the reasons for the separation from the most
recent employer of at least 30 calendar days are used to determine eligibility for benefits. Should the claimant file another
claim within one year of filing the initial claim, after returning to work, the 30-calendar-day requirement is not applied when
determining eligibility.

Availability for Work

A claimant must be willing and ready to accept employment during the period of time benefits are being drawn. He or she
should not have any personal reasons that would prevent him or her from accepting a job (e.g., caring for children or adults,
lack of transportation, vacation, etc.). Application of this policy is often difficult, since it requires findings about a claimant’s
state of mind. However, a claimant must certify availability for work and penalties are imposed for fraudulent statements. A
claimant is informed of this policy and all other policies at the times of establishing an initial claim and reopening a claim.

Ability to Work
A claimant who is sick, incapacitated or under detention (in jail, etc.) may be held not eligible for benefits. A medical
statement will be requested as needed to prove ability to work.

Restrictions Imposed by the Claimant

A claimant may be held available for work even if limiting the kinds of jobs, hours or wages that will be accepted, but all
limitations are closely examined to determine whether they are reasonable and whether there are genuine prospects of
employment on the claimant’s terms. Generally, the claimant must be willing to accept available work under the wage
standards for the job or occupation in which he or she has the most experience or training.

Search for Work
The Reemployment Assistance Division requires a claimant to make at least two contacts for work each week. These
contacts must be recorded. The contact must be made in the manner required by the employer.

Retired Workers

The cases of workers for whom retirement was mandatory by the employer are closely examined. The type and amount of
pension is taken into consideration. A pension payment is a deductible item if the base-period employer is a contributor to
the pension. If a worker retires voluntarily, this would be treated the same as a voluntary quit and the claimant would have
to prove good cause. Mandatory retirement is treated as a layoff and the employer’s account is charged.

Eligibility of Educational Institution Employees

Persons employed by an educational institution are not eligible for benefits based on employment between two academic
years if they have a contract or reasonable assurance to be employed for both academic years. In other words, employees
are not eligible for benefits while the school is on summer break. Such employees are also not eligible for benefits during
established vacation days, holidays or days the school is legally closed, if they are employed both before and after such
times.
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Eligibility of Employees of Educational Institution Service Companies
Persons who work for businesses providing services to public or private schools on a contract basis may not be eligible for
benefits between school terms if all three of the following conditions are met:

e They have reasonable assurance of returning to work for the fall term.
e The employment is part of a contract between their employer and the school.
e The contract is for services the school could have had performed by its own employees.

Note: Benefits will be denied only if the worker receives written notice prior to commencement of employment.

DISQUALIFICATIONS FOR BENEFITS

Voluntarily Leaving Employment

A claimant who voluntarily leaves employment without “good cause” is disqualified. Benefits are denied until the claimant
has been re-employed at least six calendar weeks in insured employment during the current benefit year and earned
wages equal to or greater than the claimant’s weekly benefit amount in each of those six weeks.

The reemployment assistance law provides that “good cause” for voluntarily leaving employment is restricted to leaving
employment because:

e Continued employment presents a hazard to the employee’s health. However, this applies only if, prior to the
separation, the employee is examined by a doctor, chiropractor, physician’s assistant or certified nurse practitioner
who signs a certificate supporting the existence of the health hazard.

¢ You required the employee to relocate residence to hold his or her job.

¢ Your conduct demonstrates a substantial disregard of the standards of behavior your employee has a right to expect
of you, or that you breached or substantially altered the contract for employment.

¢ An individual accepted employment with you while on layoff and subsequently quit such employment to return to
work for his/her regular employer.

e The employee’s religious belief mandates leaving. The provision does not apply, however, if you have offered your
employee reasonable accommodations taking into consideration his or her religious beliefs, and if you make this offer
before the employee leaves your employment.

e Leaving is necessary to protect the individual from domestic abuse. However, this subdivision applies only if:
- The employee reports the abusive situation to law enforcement within 48 hours of any occurrence and
cooperates fully with law enforcement in any subsequent investigation and criminal charge relating to the abusive
situation.

- The employee has left the abusive situation and remains separate from the situation.

