
Spring is definitely in the air and the Spring Caravan is just around the corner.  Be sure to 
register and note the locations. National property management expert Judy Cook will be 
the Spring Education Caravan speaker. Judy’s presentation, “Property Management: 
Tips, Tricks, Tools, and Torts” will provide interesting insight into today’s world of property 
management. Please try to fit this seminar into your schedule.  

After a little more than nine years of faithfully serving the citizens of South Dakota as a 
commission member, Paula Lewis’s appointment expires on April 11, 2015. We will all 
miss Paula’s wisdom, dedication and years of experience. Paula was presented with a 
plaque at our March 17 meeting.  

In April, I will be attending the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) 
Mid-Year Meeting where I will talk to other state regulatory agencies about topics such as 
fair housing, exam accreditation, education issues and more.  

I want to give a thank you to the staff and members of the South Dakota Association of 
REALTORS® for the invitation to the Chili/Oyster Stew Feed. It sure was good!  

I wish you all a successful spring. 
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Friday, April 3 – SDREC office closes at noon for Easter holiday 

Wednesday, May 13 – Commission Meeting, Pierre (tentative)  
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Judy Cook is an author and instructor of pre-licensing and 
continuing education courses for Property Managers and 
Community Managers. She is actively licensed in Nevada as a 
Broker and Property Management Permit Holder, with more 
than 25 years’ hands-on experience managing both 
commercial and residential properties. 

Judy began teaching property management classes in the 
early 1990s, and is well-respected as one of the industry’s 
leading providers of timely and useful information. Judy’s 
career is marked by her efforts to enhance the professionalism 
of the property management industry. 

Judy is an expert in standards and practice of property management — including 
residential, commercial and common-interest communities. She has a profound 
knowledge of property management law, fair housing law, and trends in landlord-tenant 
law. She also has a unique understanding of the practical side of the property 
management business through her many years as a practitioner and through her 
constant interactions with property managers all across the U.S. 

Presenter:  Judy Cook 
 
Topic:   Property Management: Tips, Tricks, Tools and Torts! 
 
CE Approval  6 hours Required 
 
Postlicensing: 3 hours Postlicensing 1/Ethics and  

3 hours Postlicensing 1/Fiduciary Duties 
(NO Postlicensing Period 2) 
 

Dates/Locations – Registration begins at 8:15 a.m.; Class time 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.  
Thursday, April 23 – Sioux Falls Ramkota Washington Room 
Friday, April 24 – Sioux Falls Ramkota Annex 
Tuesday, May 5 – Rapid City Rushmore Plaza Civic Center Alpine Rm. 
Wednesday, May 6 – Pierre Ramkota 
Thursday, May 7 – Aberdeen Ramkota 
 
This course is a real-world overview of the business of residential property management, 
with topics ranging from business-building to contract negotiations, and avoiding some of 
the most common legal pitfalls. After attending this course, the participant will be able to 
employ common-sense risk management tactics in his/her day-to-day activities, while 
building a successful (and profitable!) portfolio of management properties and clients.  
 
Some highlights include: 
 
• A sampling of some popular (and helpful!) property management agreement and lease 
agreement terms and conditions 
• An overview of key laws and regulations impacting the property management business 
• A discussion of disciplinary actions and legal cases against property managers, and an 
exploration of ways in which the disputes and/or violations might have been avoided 
 
Registration Fee:  $60 online or  POSTMARKED NO LATER than Wednesday, April 15;  
$70 after April 15 and on-site (The Commission will retain $10 of any refunded registration.)   
 
Registration information has been mailed to all real estate offices.  Online registration is 
available on the SDREC website until April 15.  
 

  

Spring Education Caravan Presenter – Judy Cook 

Register NOW for the Spring Caravan 

http://dlr.sd.gov/bdcomm/realestate/default.aspx
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Disciplinary Actions 
The following actions by the Commission have become effective since the last report in 
the newsletter. A Consent Agreement and Order is an admission of violation and 
voluntary acceptance of the terms determined by the Commission in lieu of a formal 
hearing. 

Danielle Merrow, Sioux Falls, Broker. Consent Agreement. Violation of 36-21A-
71(1),(22),(30),&(32), SDCL 36-21A-130, SDCL 36-21A-136(1)&(2), and ARSD 
20:69:16:01 for failure to provide client with the Consumer Guide, failing to have the client 
sign a Buyer Agency Agreement and for failing to protect the interests of the client by not 
understanding that lender approval was required in a short sale transaction. 
Administrative fine of $1500 and completion of six hours in Agency, six hours in Contracts 
and six hours of License Law. 

