WORKERS'COMPENSATION MEDICAL COSTCONTAINMENT: ANATIONALINVENTORY, 2013

Efble 20 Medical Bill Filing, Payment, and Medical Dispute Resolution Regulations as of January 1, 2013

is table provides jurisdiction requirements on when providers must bill payors, when the payors must pay the provider, what repercussions exist for violations, and finally, how medical disputes are resolved in each of the jurisdictions.
Process Used to Resolve Medical Billing and Treatment
Timeframe Disputes
Timeframe within Repercussion for  |from Receiptin| Penalty for Payor If 3 ; d
Jurisdiction Which Provider Must | Provider If Billing Not | Which Payor Late Paymentor How is Penalty Assessed? S braoans Eproibl Al.sthcnty L Brocesseanisec fo_r Resolution afadical
R i Separate Process for Medical| Process Resolve Medical Disputes Disputes
Send Billto Payor | Sentwithin Timeframe [ Must Pay the Unresponsive 3 5 " Other
2 Disputes Prior to Hearing for All
Provider T
Litigation
i 7 ® Provider may file a : ,
District ,Df None None Iz "clmely complaint with the N/A Yes Office DfWDr_kers Same as other disputes
Columbia manner % Compensation
Office
Medical reimbursement disputes, in which
compensability is not at issue, are resclved by
Florid N N 454 3 Carrier shall calculate monthly for bills V. Only the designated fact d.ths ?'V'.mn Is .fo's: of Medical S;m'cesf‘l
prC? ane Sl bl received during the prior period B finders have the authority R e MmN e COMPEn A R eT B
requested or provided medical service may be
resolved by EAQ or before the Office of Judges
of Compensation Claims
One year from the date 31 to 60 days - 10% of
of service or within one unpaid balance; more Monetary
. year o.f thedatmthy They walvg thelriight to than 80 days b}" within Provider to bill to the payoron a pe'.-‘aiw as Peer review, mediation, Mediation or hearing before an administrative
Georgia claimisacceptedar  |reimbursement for those 30 days 90 days - 20%; beyond described, with S 2
f ; e statement 3 hearing in that orcler law judge
established as expenses 90 days - in addition to peer review
compensable, whichever| 20%, an additional added
is later 12%/annum
Hawai WIIEE: Carrier does not have to 40 days 1% per month of Provider can send an additional billing to Ves Only the designated fact | Administrative review; informaladministrative
Al ¥ pay the bill Y outstanding bill the payor finders have the authority hearing
Provider will be If provider files an administrative request
\daho 120 days ineligible to participate 30 days Payar is precluded from forapproval of disputed charge and Yes WC Agency using trained Administrative review of submitted
Y in dispute resolution 4 disputing charges prevails, an additional 30% of the owed 4 administrative staff per rule information
program amount will be ordered
30 days from : = 5 s it . = =
e 1% interest is due per | Provider can send an additional billing to Arbitrators and Informal administrative conference or a formal
inois None None receipt of a Yas S i
i month the payor commissioners hearing
complete bill
" Only the designated fact "
Indiana MNone None None No penalty None Yes findlers have the authotity A formal hearing
Only the designated fact i :
lowa None None None No penalty None Yes finders have the authority Arbitration; a formal hearing
[Kansas None None 60 days No penalty None Yes ALJ can hold a hearing Informal hearing or formal hearing
5 i The provider has to file an administrative .
Finesand inewabie request with the agency and the payor Aianslietnakes Administrative review; informal conf ce;
Kentucky 45 days May not get paid 30 days opportunity to A gEney piay Yes determination on pleadings i Il ’ ol
= must either pay the penalty or deny the : mediation; or hearing
challenge hill - or hold a hearing
penalty is dus
;rzgg:jdl';n:?rdetzlan;: The provider has to file an administrative
- 60 days/30 days L4 pblaild request with the agency and the payor Only the designated fact G .
Louisiana 1 year Non payment : : the amount is ¥ Yes 3 5 Mediation; informal or formal hearing
if e-billed outstanding Uptoa must either pay the penalty or deny the finders have the authority
max. of $2,000 penalty ydue
The provider has to file an administrative
. Flatamount based on | reqguest with the agency and the payor Only the designated fact , : :
Maine Nane Hlona 20 days the length of delay must either pay the penalty or deny the Yes finders have the authority Hleclation; Informal prformalhearing
penalty is due
Interest & penalty & i
- ; L0 Only the designated fact ‘
Maryland None None 45 days w3|u§r of right to deny By commission order Yes finders have the authority A formal hearing
reimbursement
Massachusetts None. None None None None No Yes M.GL.c. 152 Sec. 10 Conclliation, Cﬁﬂcf:rg?:f :-IUeanng per MGL
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WORKERS' COMPENSATION MEDICAL COSTCONTAINMENT: ANATIONAL INVENTORY, 2013

