
Spring is here and we are all so happy to see some rain!   

I recently attended the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) Mid-
Year Meeting in Albuquerque, NM. I participated in meetings concerning education 
issues, administration regulation, real estate best practices and the board of directors 
meeting. It was a very interesting and productive meeting.          

Effective July 1st, the Commission will be under the leadership of David Bonde who will 
be taking the gavel from Matt Krogman.  Ryan Wordeman will serve as vice-chair.  It’s 
been a pleasure working with Commissioner Krogman as chair and I look forward to 
working with the new leadership. 

For those of you requesting the licenses of new licensees, please be patient. It takes two 
to three weeks to process a license, even longer if the application is not completed or is 
missing required documents.  Once the license is issued, the new licensee will appear on 
the roster of active licensees on the Commission website.  

At the Spring Education Caravan, Judy Cook talked about the importance of belonging to a 
professional property management association for those individuals that are in the property 
management business. I cannot agree more and encourage all licensees to belong to a 
professional association in the area of real estate that is relevant to one’s practice. There are 
a number of Associations in South Dakota for real estate professionals, including the SD 
Association of REALTORS®, the SD Auctioneers Association and the SD Multi-Housing 
Association, just to name a few. There are also many national organizations that are 
geared toward the property management, home inspection and commercial real estate 
industries.  

The mission of the Real Estate Commission is to protect the interest in the public in a real 
estate transaction. We do this by establishing minimum standards for education, licensing 
and practice of the licensees under the Commission authority. 

A professional association goes far beyond regulatory minimums. They are at the 
forefront of industry trends, ethics, and lobbying, plus they offer opportunities for 
networking and industry-specific education.  

It is important for licensees to understand the difference between the SD Real Estate 
Commission and a professional association.  The Commission has authority over the 
state-issued license and the requirements necessary to obtain and maintain it. An 
association does not have any authority over the license, but has its own standards as a 
requirement for membership. 

The Commission appreciates its positive working relationship with the professional 
associations here in South Dakota as we strive to achieve our common goals. 
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The SDREC held a public hearing on May 13, 2015 and approved the proposed changes to 
the administrative rules. The purpose of these changes is primarily to change the 
postlicensing education required of new broker associates. 

The new administrative rules will still require that newly-licensed broker associates complete 
30 hours of postlicensing education in the first license cycle and 30 hours the second license 
cycle. However, instead of assigning specific topic areas, as currently required, the 60 hours 
will just need to be in any of the Required subject areas.  

The rules, as adopted by the Commission, still need to go before the Legislative Rules 
Review Committee, but should be provisionally effective by early July.  

It is important to note that for those licensees currently in either Postlicensing Period 1 or 
Postlicensing Period 2, any hours that have already been completed to meet the current 
postlicensing requirement WILL also count toward the new requirement.  

Other rules changes include clearer definitions of Required and Elective subject areas, the 
50-minute classroom clock hour and courses that do not qualify for continuing/postlicensing 
education. Questions regarding the rules changes can be directed to Karen Callahan, 
Education Director – Karen.callahan@state.sd.us.  

The following actions by the Commission have become effective since the last report in the 
newsletter. A Consent Agreement and Order is an admission of violation and voluntary 
acceptance of the terms determined by the Commission in lieu of a formal hearing. 

James Trucano, North Sioux City, Broker. Consent Agreement. Violation of 36-21A-
71(1), and 36-21A-52 for failure to register a new place of business or change of business 
location within ten days. Administrative fine of $100. 

In cases of disciplinary action by the Commission, the licensee involved is often required to 
complete extra education in specific areas relevant to the original complaint. When the 
Commission requires such education, the course(s) usually must be completed in a 
classroom setting. This education does not count toward the licensee’s continuing education 
requirement necessary for license renewal. 

It is absolutely imperative that a licensee who must complete education specific to an order by 
the Commission take steps immediately after the order is final to seek out these courses. 

Classroom courses such as agency, contracts, the responsible broker course, etc. may not 
be frequently available in every part of the state.  