Citations/Consent Agreements. The Commission established the Citation Program to 
diminish the number of license law violations, decrease time required to bring licensees 
into compliance and to recover costs involved when action is required. 

The following individuals and/or firms have been issued citations. Each licensee/company 
has agreed to a Consent Agreement. Each Consent Agreement will include no less than 
a $100.00 penalty and a specified time to comply with the requirement.  

Performing real estate brokerage activity beyond the month in which a license 
lapses for non-payment of renewal fees, and/or not filing/completing the required 
continuing education (SDCL 36-21A-61, 36-21A-62, 36-21A-64): 

Mark Reese, BA, Spearfish   Todd McPherson, BA, Rapid City 
Bryan Hanson, BA, Pierre   Daniel Tribby, BA, Rapid City 
Donna Kubik, Broker Assoc., Chamberlain  Caleb Svartoien, BA, Brookings 
Matthew Swartwout, BA, Sioux Falls   Betsy Hughes, BA, Vermillion 
Jana Bye, BA, Vermillion   Lynn Arnold, BA, Rapid City 
Carmen Kuchenbecker, BA, Rapid City   Bradly Olson, BA, Lennox 
Tyler McGregor, BA, Salem   Michael Robbins, Home Inspector, Aurora 
Sarah Flemmer, BA, Brandon   Troy Engstrom, BA, Watertown 
Thomas Simmons, Broker, Sioux Falls   Stuart Thill, BA, Sioux Falls 
Bill Conkling, Broker, Yankton   Lance O’Farrell, BA, Watertown 
Fern Sanders, BA, Aberdeen   Tom Bozied, BA, Brookings 
Shannon (Shay) Matkins, BA, Rapid City 

Failure to maintain errors and omissions insurance or to provide proper notification to 
the commission of errors and omissions insurance (SDCL 36-21A-119, ARSD 
20:69:15:02, 20:69:15:06, 20:69:15:07): 

Pam Williams, BA, Watertown   Greg Woolridge, BA, Rapid City 
Brenda Thompson, BA, Madison   Matthew Kirk, Broker, Spearfish 
Sally Solum, BA, Tea   Alicia Hocke, BA, Rapid City 
Tracie Ambur, BA, Sioux Falls   Margue Fenner, BA, Sioux Falls 
Sandy McConnell, BA, Sioux Falls   Halli Holden, BA, Pierre 
Daniel Todd, Broker, Pierre   Johnny Hanson, Broker, Sioux Falls 
Stephanie Zomermaand, BA, Sioux Falls  Tara Allen, BA, Sioux Falls 
Teri Able, BA, Sioux Falls   Eric Fenicle, BA, Sioux Falls 
Bryan Mulder, Broker, Sioux Falls   Corey DeVille, BA, Sioux Falls 
Marissa Jondahl, BA, Aberdeen   Jessica Olson, BA, Rapid City 
Michael O’Dea, BA, Sturgis   Dallerie Davis, Broker, Rapid City 
Melissa Cuke, BA, Yankton   Deb Even, Property Manager, Sioux Falls 
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Question: I hold a license in another state and took some classroom education in 
that state. Can I use the hours for my continuing education requirements for my South 
Dakota license? 

Answer: It depends – if the course was approved for continuing education in another 
state, then YES, the hours will count!  

ARSD 20:69:11:09. Approval of out-of-state courses. If a South Dakota licensee 
enrolls in a continuing education course approved by another state’s real estate 
regulatory agency, that course may be used to meet postlicensing or continuing 
education requirements in South Dakota. 

Proof of the other state’s approval and course completion are required before the 
credits are accepted by the commission. 

This applies only to classroom courses. The course content must also meet the 
content standards and length requirements outlined in administrative rule. 

Application for approval of the out-of-state course must be made to the commission 
within 60 days after the course date. 