Table 20 Medical Bill Filing, Payment, and Medical Dispute Resolution Regulations as of January 1, 2013

This table provides jurisdiction requirements on when providers must bill payors, when the payers must pay the provider, what repercussions exist for viclations, and finally, how medical disputes are resolved in each of the jurisdictions.

Process Used to Resolve Medical Billing and Treatment

Timeframe Disputes
Timeframe within Repercussion for from Receiptin| Penalty for Payor If i 4 +
o i . i i 2 Fe d
Jurisdiction Which Provider Must | Provider If Billing Not | Which Payer Late Payment or How is Penalty Assessed? i SEoame ormal Au}:hnrs_ty to fffce: s lsed fo‘rResnlutmn ef Madical
g ey i Separate Process for Medical| Process Resolve Medical Disputes Disputes
Send Bill to Payor | Sent within Timeframe | Must Pay the Unresponsive L 2 = Other
> Disputes Prior to Hearing for All
Provider R
Litigation
Rﬁ'w'}%}‘ﬁitﬁ":? fiing Usually filea (a) A magistrate
Gl 162 A fovider Disputes filed using Form 1048 104b for (b) The appellate
L hiIE.';a carri:within handled via telephonic medical billing commission
Michi i year e aar or et oF S 2% Self assessed by carrier or provider | Alternative Dispute Resolution issues;canalso | () The court of appeals @
tehigsn ¥ ye:ervice for 4 request process; if no resolution, file a petition (d) The supreme court
: - petition is sent to magistrate 104a; or havea | Orthey have the option of
consideration of : 4 i 3
7 docket for formal hearing small claims filing under small claims
payment. (Bill does not Eatrt Hearin Wi
have to be paid) 9
Provider may be Disputes of $7,500 or less are handled by
pepallzed i_:y Mad\:all AdnniistrAt favaw: administrative conference at the Department
Services Review Board; if < . of Labor and Industry unless DLI refers the
it Assessed by the Minnesota Department of informal conference; 5 ;! e :
i) bill Is not sent to payor : i + e s L dispute to the Office of Administrative
Minnesota 60 days i 30 days Interest and penalties | Labor and Industry compliance unit, or by Yes mediation; administrative ¢ 2
within 6 months, T s 3 Hearings. Disputes of more than $7500 are
- ; acompensation judge in litigated cases conference; or formal : 2 :
payment is denied P handled by the Office of Administrative
(subject to certain 9 Hearings, either as an administrative
exceptions) conference or by formal hearing
Relmbursement can be 1.5% interest is due for
sy 20 days after Initia reduced by 1.5% for e 30. daysHil r\ct Ercwder files an ac!mm!strarlvle request x s Appeal from Director's decision is to a panel of
Mississippi treatment and then 30 days paid within 30 days; one{ with the agency which the carrier can pay Yes Cost Containment Director (e : R
each 30 days of late i 3 commissioners - their decision is final
every 30 days oy time 10% penalty after ordeny
billing
60 days
Thedirector of the Division
W ) AR e f 3
Missouri N Kona Hona Hora i Yer of orkgrs CDmp_F.‘I‘_ISBﬂC?n, Admlnlstratave.\ewew. informal conference; or
using trained administrative informal hearing
staff
Within 60 days
of receipt of Independent
medical bill on May be assessed a penalty of not IES.S than‘ Mediation Medical Review| WC Court & MT Supreme | Independent Medical Review or Mediation-WC
Montana 39-71-107(5)(c), MCA  |$200 or more than $1,000 for each bill that 5
an accepted, s the subject of a dela ARM 24.28.101 Process Court Court-MT Supreme Court
undisputed ) Y ARM 24,26,1595
claim
If dispute is over|
No fee schedule ar reasonable and .
Nebraska None None 30 days contract reduction- fees Yes necessary, there ff;:itr;?aﬁi?ﬁ;:ﬁi;?;—; Mediation or a formal hearing
must be paid as billed must be a court
appointed IME
Ifan MCO isin
place, it should
Provider files an admin strative request rz‘:;mieoan Only the designatedfact  |Complaint reviewed for written determination
Mevada 90 days Payment may he denied 60 days (3) with the agency\n;?;\g:nthe carrier can pay Yes No process; butany| finders have the authority irFrmal coriference, Tormal hearing
4 party can
reguest a
hearing
A flat amount based on b e T e
Provider files an administrative request Wi ; : i :
i 4 e Ad t: i H
New Hampshire 30 days (6] 7) 30 days the Iength(f;]f the delay With the AdEney, e IRjured Workar (9) No Yes ministrative hearing Administrative hearing
New Jersey None None None' None None Yes Workers jiltér;epensa“m Administrative conference; a formal hearing
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WORKERS' COMPENSATION MEDICAL COSTCONTAINMENT: ANATIONAL INVENTORY, 2013