The licensee is given several months to complete the education, but in many cases, waits 
until just before the education is due to even begin looking for courses! It is an 
understatement to say the Commission highly frowns upon this and any subsequent request 
to extend the deadline will likely not be granted. 

The completion of education and payment of a fine in connection with a disciplinary action 
taken by the Commission is a serious matter and not one that licensees should take lightly. 
Licensees can contact the SDREC office for assistance in finding the appropriate courses or 
check the SDREC website for the list of upcoming classroom courses.   

Failure to complete the requirements of an order by the Commission in a disciplinary matter 
can result in immediate suspension of the license until the conditions of the order are met. 

  

Commission Gives Final Approval to 
Administrative Rules 

Disciplinary Actions 

Disciplinary Education Reminders 
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New Licenses  
Broker Associate      
Anifinson, Bryan A – Brandon  Baylor, Clayton E – Crofton, NE 
Bekele, Hunegnaw – Sioux Falls  Boucher, Kayleigh – Watertown 
Brady, Carol A – Tea  Brown, Gregg A – Brandon 
Buehler, Cherlyne G – Sioux Falls  Buhler, Mary – Sioux Falls 
Canfield, Aaron – Sioux Falls  Dean, Laura – Hill City 
DePerno, Dean J – Sioux Falls  Dixon, Traci L – Brookings 
Ebeling, Douglas D – Sioux Falls  Ellis, Robyn T – Box Elder 
Erichsen, Jill A – Watertown  Goltz, Sky G – Harrisburg 
Greer, James K – Sioux Falls  Groeneweg, Mark A – Sioux Falls 
Hamiel, Kathryn J – Saint Lawrence  Hansen, Kief D – Rapid City 
Hart, Robert C – Windsor, CO  Herr, Megan H – Watertown 
Hill, Sara J – Rapid City  Jewett, Ryan O – Sioux Falls 
Johnston, Ginger – Belle Fourche  Kallevig, Grant – Beresford 
Kramer, Andrew D – Sioux Falls  Kudlock, Tim J – Spearfish 
Lawrence, Anne L – Sioux Falls  Maunders-Delight, Amber – Rapid City 
Meger, Alex – Sioux Falls  Mogen, Bonnie – Dell Rapids 
Nelson V, James S – Rapid City  Niedert, Trudy J – Milbank 
Orth, Shayne – Spearfish  Rehfeldt, Brad L – Sioux Falls 
Reigle, Nichole E – Aberdeen  Richards, Nicholas – Sioux Falls 
Rudland, Justin – Rapid City  Schumacher, Jason H – Sioux Falls 
Shirley, Michael – Sioux Falls  Stevens, Bradley A – Sioux Falls 
Stunes, Tyler J – Sioux Falls  Swingler, Kim – Brandon 
Theesen, Andrew – Sioux Falls  Tielke, Darla M – Yankton 
Van Ghent, Tera R – Rapid City  White, Landon, Rapid City 
 
Broker 
Bradsky, Ashley L – Rapid City  Forbes, Lynne K – Sioux Falls 
Kuper, Reed B – St. Ansgar, IA  Olafson, Stefan H – Grand Forks, ND 
Shuman, Scott H – Eaton, CO 
 
Salesperson 
Geary, Jason E – Sioux City, IA  Sears, Korley B – Tucson, AZ 
Tramp, Norman “Nick” N – Dixon, NE 
 
Residential Rental Agent 
Anderson, Michaela S – Spearfish  Daws, Megan M – Sioux Falls 
Doeden, Nicole E – Sioux Falls  Herl, Carri – Sioux Falls 
Kovash, Kristin L – Sioux Falls  Maeschen, Jessica L – Brandon 
Meyer, Erik A – Sioux Falls  Musch, Jessica – Lennox 
Osterloo, Alyssa R – Sioux Falls  Osterloo, Kari – Sioux Falls 
Tott, Holly P - Brandon 
 
