When reporting to New Hire, be sure to use the same FEIN number that you used when reporting your quarterly wages per SDCL 61-1-3.

What are the penalties for noncompliance?

All employers are required to report on a timely basis. Any employer who intentionally fails to comply with any duties imposed by the new hire law commits a petty offense. This may result in a monetary penalty of \$25 for each violation. The penalty may go as high as \$500 per newly hired employee if it is found a conspiracy existed between the employer and the employee to avoid reporting.

A strong partnership between employers in South Dakota and DSS child support programs ensures compliance. The real beneficiaries are the children whose lives are made more secure because parents are paying child support through wage withholding.

The New Hire Reporting Program, together with wage withholding, has resulted in increased support for children. During fiscal year 2016, an estimated \$8.7 million was collected in child support in South Dakota. Your cooperation makes a difference and is appreciated at all levels.

> If your business has a change of address or phone number, contact the New Hire Reporting Center immediately.



NEW HIRE REPORTING

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation

New Hire Reporting Center P.O. Box 4700 Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

Tel: 605.626.2942 | Fax: 605.626.2842

For TTY services, call 711

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. State and federal laws require the Department of Labor and Regulation to provide services to all qualified persons without regard to race, color, creed, religion, age, sex, ancestry, political affiliation or belief, national origin, or disability.

Five thousand copies printed by the South Dakota Department of Regulation at a cost of \$0.04 per copy



Report all employees who are newly hired, rehired or who return to work after a separation of 30 days or more. There are no exceptions. Rehires, including teachers, must be submitted with most recent date of hire.

Where do employers who employ people in more than one state report?

Employees should be reported to the state in which they work. Employers who have employees in more than one state may select one of the following options to report:

- 1. Report new hires to the various states in which they are working.
- 2. Select **one** state where employees are working and report all new hires to the chosen state's New Hire Reporting Center.

Employers choosing option 2 must contact the South Dakota New Hire Reporting Center to register as a multi-state employer using singlestate notification. These employers are required to report electronically using the online e-form.

For more information on the New Hire Reporting Center visit dlr.sd.gov, click on the "Workforce Services for Businesses" button, and then select the "New Hire Reporting" button.



Employers are not required to contact the New Hire Reporting Center when work has ended.



When should employers report?

Reports are due within 20 days of hire or rehire per SDCL 25-7A-3.3.

When I submit my quarterly wage reports, isn't that information given to New Hire?

No. New Hire gathers additional information that is not submitted on your quarterly reports.

Is this information only used in SD?

Information is forwarded from each State Directory of New Hires to the National Directory of New Hires, where it is matched with child support information. By conducting this match at the national level, the Division of Child Support (DCS) is able to assist states in locating parents who are living in other states. It is estimated more than 30 percent of child support cases involve parents who do not live in the same state as their children.

Who has access to this information?

New Hire Reporting Center information is strictly confidential. Access is only allowed to:

- South Dakota Department of Social Services (DSS), for child support enforcement, as well as preventing unlawful or erroneous receipt of public assistance payments.
- Department of Labor and Regulation (DLR), to verify reemployment assistance benefits are being paid only to workers who remain unemployed.
- Department of Education (DOE), to collect defaulted loans and grant overpayments.

dlr.sd.gov

The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 and South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) 25-7A-3.3 require employers to report new employees.

New Hire reports are mainly used to match against child support orders but also aid in preventing fraudulent or unnecessary benefit assistance claims.

Who must report?

- Private businesses
- Public businesses
- Seasonal businesses
- Non-profit agencies
- Government agencies

All employers must report new hires.

What must be reported?

- Employee Social Security Number
- Employee Name
- Employee Address
- Employee Date of Hire (day first performed services for pay)
- Employer Federal ID Number
- Employer Name
- Employer Address

Who must be reported?

- Full-time employees
- Part-time employees
- Temporary employees
- Seasonal employees
- Adults and minors
- Day labor
- Family members

EMPLOYER REPORTING

Online



To report online, visit dlr.sd.gov

- Click on the "Workforce Services for Businesses" button,
- Click on the "New Hire Reporting" button.
- Click on "How to Report" in the blue left hand menu.
- After registering and logging on, you have two options for reporting:
 - Online Form
 - File Transfer (direct upload)

Call

Tel: 605.626.2942 | **Toll-Free**: 888.827.6078 For TTY services, call 711

Fax

Tel: 605.626.2842 | Toll-Free: 888.835.8659

Mail

The form is available at dlr.sd.gov/ra/new_hire_reporting/forms.aspx. Print, complete and mail the form to:

New Hire Reporting Center
SD Department of Labor and Regulation
P.O. Box 4700
Aberdeen, SD 57402-4700

A copy of the federal W-4 Form may be mailed to the New Hire reporting center. Be sure to include the employer's name and FEIN. The information must be legible.

Tel: 605.626.2942 Toll-Free: 888.827.6078 TTY services: 711 Fax: 888.835.8659 Toll-Free

SOUTH DAKOTA
DEPT. OF LABOI
& REGULATION
South Dakota New Hire Reporting Center
P.O. Box 4700
Aberdeen, SD 57402-4700



NEW HIRE

NEW HIRE REPORTING

Employers Guide to South Dakota New Hire Reporting Law

dlr.sd.gov



DIVISION OF CHILD SUPPORT

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program USDOL Funded

Rev. 02/2023