South Dakota Department of Labor & Regulation 123 W. Missouri Ave. Pierre, SD 57501 dlr.sd.gov

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2020

Media Contact: Dawn Dovre, 605-773-3094

Afdahl Named to FDIC Advisory Committee of State Regulators

PIERRE, S.D. – The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) has announced the selection of 15 members for its recently established Advisory Committee of State Regulators. This includes South Dakota Banking Director Bret Afdahl.

The FDIC Board of Directors approved the formation of the new Advisory Committee on Nov. 19, 2019, as another mechanism for state regulators and the FDIC to discuss a variety of current and emerging issues having potential implications for the regulation and supervision of state-chartered financial institutions.

"I commend FDIC Chair Jelena McWilliams for creating the Advisory Committee of State Regulators to continue to enhance the close working relationship between the states and the FDIC," said Afdahl.

The Advisory Committee is intended to facilitate regular discussion of safety and soundness and consumer protection issues, the creation of new banks, the protection of the nation's financial system from risks such as cyber-attacks or money laundering, and other timely issues.

"I fully intend to use this forum to continue discussions and to search for solutions to the challenges of small, rural communities maintaining full access to local banking services," said Afdahl. "Anything we can do to keep community banks in our small communities will benefit the citizens of South Dakota and our country."

Members include regulators of state-chartered financial institutions from across the United States as well as other individuals with expertise in the regulation of state-chartered financial institutions.

The new members of the Advisory Committee are:

- Bret Afdahl, Director, Division of Banking, State of South Dakota
- Kevin R. Allard, Superintendent, Division of Financial Institutions, State of Ohio
- Charles G. Cooper, Commissioner, Department of Banking, State of Texas
- Thomas C. Fite, Director, Department of Financial Institutions, State of Indiana
- Mary L. Gallagher, Commissioner of Banks, Commonwealth of Massachusetts
- Greg Gonzales, Commissioner, Department of Financial Institutions, State of Tennessee
- Ray Grace, Commissioner of Banks, State of North Carolina
- Kevin B. Hagler, Commissioner, Department of Banking and Finance, State of Georgia
- Melanie G. Hall, Commissioner, Division of Banking and Financial Institutions, State of Montana
- Dawn E. Holstein, Commissioner of Banking, Division of Financial Institutions, State of West Virginia
- Lise Kruse, Commissioner, Department of Financial Institutions, State of North Dakota
- Edward Leary, Commissioner, Department of Financial Institutions, State of Utah
- John Ryan, President and Chief Executive Officer, Conference of State Bank Supervisors
- Antonio P. Salazar, Commissioner, Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation, State of Maryland
- Mick Thompson, Commissioner, Banking Department, State of Oklahoma

For more information, please visit the <u>Advisory Committee of State Regulators</u> webpage.