Property Manager 
Buehler, Autumn – Rapid City  Johnson, Josh W – Sioux Falls 
Krentz, Peter J – Sioux Falls  Royer, Andrew V – Brookings 
Simonson, Jenny M – Rapid City  Snyder, Mandi M – Hendricks, MN 
 
Home Inspector 
Armendariz, Ray – Hermosa  Marbach, Joshua D – Sioux Falls 
Strohfus, Chad – Pierre 
 
Timeshare Agent 
Houchins, Todd D – Rapid City  Pace, Meghan R – Rapid City 
Vogel, Jacob S – Rapid City 
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Appraiser Update 
New Licensees – March/April 2015 
David Goldammer, State-Certified General – Minneapolis, MN 
Diedre L. Lange, State-Licensed – Ipswich, SD 
Roger F. Morrissey, State-Certified General – Omaha, NE 

Notice 
“New” Appraisal Experience Log Form In Service and 
Required Effective June 1, 2015 

Review of Cases – January 1 – May 12, 2015 
For the period January 1, 2015 through May 12, 2015, the Department has initiated two 
complaint investigation cases and one new applicant claiming experience case.   
  
Complaints – Two pending. 
New With Experience – Issued. 
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The Appraiser Certification Program has adopted and put into service a new Appraisal 
Experience Log form as of April 1, 2015. 

The Appraisal Experience Log form is utilized by the Appraiser Certification Program for 
verification of appraisal assignments and acceptable appraisal experience hours to 
ensure experience requirements have been met by appraisers seeking to upgrade to a 
higher appraiser classification or for new applicants claiming experience and applying for 
a certified or licensed appraiser classification. 

Beginning on or before June 1, 2015, appraisal experience must be documented using 
the new Appraisal Experience Log form found at the Appraiser Certification Program 
website:  http://dlr.sd.gov/appraisers/forms.  Instructions for completing the form are 
included in the file.  (Please note that this form is unavailable on the State of South 
Dakota On-line Forms.)  

Please note that you may submit the Appraisal Experience Log that you have completed 
using the “old” log form for experience claimed prior to June 1, 2015.  The Appraiser 
Certification Program will only accept the new Appraisal Experience Log form for 
assignments and experience hours claimed on or after June 1, 2015. 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Sherry Bren by telephone at 
605.773.4608 or by email at sherry.bren@state.sd.us 
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Bad Reviews - Lawsuits about appraisal reviews present new threats  
By Peter T. Christensen, general counsel, LIA administrators & Insurance Services 
(Re-printed with the permission of the Appraisal Institute) 

Finally, the frequency of negligence claims against appraisers for work performed at the 
height of the real estate bubble is winding down, but as this occurs, new areas of litigation 
are emerging and focusing on appraisal review.  One explanation for more lawsuits about 
reviews is the sheer volume of work being performed – more reviews are being 
performed now than ever before.  Another is that some review appraisers lack the 
necessary competency to perform the work and fail to understand their risk when 
performing reviews. 

http://dlr.sd.gov/bdcomm/realestate/default.aspx
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I’ve identified two types of claims that are most frequently made against appraisers 
performing review assignments: 

Loan Origination/Purchasing 

Lenders often rely on the accuracy of an appraisal to support a loan decision, but they 
may also rely on a review to assess the quality of that appraisal in making their decision.  
Therefore, appraisal reviewers – without ever having provided their own opinions of value 
– are essentially exposed to the same potential for liability to lenders as the appraisers 
who perform the appraisal being reviewed. 

I’ve seen cases where lenders that experienced losses on foreclosed properties filed suit 
against both the original appraiser and the review appraiser.  In one particular case, the 
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, as the receiver for a failed bank, sued both the 
original appraiser and the reviewer.  The original appraiser obtained a quick dismissal of 
the FDIC’s claim when he proved that the appraisal had been forged and was not his 
work.  In contrast, the reviewer had no viable defense for his review.  While it wasn’t his 
responsibility to spot the forgery, he certainly should have noticed that the forged 
appraisal applied adjustments to the comparables in reverse by negatively applying 
adjustments when they should have been positive and vice-versa.  His review was merely 
a rubberstamp and liability was sealed. 