Table 20 Medical Bill Filing, Payment, and Medical Dispute Resolution Regulations as of January 1, 2013

This table provides jurisdiction requirements on when providers must bill payers, when the payors must pay the provider, what repercussions exist for violations, and finally, how medical disputes ara resolvad in each of the jurisdictions.

Process Used to Resolve Medical Billing and Treatment

potential for a penalty of|
50% of the unpaid bill

adjudication process

Timeframe Disputes
Timeframe within Repercussion for  [from Receiptin| Penalty for Payor If i A i
Jurisdiction Which Provider Must | Provider If Billing Not | Which Payor Late Paymentor How is Penalty Assessed? ‘ Hag Samn Ferma| Au.thnrllly ra broceses Uoad fo.r Resolution of Medical
: WEEREaEe % Separate Process for Medical| Process Resolve Medical Disputes Disputes
SendBill to Payor | Sentwithin Timeframe| Must Pay the Unresponsive i 7 5 Other
5 Disputes Prior to Hearing for All
Provider +
Litigation
Payar may launch a Provider has to file a request for payment File request for
New Mexico 30 days for practitioner, complaint to WCA, 30 days Provider can send of the penalty within the formal reconsideration or demand for Vs Division Director or the Informal conference; mediation or a formal
kil 60 days for hospital possible fines or Y complaint to Agency |adjudication system and a fact finder must| notice of contested billing designated fact finder hearing
penalties issue an ordler for the payor to pay according to rules
WC Agency using delegated
: : % . . authority to administrative ¥ ¢ i C 5 |
New York 90 days The provider may nat l:fe 45 days | May be subject to Provider must request an administrative Yas staff trained for this purpose Admlmstratllve review; information Fonference,
able to collect on the bill interest and penalty award 7 2 arbitration; or a formal hearing
ora special medical peer
review program
For medical billing, the
medical fee section attempts Wealtehavas
Interest is due on the 7 . o . an informal resolution and if e Only the designated fact
i ; The provider has to file an administrative : specific process| .. i : R ;.
North Carolina i unpaid balance after C unsuccessful, it goes through finders have this authority | Administrative review, informal conference,
They could |ose their T : request with the agency and the payor el for regular and kb il =
as of 1/1/2012 75days 5 60 days this timeframe (specify : the usual adjudication process. (may be called mediation, informal administrative hearing,
right to payment b must either pay the penalty or deny the : ; emeargency s ¢ E
(10} the interest percentage Al For treatment issues, file a el commissioners, judges, or farmal hearing
to be paid- 10%) P Y medical motion with executive ; hearing officers)
‘e off motions
secretary's office or request a
hearing
. WC Agency using trained | Administrative review; informal conference,
ble; 5 g 5 Fodleaia 3 '
North Dakota 1 year Not billable; no payment None None None Ye: adrR At e SEaH mediation; infarmal or formal hearing
- 4 Provider does not have to do anything;
Ohio 1 year Bill is forever barred (11) 30 days Intere;: ;SS:ET;W‘UD BWC must calculate the amount due and Yes Ohie Industrial Commission
add to payment
Payor must pay
provider within
forty-five (45)
days of the
receipt by the
employer or
insurance
carrierof a
w?ﬂj};:“’ Disputes may be mediated or litigated.
P — N NGFE FUBICE: alagE s None Yos Oklahoma Workers' Conflicting interpretations of (he fea schedule
Compensation Court may be resolved administratively by Court
the employer or L
i Administrator
insurance
carrier has a
goced faith
reason to
reguest
additional
information
about such
invoice
: Provider can send additicnal billing to Loy e i : :
Ly 0 f i
Oregon 60 days (13) 45 days (14) payor for penalty or file an administrative Yes ity the_WC Djvision Admrnlstratwerawew,_medlatlon, orfarmel
: i Director hearing
request with the agency or adjudicate i
wzﬁu:‘teare:r:e:::gr?;“ Interéstis assessed throlghfes review Hearing officer or workers' | Administrative fee review; penalty process and
Pennsylvania Nene None 30 days Pay and penalty is assessed through the X . :P P e

