Unemployment Insurance (UI) Advisory Council Meeting Minutes February 12, 2013 Kneip Building, Conference Room #3 700 Governors Drive Pierre, SD

Members Present Pam Roberts, Chair Robert Anderson Paul Aylward Tim Fitzgerald Carol Hinderaker Don Kattke Shawn Lyons David Owen Others Present Mark Anderson Donna Leslie Deb Mortenson Dawn Dovre Pauline Heier Julie Albano Monica Harding Amber Mulder Dan Thielsen Lisa Johnson Sharon Schnabel Dawn Williams Greg Johnson Gary Krause Michele Birch

Chairwoman Roberts called the meeting to order, and roll call was taken by Julie Albano. All members were present.

Shawn Lyons MOVED to approve the August 28, 2012, and September 19, 2012, minutes. Rob Anderson SECONDED. Motion carried.

Pauline Heier presented the HB 1055 UI Integrity provisions passed during the 2013 legislative session which included establishment of a monetary penalty on fraudulent claims, 50 percent on the first offense and 100 percent on all subsequent offenses; removal of the one year limitation period for enforcing administrative fraud penalties; and the prohibiting of non-charging due to failure of an employer or it's agent to respond timely and adequately to an agency request. The bill passed and has been signed by Governor Daugaard.

Pauline Heier gave a presentation, and discussion was held by the Council on the current financial status of the State UI Trust Fund and the UI projections for 2013.

Chairwoman Roberts reviewed the items for Council consideration in 2013. The list included monitoring and discussion of the State UI Trust Fund balance and revisiting the issue of surcharges.

Paul Aylward MOVED to adjourn the meeting. Robert Anderson SECONDED. Motion carried.