Out of State Education Approval Q&A 

New Licenses  
Broker Associate      
Baum-Fjestad, Kate – Sturgis  Bechtel, Calli E – Rapid City 
Dike, Justin W – Rapid City  Erickson, Parker G – Vermillion 
Fisher, Marlys M – Sioux Falls  Hoium, Doreen J – Watertown 
Klein, Kiley K – Herrick  Lewis, Irina S – Rapid City 
McCarthy, Crain A – Sioux Falls  Miksik, Radim – Yankton 
Nelson, Bailey, Audra L – Spearfish  Neopaney, Chhabi Lal L – Sioux Falls 
Noess, Loren R – Mitchell  Ronke, Todd J – Watertown 
Silvers, Samantha E – Rapid City  Sneeden, Jericho R – Watertown 
Weyh, Joshua P - Watertown 
 
Broker 
Cronen, Catherine R – Moorhead, MN McDonald, Gregory S – Sioux Falls 
Mulligan, Paul B – Omaha, NE  Olsen, Ryan O – Rapid City 
Stultz, Christine R – Sergeant Bluff, IA Usasz, Michele L – Ericson, NE 
Weinzetl, Michelle M – Annandale, MN 
 
Salesperson 
Steffes, Max – Fargo, ND 
 
Residential Rental Agent 
Adams, Zach – Sioux Falls  Knutson, Lori L – Spearfish 
Thoreson, Kathryn A – Sioux Falls 
 
Property Manager 
Klundt, Brenda J – Lead  McGregor, Sheri A – Sioux Falls 
 
Home Inspector 
Bradshaw, Michael – Sioux Falls  Kobernusz, Joshua L – Sioux Falls 
Mobley, Frank A – Pierre  Tobin, Wade P - Spearfish 
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Appraiser Update 
New Licensees – January/February 2015 
Joseph W. Hammond, State-Registered – Gillette, WY 
Elizabeth R. Johnson, State-Certified Residential – MN 
Carl R. Clavel, State-Certified General - CO 

Vacancy – Appraiser Certification Program 
Advisory Council 

Review of Cases – January 1 – March 5, 2015 
For the period January 1, 2015 through March 5, 2015, the Department has initiated one 
complaint investigation case and one new applicant claiming experience case. 
  
Complaints – one pending. 
New with Experience – one pending. 

South Dakota Real 
Estate Commission 
Melissa Miller  
Executive Director 
221 W. Capitol Ave.,  
Suite 101 
Pierre, SD 57501 
Phone: 605.773.3600 
Fax: 605.773.4356 
  

South Dakota Appraiser 
Certification Program 
Sherry Bren 
Executive Director 
308 S. Pierre St. 
Pierre SD 57501 
Phone: 605.773.4608 
Fax: 605.773.5405 

The Department of Labor and Regulation, Appraiser Certification Program is seeking 
nominations for the position of State-Certified Residential Appraiser. 

The Advisory Council is responsible for advising the Department Secretary in matters of 
program administration, procedure., and policy in order to sustain a program that is 
consistent with Title XI, Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act 
(FIRREA) of 1989 administered by the Appraisal Subcommittee and the uniform 
standards and qualifications criteria as set by the Appraisal Standards Board and the 
Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation.  The council members do not 
receive compensation for attending meetings or for any travel expenses incurred to serve 
on the council.  Four meetings are held each year in Pierre.   The term is four years. 

If you are interested in nominating yourself or another appraiser for appointment to the 
Advisory Council, please submit your nomination in writing to the Department of Labor 
and Regulation, Appraiser Certification Program, 308 S. Pierre Street, Pierre, SD 57501. 

The nomination should include the appraiser’s name, address, appraiser title and the 
reason that you believe you or the person you have nominated should be appointed to 
the Advisory Council.  Any person nominated for this position should possess substantial 
knowledge regarding appraising, a reasonable understanding of Title XI of FIRREA and 
its impact on the appraiser profession, and be highly respected by other appraiser 
professionals. 

Please submit nominations to the Department no later than May 1, 2015.  If you 
have any questions, please feel free to contact Sherry Bren at 605.773.4608. 
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Experience 
Question: I currently have two unlicensed trainees who have been working for me for a number 
of years.  I have not required them to obtain a Trainee Appraiser credential, even though they 
have taken all of the required courses.  After the new Criteria is implemented on January 1, 
2015, will they be required to obtain a Trainee Appraiser credential in order to continue to obtain 
experience credits toward the Certified General credential? 

Response: No. The Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) does not require an individual to 
possess a Trainee Appraiser credential in order to obtain experience credit.  However, because 
individual states may implement criteria more stringent than the AQB, it is important to check 
with your state appraiser regulatory agency. 