compensation judge

adjudication
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WORKERS' COMPENSATION MEDICAL COST CONTAINMENT: A NATIONALINVENTORY, 2013

Table 20 Medical Bill Filing, Payment, and Medical Dispute Resolution Regulations as of January 1, 2013

This table provides jurisdiction reguirements on when providers must bill payors, when the payors must pay the provider, what repercussions exist for violat]

ons, and finally, how medical disputes are resolved in each of the jurisdictions.

Process Used to Resolve Medical Billing and Treatment

service

be up to 1% a month)

finder and an award must be ordered

disputes. Those not resolved
by the department go to the
Board of Endustrial:éppeals

Timeframe Disputes
Timeframe within Repercussionfor  |from Receiptin| Penalty for Payor If ; . i
Jurisdiction Which Provider Must | Provider If Billing Not | Which Payor Late Payment or How is Penalty Assessed? s taf < for Medical U:E Zame Re:;:rr::,::;thfgiw tai A hincescesUzed ;:Rei::utlon olbiedical
Send Bill to Payor | Sentwithin Timeframe| Must Pay the Unresponsive RATEANIocass for Sreie LoAnES Other S RRLE R
Brovider Disputes Prior to Hearing for All
Litigation
91 days from conclusion| Payment may not be o Provider can simply send a bill to the Only the designated fact ] -
Rhode Island e required 22 days 12% per annum payor for the penalty No Yes finders have the authority Informal conference or formal hearing
South Carolina 30 days None 30 days No penalty None Ves Statutory medical review Administrative review of submitted
Y 4 P board information
Provider files an administrative request L Al > oy FlE
South Dakota None 30 days $500 with the agency which the carrier can pay Yes _On{y the desiginated fa;t Admlnlstratlv.s [SfIEN of infos m_edJat\on,
ordeny finders have the authority arbitration; or formal hearing
Not addressed in WC Not addressed in WC Yes, reviewed by pragram
—— rules, but applicable rules, but applicable 31 days from 2.08% monthly (25% | By the provider, the state does not collect coordinater for possible WC Director and his Medical Care and Cost Containment
Medicare edits would | Medicare edits would receipt annual) up to $10,000 this penalty resolution prior to going designee; medical attorney Committee
apply apply (15) before the MCCCC
Agency staff decisions on medical fee disputes
; d IRO decision on medical necessity
Interest is due and payor| : L
95 days from date of : 2 da_ys from may be subject ta Provider files an administrative request \nrcfe[?endent LiEW disputes may be a;?paa\ed 19 agen:y_for 2
Texas s Forfeiture of payment receipt of a administrative penalties with the agency (17) Yes (18) organizations (IROs) are used| contested case hearingora hearing with the
clean bill (16) SEReS (19 State Office of Administrative Hearings
depending on the amount of money in
dispute
1 year beyond the end Only billings E?;P!gyei:r:
US Federal of the calendar year in which fall under| Only billings which fall r: u\:ster 7
Programs - which the expense was N BaERE the Prompt Pay [ under the Prompt Pay | Based on requirements of the Prompt Pay | Yes (hold no hearings forany No T; Di;rt?:w District Director with appeal | Employee or provider can request review by
FEC% incurred or the claim pay Act(PPA), 31 Act (PPA), 31 USC. Act disputes) O);fice d to Regional Director District Office and appeal to Regional Office
was first accepted, U.S.C.Chapter Chapter 39 appea?:c\
whichever is later 39 (30 days) Regional Office
Employer is not liable for
cost of treatment. The
US Federal e failure to submit report Provider files an administrative request 3 L . ’ il
Programs - 10 days for initial within 10 days may be 20 days Flahr amount based on with the agency which the carrier can pay Ves iny the designated faFt Admmi;tr?twe r,w,'w'_‘ of info; mformlal
Longshore treatment only excused by the OWCP the length of delay orideny finders have the authority canference; mediation; or formal hearing
District Director in the
interest of justice
s . Interest at 8% per i . %
Utah 1 year No payment W“m.n 43 Eiay; annum may be awarded Upon award by the Commission Utlization Review Appeals Yes f)nly the designated fact Mediation of formal hearing
of being billed by the Commission process (R612-2-26) finders have the authority
Vein htacetf Provider must file a reguest for review and Director's designated
1/1/2011 (20) None None 30 days 12% interest provide documentation to both the Yes authority to specially trained Mediation or formal hearing
department and the insurer administrative staff
IF payor unreasonably withholds payment Cz;::;i?rn Only the designated fact Administrative review of submitted
Virginia None None None None pay! IR e e S ?ezs ! Yes Artich atesgn finders have the authority or information, mediation or a formal
P! e ¥ pmedEtion peer review hearing
The agency Medical Director
d Associate Medical = . < :
Interest would be due - i " & Administrative review of submitted
th 5 - L S 7
Washington 1 year No payment for the 60 days fin Untisual 658 it may Provider must file a request with the fact Vos Directors resolve some nfoistan: an Informal s e