- The employee made reasonable efforts to preserve the employment before quitting.
Any person found to have good cause for leaving employment due to domestic abuse and who returns to the abusive
situation is ineligible for benefits.

e The employee is relocating to accompany a spouse who has been reassigned from one military assignment to
another.

e The employee is an officer who exercises substantial control in decisions to take or not to take action on behalf of a
corporation and has no other alternative than to leave employment with that corporation. This does not preclude a
corporate officer who does not exercise substantial control on any decision to take or not take action on behalf of a
corporation from being found to have good cause to leave employment under other circumstances described above.

Misconduct

If the employee is discharged for “misconduct,” benefits will be denied until he or she has been re-employed and earned
an amount equal to or greater than the person’s weekly benefit amount in each of six different weeks.

A claimant would be separated due to misconduct when one of the following is determined:
¢ Failure to obey orders, rules or instructions, or failure to discharge the duties for which the claimant was employed.

e Substantial disregard of your interests as employer or of the claimant’s duties and obligations to you.

e Conduct evincing such willful or wanton disregard of your interests as is found in deliberate violation or disregard of
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standards of behavior you have the right to expect from your employee.

e Carelessness or negligence of such degree of recurrence as to manifest equal culpability or wrongful intent. However,
mere inefficiency, unsatisfactory conduct, failure to perform as the result of inability or incapacity, a good faith error
in judgment or discretion, or conduct mandated by a religious belief that you cannot reasonably accommodate is not
misconduct.

Refusing Employment

If we find that an unemployed individual has failed, without good cause, to apply for available suitable work when so
directed by us, to accept suitable work when offered, or to return to customary self-employment when directed by us,
benefits will be denied until he or she has:

e Been re-employed at least six calendar weeks in insured employment during the current benefit year

¢ Has earned wages equal to or greater than the claimant’s weekly benefit amount in each of those six weeks

In determining whether work is suitable, we consider the:
¢ Degree of risk involved to the individual’s health, safety and morals
Physical fitness and prior training
e Experience and prior earnings
Length of unemployment and prospects for securing local work in the individual’s customary occupation
Distance of the available work from the individual’s residence

Compelling personal circumstances may justify refusal of a job. Examples of circumstances that would require a
determination include:

¢ Health and safety hazards

¢ Interference with religious beliefs

¢ Requirement to purchase tools and/or equipment
¢ Pay, hours and/or location

e Type of work and experience required

What constitutes good cause is influenced by general labor market conditions. A “reasonably prudent person” acts differently
when jobs are plentiful.

Appeal Request

If you or a former employee is dissatisfied with a non-monetary decision, you each have 15 days from the date on the
determination notice to appeal. If either party does not agree with the appeal decision, the next step would be an appeal to
the Secretary of Labor and Regulation or directly to Circuit Court. However, the Secretary is not required to review all cases
appealed to her or him. Parties who appeal to the Secretary retain the option of appealing to Circuit Court. No fee is charged
to either party for a regular appeal or a Secretary’s appeal.

You and your former employee may be represented by an attorney at an appeal; such representation is not required,
however.

QUALITY CONTROL PROGRAM/BENEFIT PAYMENT CONTROL

Audits

We audit a sample group of claimants selected each week to test the accuracy of the reemployment assistance benefits
payments and denials. On an ongoing basis, auditors interview claimants who are selected randomly by the computer. In
addition, they review the claim and contact the employer to verify appropriate payroll records and to substantiate the reason
for unemployment. They also verify the claimant’s work search attempts.

The audits result in answers to the questions, “Was this claimant truly eligible to receive reemployment assistance benefits?”
or “Was this claimant properly denied benefits?”

Auditors document types and causes of over- or under-payment of benefits and improper denials. They also determine
whether the errors were made by the claimant, the Reemployment Assistance Division or the employer.

The purpose of the Quality Control Program is to prevent and reduce both fraud and abuse through better detection of
improper payments and denials.
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In addition, the program is intended to reduce improper payments or denials in the future by deterring future
reemployment assistance claimants from submitting inaccurate information on the claim applications. This helps reduce
taxes for you and other employers.

As part of conducting a thorough audit, investigators may need to contact you. Therefore, your cooperation in this effort is
greatly appreciated. If you would like more information about Quality Control, call 605.626.7649.

