Meeting Minutes South Dakota Real Estate Commission

Telephonic Meeting May 10th, 2017 9:00 a.m. CDT

Chairman Ryan Wordeman called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. A quorum was participating.

Members Participating: Ryan Wordeman

David Bonde Mark Wahlstrom Ken Cotton Matt Krogman

Members Absent:

Others Participating: Melissa Miller, Executive Director, SDREC

Brian Jackson, Compliance Officer, SDREC Michelle Metzinger, Compliance Officer, SDREC

Stephanie Howard, Licensing Program Administrator, SDREC Graham Oey, Staff Attorney, South Dakota Department of Labor

and Regulation

Wordeman asked for a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Cotton made a motion to approve the agenda. Wahlstrom seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Mark Wahlstrom requested that a correction be made to the March 23rd minutes on page three in regards to whom seconded his motion for complaint 2017-096.

Wahlstrom made a motion to approve the March 23rd, 2017 meeting minutes with the correction. Bonde seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Summary of the financials for March and April 2017 was presented by Director Miller. Krogman made a motion to approve financial reports. Cotton seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Discussion was held regarding the consent agreements. The agreements were mailed to the respondents for their review and acceptance or rejection. The approval is for respondents who had accepted the agreement by signing and returning them to the Executive Director. Wahlstrom made a motion to approve the consent agreement 2017-102. Cotton seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Wahlstrom motion to table consent agreement 2017-100. Krogman seconded the motion. . Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Discussion was held regarding pending application. Bonde made a motion to table application until next commission meeting. Krogman seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Michelle Metzinger, Compliance Officer with the SDREC, entered the meeting at 10:00 a.m.

Complaint 2017-002: Hofer vs Reginald Kleinsasser/The Real Estate Connection, Huron, SD and Adam Rathjen/Rathjen Home Inspections, Huron, SD.

Bonde made a motion to dismiss consent agreement 2017-002 with Rathjen. Cotton seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Complaint 2017-007: Harlan vs David Shelton/Century 21 Advantage, Sioux Falls, SD.

Bonde made a motion to table complaint 2017-007 until the next Commission meeting. Krogman seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Complaint 2017-008: Beebe vs Craig Fields/Hegg Realtors, Sioux Falls, SD and James Rezac/Hegg Realtors, Sioux Falls, SD.

Cotton made a motion to dismiss consent agreement 2017-008 with Rezac. Second by Krogman. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Discussion was held regarding the complaint review process and use of an investigative committee. It was decided that Graham Oey would make accepted changes to the complaint process.

Wahlstrom made a motion to approve these changes. Bonde seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Law 36-21A-79 was present by Melissa Miller Executive Director to be added to the Citation Program.

Cotton made a motion to approve this addition. Krogman seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Under team discussion the commission discussed HB 1078 which had been offered during the 2017 South Dakota Legislative session. Advertisement and team leader issues were the main topics.

Bonde made a motion for Ken Cotton to replace Ryan Wordeman as Chairman. Krogman seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

Krogman made a motion for Mark Wahlstrom to replace Ken Cotton as Vice Chairman. Bonde seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

The commission and committee recognizes and appreciates the wonderful job Ryan Wordeman served as Chairman of the Commission.

Director Miller informed the Commission of the ARELLO Investigator Workshop meeting (October 17-19) / Annual Conference (September 20 – 24).

Wahlstrom made a motion to approve these meetings. Krogman seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.

The next meeting will be scheduled for July 12th, 2017.

Bonde made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:00 a.m. Wahlstrom seconded the motion. Wordeman called the roll. **MOTION PASSED** by unanimous vote.