Question: Is there any requirement within the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria that 
would prohibit an appraiser from counting commercial experience toward obtaining a Certified 
Residential credential? 

Response: No. The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria issued by the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board (AQB) does not specify that the experience hours required for the Certified 
Residential credential must all be obtained in the appraisal of 1-4 unit residential properties.  As 
a result, experience obtained in the appraisal of non-residential (including 5+ unit residential) 
properties for use toward a Certified Residential credential is not prohibited by the AQB. 

However, as with all AQB Criteria, states may establish requirements that are greater than, or 
more restrictive than, what the AQB requires.  As a result, you will need to confirm with your 
state appraiser regulatory agency whether they have such a requirement. 

Supervisory Appraiser Eligibility 
Question: I am a state-certified appraiser and am considering supervising a Trainee Appraiser. I 
was recently suspended from the HUD appraisal roster but have not been sanctioned by my state 
appraiser regulatory agency.  Am I considered to be “in good standing” under the Real Property 
Appraiser Qualification Criteria, and therefore eligible to supervise a Trainee Appraiser? 

Response: Yes.  The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria specifies Supervisory 
Appraisers shall not have been subject to any disciplinary action within any jurisdiction within the 
last three (3) years that affects the Supervisory Appraiser’s legal eligibility to engage in appraisal 
practice.  Although HUD has suspended you from their approved panel, this action does not, in 
and of itself, affect your legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice in your credentialing 
jurisdiction.  However, be sure to check with your state appraiser regulatory agency to confirm 
the state’s requirements which could be more restrictive. 

Education 
Question: I see that the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria requires that all Qualifying 
Education be taken within five (5) years of obtaining a Trainee Appraiser credential.  I am 
applying for a Certified Residential credential.  Does this requirement apply to me? 

Response: No. The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria only requires that applicants 
for a Trainee Appraiser credential complete their education within five (5) years of application.  
This requirement does not apply to those individuals applying for a Licensed Residential, 
Certified Residential or Certified General credential. 

However, be sure to check with your state appraiser regulatory agency to confirm the state’s 
requirements, which could be more restrictive. 

[The reader is advised that in all cases, the above responses are based upon the minimum criteria 
adopted by the AQB.  Individual states can adopt more stringent requirements.  Please check with 
the state appraiser regulatory agency in your state to confirm their specific requirements.] 

The AQB Q&A is posted on The Appraisal Foundation website (www.appraisalfoundation.org) 

Appraiser Qualifications Board Q&A Vol. 6, No. 2 – 
December 2014 
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Enforcement Perspective 
(Reprinted from ‘The California Appraiser’ Fall 2014 Edition with Permission of 
the Bureau Chief, James S. Martin) 

2006 Called – the Departure Rule Boilerplate is Missing 

As a senior investigator for the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers, in the midst of reading 
an appraisal report with an effective date of 2010, I noticed the appraiser reported the 
Cost Approach and Income Approach were not developed in compliance with the 
Departure Rule.  I have to admit that I am a self-proclaimed Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) junky and was fully aware the Departure Rule 
was retired from USPAP as of July 2006.  Nonetheless, appraisers are required to take a 
seven-hour USPAP course every two years, so I have to believe that, even if the 
appraiser had barely stayed awake for the USPAP update, they would have been aware 
of this retired rule. 

Despite the fact that the reporting of this rule was antiquated, you may be asking 
yourself why this was an issue.  It’s probably just a case of some old “boilerplate 
addendum” language the appraiser forgot to take out of the report.  In this case, the 
issue was that this language was in direct violation of the 2010 edition of USPAP 
Standard Rules 1-4 and 2-2(a, b and c) (viii).  Standard Rule 1-4 requires that in 
developing a real property appraisal, an appraiser must collect, verify, and analyze all 
information necessary for credible assignment results.  Whereas, Standard Rules 2-2 
(a, b and c) each require an explanation for why the Sales Comparison, Cost, and 
Income Approaches have been excluded.  Two Standard Rule violations all because 
an appraiser forgot to clean up the boilerplate language! 

You may be thinking that would never happen to you because, although not a card-
carrying member of the USPAP junky club, you know your way around the standards.  
You sign up for your seven-hour update every November of the odd year just to ensure 
that your boilerplate language has been updated to reflect the new version of USPAP.  
You’re golden, right?  Wrong! 