Fraud, Misrepresentation and Overpayments
Through our fraud detection unit, we work to prevent and detect benefits paid through willful misrepresentation, including
collusion, conspiracy or error by the claimant or others. The program also focuses on recovery of benefit overpayments.

In addition to detecting and recovering overpayments, the fraud unit investigates overpayments to determine if they
resulted from misrepresentation. The unit prosecutes those cases where deliberate fraud is clearly indicated and where
evidence can be presented to substantiate the charge.

All potential fraud cases are investigated and classified as either “overpayment” or “fraud.” Criminal charges are not filed in
overpayment cases except where misrepresentation occurred; however, the law does require restitution. The department
imposes four weeks of administrative penalty for each week of fraud. The claimant must file for (serve) the penalty weeks
but cannot be paid benefits. This penalty does not expire but must be served before any benefits can be paid. In addition,
the law administers a monetary penalty equal to 50% of benefits of the fraudulent payment for the first offense and 100%
for each subsequent offense.

In addition to investigation, the fraud unit is a liaison with other state, federal and local law enforcement agencies.

To assist the fraud unit in its investigation of potential fraud, you can:
e Provide information promptly, including completion of wage crossmatch forms.
e Make certain the information given is as accurate and complete as possible.

e Contribute any other information that can help the unit in its investigation to determine if benefits have been
fraudulently claimed.

You can report information by contacting an investigator in Aberdeen at 605.626.7649, Rapid City at 605.394.2295 or Sioux
Falls at 605.367.5306.

You can also visit dIr.sd.gov/ra/businesses and click on “Reporting Possible Fraud” on the left blue menu.

NEW HIRE REPORTING

All employers, private, non-profit and government agencies, are required to report certain information on newly hired, re-
hired, re-employed or re-instated employees to the New Hire Reporting Center (NHRC). This information is matched against
child support records to locate parents and to establish or enforce child support orders.

You must report all new hires within 20 days of the date of hire, including any employee who is hired, whether full-time,
part-time, student or temporary.

You must report the following information to the NHRC:
e Employee name, address, social security number and date of hire
e Employer name, address and Federal Identification number

You can fax, call or mail:
e A printed list with the required information
¢ A copy of the federal W-4 form

You have several reporting options:

e Go directly to sdwagereport.com or go to our home page, dlr.sd.gov, select “Reemployment Assistance,” then
“Reemployment Assistance for Business,” then click “Log in here to Report New Hires.”

e Once registered to report online, employers have two options.

1. Manually enter employees by clicking on the “Online Form” tab, or

2. Upload a New Hire Report by clicking the “File Transfer” tab. (Upload specifications can be found once you are
logged in for online reporting.)
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e Phone - 888.827.6078 or 605.626.2942
* Fax - 888.835.8659 or 605.626.2842
¢ Mail - New Hire Reporting Center, SD Department of Labor and Regulation, PO Box 4700, Aberdeen, SD 57402-4700

LABOR MARKET INFORMATION

The Labor Market Information Center (LMIC) is your best source for labor market information, covering local, state and
national unemployment levels, the number of workers by industry and average annual pay by industry.

LMIC provides:
e Occupational wage information

Employee benefits information

Estimates of available labor

Analysis of current economic conditions

Projected worker levels by industry and occupation

Employment staffing patterns

Labor market demographic information
e Cost of living information

LMIC also provides publications and materials with information for career planners and decision makers. Labor market
information is also available at our website at dIr.sd.gov. Click on the yellow “Labor Market Information” button.

LMIC publishes a monthly economic newsletter, The South Dakota e-Labor Bulletin. To subscribe, click on the subscription
link at dir.sd.gov/Imic/elaborbulletin.aspx, or call the Labor Market Information Center at 800.592.1881.

DLR JOB SERVICE OFFICES

You will save time and money recruiting and training new personnel when you use the services of our job service offices.

Recruitment

Job service offices match applicants with your job specifications to meet your personnel needs in a prompt and efficient
manner.

SDWORKS, DLR’s extensive jobs database of openings and applicants , simplifies the process of finding the right employee.
Job information such as salary, job duties and qualifications are matched with an applicant’s experience and qualifications.

