Unemployment Insurance (UI) Advisory Council Meeting Minutes January 7, 2015 Kneip Building, Conference Room #3 700 Governors Drive Pierre, SD

Members Present
Marcia Hultman, Chair
Robert Anderson
Tim Fitzgerald
Carol Hinderaker
Shawn Lyons
David Owen

Members Absent Shannon Stucker Don Kattke Others Present
Mark Anderson
Dawn Dovre
Morgan Ness
Sharon Schnabel
Scott Geffre
Pauline Heier
Julie Albano
Mary Grode
Dan Thielsen
Bob Mercer
Melisa Forest

Greg Johnson Steve Almeida

Chairwoman Hultman called the meeting to order, and roll call was taken by Julie Albano. A quorum was present.

Shawn Lyons MOVED to approve the October 29, 2014 minutes. Robert Anderson SECONDED. **Motion carried**.

Pauline Heier gave an update of the current financial status of the state UI Trust Fund. She also updated the council on the impact of HB1045, which revised the unemployment insurance contribution rate structure effective January 1, 2015.

Pauline Heier gave a presentation and discussion was held by the council on the short-time compensation program and on common paymasters.

The council discussed the mixed support for a short-time compensation program in South Dakota. The Council discussed holding further action pending expressed interest from employer community. Shawn Lyons MOVED to table discussion on the short-time compensation program. Carol Hinderaker SECONDED. **Motion carried** on roll call vote 5-0-1.

Due to lack of expressed support for this concept, the Council suggested a formal invitation to proponents of common paymasters be offered to gather additional information on the topic. Robert Anderson MOVED to table discussion on common paymasters. Shawn Lyons SECONDED. **Motion carried** on roll call vote 5-0-1.

Shawn Lyons MOVED to adjourn the meeting. Robert Anderson SECONDED.