CHAPTER 20:69:03

LICENSING AND LICENSES
Section
20:69:03:01 Application for license by examination.
20:69:03:02 Proof of education to accompany application.
20:69:03:02.01 Proof of passing score to accompany application.
20:69:03:03 Repealed.
20:69:03:04 Authority to take examination.
20:69:03:04.01 Registering for examination.
20:69:03:05 Failure to appear for examination.
20:69:03:06 Administration of examination.
20:69:03:06.01 Testing service.
20:69:03:07 Passing score on licensing examination.
20:69:03:08 Cheating on examination.
20:69:03:09 Reinstatement of licensees discharged from armed forces.
20:69:03:10 Application fee -- Brokers and salespersons.
20:69:03:11 Repealed.
20:69:03:12 Application fee -- Firm license.
20:69:03:12.01 Registration fee -- Broker or associate licensee business corporation or limited
liability company.
20:69:03:13 Biennial renewal fee -- Broker.
20:69:03:14 Biennial renewal fee -- Salesperson.

20:69:03:15 Biennial renewal fee -- Firm.



20:69:03:16 Office management.

20:69:03:17 Commission split -- Out-of-state.

20:69:03:18 Transferred.

20:69:03:19 Advance compensation.

20:69:03:20 Replacement of license -- License displayed Repealed.

20:69:03:21 Reciprocal agreements.

20:69:03:22 Nonresident licensee as applicant -- Certificate of licensure required.
20:69:03:22.01 Nonresident licensee -- Renewal of license on active status -- Certificate of
licensure required.

20:69:03:23 Supervising broker to be licensed in South Dakota.

20:69:03:24 South Dakota resident licensed as salesperson by examination in another state --
Requirements for obtaining a broker associate license in South Dakota.

20:69:03:25 Nonresident salesperson licensed in South Dakota -- Time to qualify for broker
associate upon establishing residency in state.

20:69:03:26 Fees -- Certification of licensure, additional license, duplicate license, and
transfer of license.

20:69:03:27 Late renewal fee.

20:69:03:20. Replacement of license -- License displayed.-H-a-license-is-lost;

duphicate-issued-by-the-commission Repealed.



Source: 1 SDR 33, effective January 1, 1975; 10 SDR 54, effective December 5, 1983; 12
SDR 102, effective December 22, 1985; 12 SDR 151, 12 SDR 155, effective July 1, 1986; 15 SDR
100, effective January 10, 1989; 18 SDR 101, effective December 17, 1991; transferred from

§ 20:56:12:20, 20 SDR 18, effective August 16, 1993; 35 SDR 305, effective July 1, 2009.

20:69:03:26. Fees -- Certification of licensure, additional license, duplicate license, and
transfer of license. Fees include the following:

(1) For each certification of licensure, $15;

(2) For each additional license, a biennial fee of $30;

(3) For each license included in a statement of registration to change an office or place of

business, $15; and

(4) For each license included in a statement of registration to change association with a

responsible broker, $15:-and
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Source: 34 SDR 323, effective July 3, 2008.

General Authority: SDCL 36-21A-60.


https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=36-21A-89
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=36-21A-51
https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=36-21A-52

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-21A-60.

CHAPTER 20:69:06

REAL ESTATE AUCTIONEER LICENSES

Section

20:69:06:01  Transferred.

20:69:06:01.01 Definitions.

20:69:06:02  Auctioneers -- License required.

20:69:06:03  Qualifications-ofapphicants Repealed.

20:69:06:04  Duties of auctioneer.

20:69:06:05 Listings to be in writing.

20:69:06:06  Auction advertisements.

20:69:06:07  Auction sale procedure.

20:69:06:07.01 Auction with reserve sale procedure.

20:69:06:07.02 Absolute auction sale procedure.

20:69:06:07.03 Secured party or lien holder not prohibited from bidding at an absolute auction --
Conditions.

20:69:06:07.04 Internet auction sale procedure.

20:69:06:08  Auctioneer to maintain records.

20:69:06:09  Certain acts prohibited.

20:69:06:10  Rules applicable to real estate brokers, broker associates, and salespersons.



20:69:06:03. Qualifications of applicants. Ar-appheantfora—real-estate—auetioneers

on-the-principles-and practices-of real-estate Repealed.

Source: 1 SDR 33, effective January 1, 1975; 2 SDR 7, effective July 30, 1975, and omitted
as a temporary rule; readopted and transferred from 8§ 20:56:12:08, 20 SDR 18, effective August
16, 1993; 23 SDR 110, effective January 9, 1997; 29 SDR 48, effective October 10, 2002; 35 SDR

305, effective July 1, 2009.

20:69:06:09. Certain acts prohibited. Prohibited acts include the following:

(1) Knowingly receiving or using a rafter bid, puffing of a bid, or any type of bid rigging

such as utilizing the services of a shill; or



https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=36-21A

3} Knowingly misleading or creating a false impression among the seller, buyer, or bidders

in the advertising, conduct, and closing of an auction.

