Meeting Minutes WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADVISORY COUNCIL

Microsoft Teams and Conference Call November 21, 2024, 1:30 p.m. CST

Members Present: Chair Scott Stern, Jason Dodson, Jeff Kjensted, Kate Lukkes, Susan Peterson, Michael Plank, Kory Rawstern, Jesse Smith, and Michael Williams.

Others Present: Mark Arrington, Riley Bennett, Dawn Dovre, Donna Leslie, Frank Marnell, Jerry McCabe, Deb Mortenson, Kim Malsam-Rydson, Ryan Noonan, Susan Schulte, DJ Sjerven, Darcy Sorenson, and Rachel Thies.

Chair Stern called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. CST. Darcy Sorenson conducted roll call. A guorum was present.

Jeff Kjensted moved to approve the July 16, 2024, meeting minutes. Susan Peterson seconded the motion. **MOTION PASSED** by 9-0 roll call vote.

Chair Stern opened the floor for public comments. There were no public comments.

Susan Schulte, National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) Department of Labor Relations Executive, presented the 2024 Medical Data Report for South Dakota. Schulte reviewed payments made for various items and compared South Dakota with the rest of the United States.

Kim Malsam-Rysdon introduced Rachel Thies and Ryan Noonan, occupational medicine doctors with Avera.

Thies and Noonan gave a presentation regarding occupational medicine outcomes and South Dakota workers' compensation fee schedules. As part of their presentation, they requested the fee schedule for occupational medicine be increased.

Jason Dodson moved to delay action on the reimbursement fee schedule discussions until the next meeting. Kory Rawstern seconded the motion. **MOTION PASSED** by a 9-0 roll call vote.

Jerry McCabe presented the draft Workers' Compensation Advisory Council annual report for 2024. McCabe suggested two revisions to the report.

Dodson moved to approve the revised annual report. Michael Williams seconded the motion. **MOTION PASSED** by a 9-0 roll call vote.

The next meeting is tentatively to be scheduled in July 2025 with the final date to be determined.

Williams moved to adjourn. Dodson seconded the motion. MOTION PASSED.

Chair Stern adjourned the meeting at 2:32 p.m. CST.