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South Dakota minimum wage to increase on July 24 
 

PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota’s minimum wage will increase to $7.25 an hour on July 
24.  Overtime pay at a rate of not less than one and one-half times an employee’s 
regular rate of pay is required after 40 hours of work in a workweek. 
 
SB 207, which passed during the 2007 legislative session, required an increased state 
minimum wage in 70-cent increments over three years.  It rose to $5.85 on July 24, 
2007, and to $6.55 on July 24, 2008.  Those adjustments mirrored increases in the 
federal minimum wage enacted under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938.   
 
FLSA establishes minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping, and youth employment 
standards affecting full-time and part-time workers in the private sector and in federal, 
state and local governments. 
 
The South Dakota Department of Labor is informing employers of the minimum wage 
increase.  For more information, contact the Labor and Management Division at 605-
773-3682 or visit the federal website at http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/index.htm . 
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