Source: 5 SDR 12, effective August 14, 1978; 12 SDR 151, 12 SDR 155, effective July 1,

1986; 15 SDR 100, effective January 10, 1989; transferred from § 20:56:12:24, 20 SDR 18,

effective August 16, 1993; 37 SDR 112, effective December 8, 2010.

General Authority: SDCL 36-21A-89(7).

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-21A-136-21A-6-36-21A-27-36-21A-47, 36-21A-68, 36-

21A-71, 36-21A-72.

Section

20:69:13:01

20:69:13:02

20:69:13:03

20:69:13:04

20:69:13:05

20:69:13:06

20:69:13:07

20:69:13:08

20:69:13:09

CHAPTER 20:69:13

TIME-SHARE AGENTS

Definition of time-share agent.

Time-share agents -- License required.

OPC exempt from licensing.

Persons and organizations exempt from licensing or examination.
Application.

Application fee.

Repealed.

Grounds for denial of license.

Examination.
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20:69:13:10  Authorization to take examination.
20:69:13:11  Repealed.

20:69:13:12  Administration of examination.

20:69:13:13  Cheating on examination.

20:69:13:14  Results of examination.

20:69:13:14.01 Rights to passing score.

20:69:13:15  Biennial renewal fee.

20:69:13:16  Cancellation of license upon failure to pay fee.
20:69:13:17  Replacement-of license-and-change-of-address Repealed.
20:69:13:18 Trust account requirements.

20:69:13:19  Office requirements.

20:69:13:20  Auditing.

20:69:13:21  Real estate law applicable.

20:69:13:22  Supervising agent.

20:69:13:17. Replacement of license and change of address. H-an-eriginal-Hicense-or

§20:69:03:26 Repealed.



Source: 10 SDR 68, effective January 1, 1984; 12 SDR 102, effective December 22, 1985;
12 SDR 151, 12 SDR 155, effective July 1, 1986; 18 SDR 101, effective December 17, 1991,

transferred from § 20:56:21:19, August 16, 1993; 34 SDR 323, effective July 3, 2008.

20:69:12:01. Definitions. Ferms As used in this chapter mean:

(1) "Agent" or "time-share agent," means a Hmited-Hieensee time-share agent licensed by

the commission under ehapter20:56:21 SDCL 36-21A-47,

(2) "Commission," means the South Dakota Real Estate Commission;

(3) "Developer," means a person in the business of creating a time-share project or in the

business of selling its own time-share in a project;

(4) "Facility,” means a structure, service, or property, whether improved or unimproved,

made available to the a purchaser of a time-share plan or time-share unit for reereational-secial;

family—erpersonal non-commercial use;

(5) "Invitee," means an individual who is contacted and invited or encouraged to attend a

time-share sales presentation;


https://sdlegislature.gov/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=36-21A-60
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(6) "Material change,” means a change efcireumstance that would-make-the makes any

information provided in the disclosure statement misleading to-purchasers or that affects the

rights and obligations ef-apurchaserora-prospective-purchaser-of associated with a time-share

plan or time-share unit

(7) "Multiple location time-share plan,” means a time-share plan that includes time-share

units located both in this state and in another state or country;

(8) "Outside public contact" or "OPC," means an individual who contacts invitees but

does-hot-engage neither engages in the sale of time-share interests erperferm nor performs any

other activity dore-by-an-agent on behalf of a registrant;

——10) "Registrant,” means a developer-agent-orplan-manager person who is required to

file with the commission;



1) (10) "Responsible managing employee” or "RME," means the individual employed
by a registrant who is responsible for the direet management of the registrant's time-share units

unit or time-share plans plan;

2y (11) "State," means the state of South Dakota;

£3) (12) "Supplementary disclosure statement,” means an amended disclosure statement

filed when there has been a material change-in-the-information-provided-in-the-original-disclosure

statement;

4y (13) "Time-share operation,” means a business ereperation which, for compensation,
solicits or encourages others to attend a time-share sales presentation or to contract with an agent
or developer; creates a time-share plan; sells time-share units; sells or offers to sell an interest in
a time-share plan for a developer; or undertakes the duties, responsibilities, and obligations of

managing a time-share plan;

5) (14) "Time-share unit," means the time interval for right to use or occupy;

Source: 10 SDR 68, effective January 1, 1984; 10 SDR 121, amended May 17, 1984,
retroactively effective January 1, 1984; 12 SDR 102, effective December 22, 1985; 12 SDR 151,
12 SDR 155, effective July 1, 1986; transferred from 8§ 20:56:20:01, August 16, 1993.

General Authority: SDCL 36-21A-89, 43-15B-6.

Law Implemented: SDCL 36-21A-47, 43-15B-1, 43-15B-3, 43-15B-6.

Cross-Reference: Limited time-sharing licenses, ch 20:69:13.
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