In some cases, lenders may choose to sue only the reviewer because that’s the person 
with whom they have a direct relationship; a lender may not even have been named as a 
client on the appraisal.  In these cases, particularly if the lender and the reviewer have a 
contract that contains indemnification language, the lender simply will have an easier 
claim to make against the reviewer.  I’ve also seen cases where the lender may sue a 
single reviewer over a collection of allegedly flawed reviews rather than pursue individual 
claims against each of the appraisers. 

Because of the potential for liability, it is particularly important for review appraisers to 
detail the precise scope of work for the review so as to avoid responsibility for areas 
outside that scope.  Carefully describe any special assumptions or conditions that pertain 
to the review, and treat the assignment with the same care afforded regular appraisals. 

Defamation Claims 

Review appraisers are more susceptible to libel and slander claims (both are forms of 
defamation) than are appraisers who perform standard appraisal work.  With any type of 
review – whether the work is used in connection with loan origination, to support a 
mortgage repurchase or in litigation – there is the potential for the appraiser whose work is 
reviewed to be offended or injured by the content of a negative review.  In some 
situations, a negative review can result in the appraiser losing work, winding up on a 
“blacklist,” facing disciplinary action or being sued for professional negligence. 

I’ve received calls from appraisers who are facing such consequences as the result of a 
negative review and want to sue the review appraiser.  I’ve also received calls from 
reviewers who actually have been sued by an aggrieved appraiser.  In these situations, 
I’ve shared my honest assessment: an appraiser suing a review appraiser for defamation 
usually will lose and their claim will be dismissed well before it goes to trial (except in rare 
cases with special facts).  Defamation claims generally are difficult to win, and the 
professionals conducting the appraisal review are protected in most situations by strong 
legal privileges – and in most cases, the privileges do not depend on whether or not the 
review is accurate.  Of course, that hasn’t stopped defamation claims from being filed. 

Bad Reviews (cont.) 
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Bad Reviews (cont.) 
In 2009, the Montana Supreme Court decided one such case.  The landowners involved in 
separate takes by the Montana Department of Transportation hired the same experienced 
condemnation litigation appraiser.  An appraiser employed by the Montana DOT filed 
complaints with the Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers against the landowners’ 
appraiser regarding the appraisal work.  In one complaint, the state appraiser alleged that she 
had reviewed the appraisal and noted that “the deficiencies are readily apparent.”  In the other 
complaint, she stated that another state appraiser also had reviewed the appraisal and again 
noted that “the deficiencies are readily apparent.”  In both complaints she requested that the 
Board “determine whether or not [the appraiser] complied with (the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice), and if not, take appropriate [disciplinary] action.”  The state 
appraiser maintained that she filed the complaints in her “individual capacity,” not on behalf of 
the Montana DOT.  After two and a half years of delays and technical problems with its 
investigation, and upon the request of the condemnation litigation appraiser, the board 
dismissed the complaints without prejudice. 

The condemnation litigation appraiser filed suit against the state appraiser, alleging libel 
and slander.  In general, a libel claim concerns false written statements while a slander 
claim is directed at false oral statements; each is a separate form of defamation.  
Regardless of whether or not the state appraiser was right in her statements about 
“deficiencies” in the appraiser’s work, her successful defense was predictable because 
her statements to the board were privileged under a Montana law protecting statements 
made “in any legislative or judicial proceeding or in any other official proceeding 
authorized by law.”  This same kind of protection exists, either by statute or common law, 
in every state and generally serves to immunize persons from liability for statements 
made in reasonable connection with litigation or a government investigation.  Applying 
Montana’s version of the law, the trial court granted summary judgment against the 
defamation claims and the Montana Supreme Court upheld the judgment.  To reach this 
conclusion, neither court had to assess the veracity of the state appraiser’s statements 
regarding allegedly deficient appraisal work. 