hearing or a formal hearing
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WORKERS' COMPENSATION MEDICAL COSTCONTAINMENT: A NATIONALINVENTORY, 2013

Table 20 Medical Bill Filing, Payment, and Medical Dispute Resolution Regulations as of January 1, 2013

This table provides jurisdiction requirements on when providers must bill payors, when the payors must pay the provider, what repercussions exist for violations, and finally, how medical disputes are resclved in each of the jurisdictions.

Process Used to Resolve Medical Billing and Treatment
Timeframe Disputes
Timeframe within Repercussionfor  [from Receiptin| Penalty for Payor If . i .
Jurisdiction Which Provider Must | ProviderIf Billing Not | Which Payor Late Paymentor How is Penalty Assessed? Sabaate D for Medical Upse s::“e Ra:;:::;:;lc:?git:. t:ms Rrpcassastiser g:iikiz:lutlon gENEdlica)
Send Bill to Payor Sentwithin Timeframe| Must Pay the Unresponsive p'a Lig mfe“ areica i Other P P
7 Disputes Prior to Hearing for All
Provider At
Litigation
WC Agency using trained | Formal hearing. Legislative Rule Title 85 CSR,
West Virginia 180 days Reimbursement denied None None None Yes administrative staff orthe | Series 20; Legislative Rule Title 85 CSR, Serjes
judges 21
i A Only the designated fact Administrative review of submitted
Wisconsin None None 60 days No penalty None Yes finders have the authority e
Office of Administrative
Wyoming 60 days Payment may be denied 60 days None Provider to request a hearing No Yes Hearings or Medical Formal hearing
Commission Hearing

Notes:

1|Arizona - We have an ombudsman and an expedited hearing process. Director or claims manager can attempt resolution,

2|Delaware - Effective 5/23/08, Delaware adopted a Health Care Payment System (HCPS), which can be accessed at http://wwr.delawareworks.com, Treatment that falls within one of the 7 practice guidelines must first be disputed through the UR process and then can be
appealed by filing a petition. Treatment outside of the practice guidelines is denied and then disputed through the petition process.

3[Florida - The Department of Financial Services shall impose penalties for late payments or disallowances for denials of medical, hespital, pharmacy, or dental bills that are below a minimum 95% timely performance standard. The carrier shall pay to the workers' compensation
Administration Trust Fund a penalty of 1) Twenty-five dollars for each bill below the 95% timely performance standard, but meeting a 50% timely standard; or 2 Fifty dollars for each bill below a 90% timely performance standard.

