
SDPC Homeowner Plumbing Installation Certification Request Form  Rev.  03/2025 

SOUTH DAKOTA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND REGULATION 

SOUTH DAKOTA STATE PLUMBING COMMISSION 
217 West Missouri Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501 

Tel: 605.773.3429       Fax: 605.773.5405      email: sdplumbing@state.sd.us 

HOMEOWNER PLUMBING INSTALLATION CERTIFICATE APPLICATION 
Instructions: 

• Form will open in Adobe Acrobat to complete, print, sign, and mail. Changes made in your internet browser will
not save. You can also print the form, print legibly, and mail to the address above.

• A separate completed application must be submitted for each residential dwelling.
• A fee of $75 (check or money order) must accompany each application.

o (Permit Cost: $5, Inspection Fee Cost: $70)
• All fees are non-refundable.
• If approved, the Plumbing Commission will send a copy of the installation certificate to you along with a

Homeowner Packet which will give you instructions on Inspection Requirements.

Name of Owner:  

Mailing Address: 
   Street  City   State      Zip code 

Email Address:  Cell Phone: 

Home Phone:  Work Phone:  

Project Information (Including Directions): 

Address:  

City:   County: 

Directions: 

Description of plumbing project: 

1. Are you the owner of the property or farmstead where this plumbing installation is being done?       Yes       No
2. A. Current Residence:       Yes       No  B. New Construction I intend to occupy as my residence:       Yes       No
3. A. Primary dwelling: B. Secondary dwelling:
4. Are you personally installing the plumbing and fixtures?       Yes       No
5. Rent: A. Collecting Rent:      Yes      No B. Previously collected rent:      Yes      No C. Intend to collect rent:     Yes     No

Acknowledgment: I declare and affirm under the penalties of perjury that this claim (petition, application, information) has been examined by      
me, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, is in all things true and correct. I understand that I must personally perform the plumbing installation 
in compliance with SDCL 36-25-17 and may not allow my plumbing permit to be used by any other person. If it is determined I have not done the 
work myself or are completing this installation with the intention of selling when complete, my installation certificate will be voided. I promise to 
abide by all the laws and rules of the State of South Dakota governing these practices. 

Signature of Owner:    Date: 

For office use only:     PERMIT NUMBER: E xp. Date: Approved: Denied:

6. Is this residence for sale?       Yes  No  Are you doing this work to prepare your residence for sale?       Yes        No

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/36-25-17
mailto:SDPlumbing@state.sd.us
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