Job service offices also conduct outreach activities to assist you in attaining affirmative action goals. For new and
expanding businesses hiring a large number of workers, our job service offices can provide special recruitment services.

Online Services

Contact your job service office to place a job order and receive our no-cost services. You may also establish an account, list
job openings and/or look for the right employee by using SDWORKS. Visit sdjobs.org and click on “Post a Job.”

Skilled and Professional Employees

Our job service offices have qualified job applicants for a variety of jobs, skilled and professional. Call your local job service
office when you need applicants with graduate degrees, specialized training and/or experience.
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Aberdeen

420 S. Roosevelt St.
PO Box 4730
57402-4730
605.626.2340

Brookings

1310 Main Ave. S., Suite 103
57006-3893

605.688.4350

Huron

2361 Dakota Ave. S.
57350-2413
605.353.7155

Lake Andes

140 W. Highway 50
57356
605.487.7607, x212

Madison

223 S. Van Eps Ave., Suite 101
57042-2886

605.256.5300

Mitchell

1321 N. Main St.
57301-1354
605.995.8060

North Sioux City

504 River Dr., City Hall
57049-3015
605.242.5445

Pierre

116 W. Missouri Ave.
57501-4506
605.773.3372

Rapid City

2330 N. Maple Ave., Suite 1
57701-7898

605.394.2296

Sioux Falls

811 E. 10th St., Dept. 41
57103-1650
605.367.5300

Sisseton

10 E. Hickory St., Suite 3
57262-1526
605.698.3964

Spearfish

1300 North Ave.
57783-1525
605.642.6900

Vermillion

904 E Cherry St.
57069-1742
605.677.6900

Watertown

2001 9th Ave. SW, Suite 200
57201-4029

605.882.5151

Winner

325 S. Monroe St., Room 117
57580-1728

605.842.0474

Yankton

3113 Spruce, Suite 124
57078-5320
605.668.2900

REEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE (RA) DIVISION ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE

Aberdeen

420 S. Roosevelt St.
PO Box 4730
57402-4730

RA Appeals: 605.626.2310
RA Tax: 605.626.2312

RA Customer Service: 605.626.2452

REEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE DIVISION, TAX UNIT FIELD REPRESENTATIVES

Aberdeen

420 S. Roosevelt St.
PO Box 4730
57402-4730
605.626.2312

Rapid City

2330 N. Maple Ave., Suite 1

57701-7898
605.394.2317
x2376 or 1651

IMPORTANT POINTS TO REMEMBER

Sioux Falls

1500 W 51st St., Suite 106

57105
605.367.5309
x5310, 5311 or 5592

e Time limits are important. You may incur penalties, lose a favorable tax rate or forego appeal rights if you don’t act
in time.

e Tax or penalty payments must be properly identified to credit your account promptly. Use your Employer Account
Number.

e Official changes of address should be made in writing to our Administrative Office. See p. 1 for our address.

e Attend appeal hearings whenever you have information about a claimant’s eligibility.

e Review your Notice of Benefit Charges to be sure your account is not being charged incorrectly.

e Contact your local Tax Unit Field Representative on questions or problems involving your reemployment assistance
taxes. Phone numbers and addresses can be found on p. 20.

e Let the Department of Labor and Regulation help you fill your job openings by calling the nearest local job service
office. Phone numbers and addresses can be found on p. 20.

e Read and follow instructions on required forms. It can save you time and money.
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IMPORTANT LINKS
South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation — dlr.sd.gov
RA Home page — dlr.sd.gov/ra/default.aspx

Advisory Council — dir.sd.gov/ra/advisory_council/default.aspx

Claims — dlr.sd.gov/ra/individuals/default.aspx

Employer Updates — dir.sd.gov/ra/businesses/default.aspx

Forms — dlr.sd.gov/ra/forms.aspx

New Hire Reporting — dIr.sd.gov/ra/new_hire_reporting/default.aspx

Online Reporting — sdwagereport.com

Register Your Business — dir.sd.gov/ra/businesses/default.aspx

Reporting Possible Fraud — dlIr.sd.gov/ra/overpayments/default.aspx

Administrative Rules — sdlegislature.gov

State of South Dakota
Codified Law, Title 61

Administrative Rules, Article 47:06

Federal Government

Internal Revenue Service —irs.gov
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Appendix
Examples of Tax Forms

Example 1
Employer’s Reemployment Assistance Quarterly Report
Form 21

EMPLOYER'S REEMPPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE QUARTERLY REPORT
Form 21 (rev. 07/19) South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation, Reemployment Assistance (RA) Tax Division
PO Box 4730 « Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730 « Phone 605.626.2312 « Fax 605.626.3347 - dir.sd.gov/ra

Account Number

| Instructions available in "Instructions" tab.