4[Michigan - R 418.10130 - If the provider sends a properly submitted bill to a carrier and the carrier doas not respond within 30 days, and if a provider sends a second properly submitted bill and does not receive a response within 60 days from the date the provider supplied the
first properly submitted bill, then the provider may file an application with the agency for mediation or hearing. The provider shall send a completed form entitled “Application for Mediation and Hearing" to the agency and shall send a copy of this form to the carrier. If a carrler
adjusts or rejects a bill or a portion of the bill, then the carrier shall notify the provider within 30 days of the receipt of the bill of the reasons for adjusting or rejecting the bill or a portion of the bill and shall notify the provider of its right to provide additional information and to
request reconsideration of the carrier's action. The carrier shall set forth the specific reasons for adjusting or rejecting a bill or a portion of the bill and request specific information on a form, “Carrier's Explanation of Benefits,” prepared by the agency pursuant ta the
reimbursement section of these rules,

Nevada - Interest is due at a rate equal to the prime rate at the largest bank in Nevada, immediately preceding the date on which the payment was due plus 6% (NRS 616.136). There is also the possibility of am administrative fine.

New Hampshire - 30 days. No mention in law of when bill must be submitted, but medical report form must be sent within 10 days of first treatment.

New Hampshire - No reimbursement for services unless medical report sent within 10 days of first treatment. Hearing officer may waive this requirement.

New Hampshire - Up to $2,500 if not paid within 20 days of receipt of bill.

New Hampshire - Department assess fine.

-

North Carolina - The information set forth above does not reflect the impact of 04 NCAC 10J.0101 Fees for Medical Compensation, which 1s effective January 1, 2013,

= o] v| B 9| o wn

Ohio - The bill is forever barred per Ohio Administrative Code rule 4123-3-23, wiich sfates: ‘Fes bills requesting payment for medical or other services rendered in a claim shall be filed with the bureauy or commission within two years of the date on which the service was
rendered or shall be forever barred. In cases where the claim was disallowed and by later action is allowed, such fee bills shall be filed within six months from the date of the mailing of the final arder allowing the claim or be farever barred. Thus, a fee bill to be timely filed, must
be filed either within one year from the date services were rendered ar within six months from the date of the malling of the final order of allowance of claim, whichever period of time is longer, or be ferever barred.”

12|Ohio - Administrative code 4123-6-42(A) requires the "Payment will be made either thirty days after BWC, or its agent receives a proper invoice for the amount of payment due, or thirty days after the final adjudication allowing payment of an award ta the claimant, whichever
is later". 4123-6-42(B) requires BWC to pay the provider interest if payment is not timely made and the interest accrued is $10.00 or more. Ohio revised statute 126.30(E) specifies that "The interest charge shall be at the rate per calendar month that equals cne-twelfth of the
fate per annum prescribed by section 570347 of the Ohio revised code for the calendar year that includes the month for which the interest charge accrues.”

13|0regon -OAR 436-009-0010(5)(b) and (c): If the billing Provider can show good cause far submission, they may submit the bill. A bill rendered over twalve months after treatment is not payable withoLt mitigating circumstances, covered under OAR 436-009-00.

14|Oregon - OAR 436-009-0030(5); Failure to pay for medical services timely may render the insurer to pay a reasonable monthly service charge for the period payment was delayed, if the provider generally levies such a service charge to the general public.

15|Tennessee - The penalties within the MFS assessed by the department are relatecl to overpaymenis. A carrier may recover a payment to a provider, whether by an employee or a carrier, if the carrier requests the provider for the recovery of the payment, with a staternent of
reasons for the request, within one year of the date of payment. A provider may likewise recover additional payment from any carrier with a statement of reasons for the request, within one year of the date of service.

16|Texas - Interest is calculated as the treasury constant maturity rate for 1 year treasury bills published by the Federal Reserve Board plus 3.5% if payment is mace after the 60th day.

17|Texas - Division menitors and audits to detect non-compliance.

18(Texas - For medical fee disputes, agency staff reviews dispute and renders decision. For medical necessity disputes, independent review organizations (IROs) certified by the agency review the dispute and render a decision.

19|Texas - Independent review organizations (IROs) certified by the agency are used for resolving medical necessity disputes. Agency stalf decisions on medical fee disputes may be appealed to a contested case hearing at the agency or a hearing at the State Office of
Administrative Hearings depending on the amount of maney in dispute.

20|Vermont - 2011 responses. No 2013 data were provided.
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