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South Dakota minimum wage to increase on July 24 

 
PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota’s minimum wage will increase on July 24.  Covered 
nonexempt workers are entitled to a minimum wage of not less than $6.55 per hour.  
Overtime pay at a rate of not less than one and one-half times their regular rate of pay 
is required after 40 hours of work in a workweek. 
 
Governor Mike Rounds introduced legislation to raise the state minimum wage for the 
first time in 10 years during the 2007 South Dakota Legislative Session.  This bill 
passed and will increase the state minimum wage in 70 cent increments over three 
years.  It rose to $5.85 on July 24, 2007, and will increase to $6.55 in 2008 and $7.25 in 
2009.  “The minimum wage increase continues to stimulate our economy and help low-
wage workers,” said Governor Rounds.  These steps mirror increases in the federal 
minimum wage enacted under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938.   
 
The FLSA establishes minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping, and youth 
employment standards affecting full-time and part-time workers in the private sector and 
in federal, state and local government. 
 
The South Dakota Department of Labor is informing employers of the minimum wage 
increase.  For more information, contact the Labor and Management Division at (605) 
773-3682 or visit the federal website at www.dol.gov/esa. 
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