Quarter/Year Due Date File online at dir.sd.gov/ra/businesses

| | 3. Total gross wages paid in this quarter (Item 22)

Business Name and Address 4. Wages paid this quarter in excess of annual per person (Item 23)
5. Taxable wages (Item 3 minus ltem 4)
6. RA contribution rate % x line 5
7. Administrative fee rate % x line 5
8. Investment fee rate % x line 5
1. For each month, report the number of covered workers who worked during or 9. Total due (add lines 6, 7 & 8)

received pay for the payroll period which includes the 12th of the month.

10. Adjustment from prior quarters (explain on "Line 10 & Line 15"tab)

If none, enter "0"
1st month | 2nd month

3rd month 11. Interest: Line 9 x 1.5% per month from due date %

| 12. Penalty for late filings: $25.00 per month

2. Does this account operate in more than one
location in South Dakota? Yes No 13. Penalty for late payments: $25.00 per month

15. If your business in South Dakota has changed in any way, please 14. Total remittance (sum of lines 9 through 13)

complete the "Line 10 & Line 15" worksheet. |f the ownership changed during
this quarter, each owner must submit a report. Make remittance payable to "SD U yment Insurance”

Note: When you make a check payment, you authorize us to use information from your check to make a one-time electronic funds transter (EF T) from your account. When we use information from
your check to make an EFT, funds may be withdrawn from your account as soon as the same day we receive your payment. You will not receive your check back from your financial institution.

16. Employee's Social Security Number 17. Employee's Name (Last, First) 18. Total Gross Wages Paid This Quarter 19. Excess Wages Paid This Quarter
Signature | certify all information on this report is complete and correct. 20. Total Gross Wages This Page 21. Total Excess Wages This Page
Title Nate
22. Total Gross Wages All Pages 23. Total Excess Wages All Pages
Prepared by Telephone

Fmail Addrace




Example 2
Notice to Base-Period Employer

Form 238
SD DEPARTMENT OF LABOR & REGULATION DATE OF NOTICE
REEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE DIVISION
BOX 4730 CLAIMANT
ABERDEEN, SOUTH DAKOTA 57402-4730
PHONE #: 605-626-2452 EFF. DATE OF CLAIM
FAX #: 605-626-3172
WEB SITE: dIr.sd.gov BASE PERIOD
Employer Number
Weekly Benefit Maximum Amount Base Period Wages Total Base Period Claimant
Amount Benefit Amount Chargeable to While in Your Employ Wages Social Security Number
r 1
Ul Tax No.
L ]

EMPLOYER COMPLETE THIS SECTION

Dates Worked Separation Payment Information In Addition To Regular Wages
From: To: Hrs Worked Sick leave# $ Vacation/PTO# $
Last Calendar Hours Gross Hours Gross
Hourly Rate: Average # Week Holiday# $ Severance # $
Hrs Worked Hours Gross Hours Gross
Each Week: Other # $
List type of payment Hours Gross

REASON NO LONGER WORKING: (PLEASE PROVIDE SPECIFIC INFORMATION. ADDITIONAL SHEETS OR DOCUMENTS MAY BE ATTACHED.)

This is an initial determination that your experience rating account . i , i .
will be charged for benefits. This determination is final unless This claimant’s base period also contains
within 15 days from the date of this notice you mail or fax us this wages with the following employers:
form giving detailed information. Please make a copy for your files.

Signed for
Employer

Telephone

E-Mail

Date

If additional information is required, who should we contact from your office?

Employer information on protests, appeals and relief from charges is on the back of this form
DLR-RAD-238 (7/19)