Many residential fee appraisers in particular, and often general appraisers, who work 
in the same geographic areas, tend to rely on nonspecific boilerplate.  The problem 
often arises when assignment-specific language is added to the report that is in direct 
contradiction to the boilerplate language already in the template or cloned report. 

Examples exist everywhere, but some of my favorites from residential reports are 
references to Home Valuation Code of Conduct (HVCC) after 2010 (it was retired) 
and the Appraisal Independence Requirements (AIRs) within the same report.  
Another one of my favorites is when the appraiser develops an Income Approach for a 
two- to four-unit assignment but includes a reconciliation boilerplate addendum 
statement similar to:  “The Income Approach does not apply because the market 
segment is primarily owner occupied.”  Really?  You just reported four comparable 
sales that were tenant occupied. 

And let’s not forget the ever-present market conditions boilerplate found in the 
narrative style report that has varying references to real estate booms and crashes.  
The appraiser leaves the reader with a dated reference to the catastrophic decline in 
property values as a result of the recent economic crash.  In the meantime, the 
appraiser has completed a market analysis documenting an increase in the market 
and applies the appropriate appreciation adjustment to the comparable sales.  The 
same studious appraiser summarizes the support used for the upward market 
adjustments.  
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Legal Corner 
(Reprinted from ‘The California Appraiser’ Fall 2014 Edition with Permission of the 
Bureau Chief, James S. Martin) 

In litigation, it’s called a “battle of the experts.”  One side’s hired witness says something 
and the other side’s says the opposite.  In some cases, the witness is a licensed 
appraiser acting in that role. 

While the attorney is ethically required to zealously advocate on behalf of the client, a 
witness acting as a licensed appraiser is ethically forbidden from doing so.  Can these 
cross purposes be reconciled?  They must be. 

Appraisers in this situation should remember a few things:  (a) The Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) apply; (2) neither the attorney nor the evidence 
code has authority to exempt you from USPAP; and (3) you “must not advocate the cause 
or interest of any party or issue[.]” 

The appraiser considering litigation work should carefully consider USPAP standards that 
potentially apply, in addition to the duty to refrain from advocacy, including the 
Jurisdictional Exception Rule, rules regarding drafts, rules regarding intended use and 
user, as well as all Advisory Opinions and frequently asked questions illustrating them.  
Following is a general outline. 

California statute and BREA regulations provide that USPAP applies, whether the work is 
for a federally related transaction or not. 

USPAP’s paramount purpose is instructive.  The purpose is promote public trust – 
accomplished by communicating analyses, opinions, and conclusions in a manner that is 
meaningful and not misleading.  Moreover, an appraiser must perform assignments with 
“impartiality, objectivity, and independence.”  These are the overarching standards. 

The Jurisdictional Exception Rule has many valid uses.  Litigation is not one of them.  
Appraisers do not have to comply with the Evidence Code – the attorney does.  And 
though an attorney may have an expansive view of their powers, waiving USPAP rules 
isn’t one of them. 

Rules regarding drafts may be relevant.  Don’t let the attorney use your “draft” in a 
manner that is misleading.  Clearly identify drafts as such. 

Misidentification of the intended use or user may also lead to USPAP violations.  You are 
obligated to know whether the attorney is going to use your work as a sword or shield in 
battle. 

In short, don’t let the client’s cause become yours.  You’re a better, more credible witness 
(and can charge more money), when your opinions are based on thorough analysis and 
sound reasoning. 

What is the reader of the report to believe?  How does the reader know which of these 
statements is accurate?  Since the 2004 edition of USPAP, the Preamble has established 
USPAP’s purpose as promoting and maintaining a high level of public trust in appraisal 
practice.  It goes on to say, in part, that it is essential appraisers develop and 
communicate to the user in a manner that is meaningful and not misleading. 

Boilerplate that is not assignment-specific is not meaningful, and when combined with 
contradictory language, is misleading.  How is the public to trust that? 

Read your report from the perspective of the specific assignment, intended use, and 
intended user.  Then have yourself a belly laugh at the absurd, contradictory, and 
sometimes significantly obsolete language as you correct the report PRIOR to submitting 
it to your client – or worse yet, prior to it being submitted to BREA. 


