Meeting Minutes ELECTRICAL COMMISSION

500 East Capital Ave. Pierre July 24, 2018 at 8:30 A.M. CDT

President Sean Lyons called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. JJ Linn, Executive Director called the roll. A quorum was present.

Members Present: Robert Cronin, John Hoffman, Sean Lyons, Duane Mergen, and Dave Eide. Members via phone: Doug Fuerst and Russ Vanderwerff

Others Present: JJ Linn – Executive Director, Diana Peterson – Office Secretary

Others Present via phone: Graham Oey

President Lyons welcomed Dave Eide to the Commission.

The January 18, 2018 Commission minutes were presented. President Lyons declared the minutes correct as presented as no comments were received from members.

Inspectors report:

• Director Linn reviewed the April 25 - 26, 2018 Inspector meeting minutes.

Old Business: None

New Business:

- President Lyons announced nominations are now in order for the office of President.
 Commissioner Mergen nominated Sean Lyons; Seconded by Cronin. President Lyons
 requested additional nominations. Hearing none President Lyons declared Sean Lyons
 elected to the position of President by acclamation. President Lyons announced
 nominations are now in order for the office of Secretary/Treasurer. Commissioner Mergen
 nominated John Hoffman; Seconded by Lyons. President Lyons requested additional
 nominations. Seeing none President Lyons declared John Hoffman elected to the position of
 Secretary/Treasurer by acclamation.
- Director Linn reviewed the allotted inspections per fee model put in place on 5/1/18 for all outstanding permits. Mergen made a motion to approve the allotted inspections per fee model as presented. Fuerst seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken. MOTION PASSED. (Lyons-yea; Cronin-yea; Fuerst-yea; Hoffman-yea; Mergen-yea; Vanderwerff-yea; Eide-yea)
- Director Linn proposed potential fee structures for consideration. The Members discussed
 potential increases in fees and change in structure. Eide made a motion to table proposed
 changes until the January meeting to allow for an analysis of revenue taking into account the
 allotted inspection per fee model. Mergen seconded the motion. MOTION PASSED. (Lyonsyea; Cronin-yea; Fuerst-yea; Hoffman-yea; Mergen-yea; Vanderwerff-yea; Eide-yea)

• President Lyons reviewed the Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest Policy provided by the State Board of Internal Controls.

Reports:

• The reports for January 2018 through June 2018 were reviewed.

Code Committee Report: No pending items at this time.

President's report: No pending items at this time.

Director's report:

- Director Linn updated the members on the status of an installation in Yankton. The status has been reopened pending a payment. The members recommended the Director proceed with assistance from Oey regarding the matter.
- Director Linn updated the members regarding a meeting with South Dakota Rural Electric Association in Pierre on Feb. 5th to discuss disconnect orders and other Commission topics.
- Director Linn noted the Commission is in the process of creating a utility contact list.
- Director Linn informed the Commission as to an email provided by Oey regarding licensure reciprocity laws to be considered in future military basing.
- Director Linn informed the Commission on a Deadwood installation with an unlisted piece of equipment.
- Director Linn informed the Commission on a Keystone installation with unlisted equipment.

Future Meeting Dates

- August 17, 2018 NERA
- October 18, 2018 Commission Meeting Conference Call If needed.
- Mergen made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:00 a.m. Cronin seconded the motion.
 MOTION PASSED. (Lyons-yea; Cronin-yea; Fuerst-yea; Hoffman-yea; Mergen-yea; Vanderwerff-yea; Eide-yea)

Prepared by JJ Linn, Executive Director