Privileges and other protections also apply to appraisal review in other contexts.  For 
example, if an appraiser alleges that a falsely negative review prepared for a lender 
resulted in the appraiser’s loss of work for that lender and the appraiser sues the 
reviewer, the defamation claim likely will be defended based on what’s usually referred to 
as the “common interest” privilege.  While laws vary by state, the common interest 
privilege as applied to an appraisal review generally protects erroneous statements in a 
review that are made in good faith to a client  or to another person having a legitimate 
interest in the subject of the appraisal review.  However, unlike the immunity described in 
the Montana case, the common interest privilege usually is “qualified,” which means the 
protection can be lost if the reviewer provided the review or made false statements with 
malice, which, depending on the case and state, can mean actual ill will and/or disregard 
for the truth. 

I’ve seen exceptional cases where a review appraiser has lost protection of the common 
interest privilege, but those instances are rare and involve extreme facts.  Such instances 
include a reviewer creating a negative review to harm a competitor or seeking revenge 
against an appraiser in cases where there’s a personal dispute.  For fair-minded review 
appraisers, however, these problems will not exist.  The best way to minimize the risk of a 
defamation claim is to stick to the assignment and simply review the appraisal.  Do not 
state conclusions about the appraisal under review for which you have not provided 
analytical or factual support in your report.  Limit commentary to legitimate aspects of 
appraisal review and avoid providing a review or sharing your assessments with anyone 
other than the client or other person who have a genuine need for the review (and who 
are authorized by the client). 
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Communication of Preliminary  
Assignment Results 
 (North Carolina Appraisal Board Appraisereport – September 2014) 

Appraisers often ask Board staff whether they can transmit all or part of an appraisal 
report before they have finished the assignment.  Some appraisers term these as “draft” 
reports, while others consider it as simply part of their ongoing scope of work discussion 
with their client.  Usually, these drafts or preliminary reports are not signed or stamped.  
Some appraisers believe that USPAP, state laws, and Board rules do not apply to such 
an assignment.  In most instances, this is not the case. 

State law defines an appraisal as “an analysis, opinion, or conclusion as to the value of 
identified real estate or specified interests therein performed for compensation or other 
valuable consideration.”  An appraisal report is defined as any communication, written or 
oral, of an appraisal.  Once you transmit an analysis, opinion or conclusion of a value to 
your client, you have transmitted an appraisal report and must comply with Standard 2 of 
USPAP.  It does not matter if the value is considered to be preliminary or final. 

Once an appraiser places a value on a piece of identified real estate, it is an appraisal.  
Some appraisers believe that if they do not sign the transmittal of this value to a client, it 
is not an appraisal and they cannot be held accountable for it.  This is untrue.  In fact, 
USPAP requires that appraisers attach and sign a certification, and Appraisal Board rules 
require that an appraiser sign an appraisal report, so transmitting an unsigned report or a 
report without a certification is a violation of USPAP and Board rules. 

Some appraisers have asked if they can place a watermark with the word “draft” on each 
page of the report when sending preliminary assignment results to a client.  The 
Comment to Standards Rule 2-2 states in part that an appraiser may use any other label 
in addition to, but not in place of, the label for the type of report provided.  Using the word 
“draft” as a watermark is not prohibited by USPAP, state law or Board rules.  It does not, 
however, relieve the appraiser of responsibility for complying with USPAP, state law and 
Board rules. 

If you are transmitting part of your analysis that does not include a value opinion, it is not 
considered an appraisal report.  For example, your client may want to see your property 
description to make sure it is accurate.  Another client may want to see your conclusion 
as to highest and best use.  As long as what you send does not include a value for the 
property, you do not have to comply with Standard 2. 

There is nothing in USPAP, state law, or Board rules that prohibits an appraiser from 
sending preliminary assignment results to a client.  When doing so, however, the report 
must comply with Standards 1 and 2 of USPAP in all respects.  The appraiser must 
attach a signed certification and must sign the report.  Copies of any such information 
sent to the client must remain in the workfile, even after the final appraisal is sent to the 
client. 


