Meeting Minutes SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRICAL COMMISSION

308 S Pierre Street, Pierre July 13, 2017 8:30 a.m. CDT

President Sean Lyons called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. via conference call. JJ Linn, Executive Director called the roll. A quorum was present.

Members Present: Robert Cronin, Doug Fuerst, John Hoffman, Sean Lyons, Tim McIntyre, Duane Mergen, and Russ Vanderwerff.

Members Absent: None.

Others Present: JJ Linn – Executive Director, Diana Peterson – Office Secretary, Graham Oye – DLR Attorney.

President Lyons introduced Doug Fuerst to the Commission as a new member.

The May 4, 2017 Commission minutes were presented. President Lyons declared the minutes correct as presented as no comments were received from members.

Inspectors report:

 Director Linn noted there has not been an Inspector meeting since the May 4 Commission meeting. Districts have been reallocated as one temp inspector has been placed on temporary leave due to decrease in demand and a West river inspector has resigned.

Old Business: None

New Business:

- President Lyons announced nominations are now in order for the office of President.
 Commissioner Cronin nominated Sean Lyons; Seconded by Hoffman. President Lyons
 requested additional nominations. Hearing none President Lyons declared Sean Lyons
 elected to the position of President by acclamation. President Lyons announced nominations
 are now in order for the office of Secretary/Treasurer. Commissioner McIntrye nominated
 John Hoffman; Seconded by Mergen. President Lyons requested additional nominations.
 Seeing none President Lyons declared John Hoffman elected to the position of
 Secretary/Treasurer by acclamation.
- The reports for April 2017 through June 2017 were reviewed. President Lyons noted presentation of the reports. No comments were received from members.

Code Committee Report: No pending items at this time.

President's report: Nothing at this time.

Director's report:

 Director Linn updated the members on a pending installation in Yankton. Currently the status of the matter is closed.

- Director Linn reported on the letter that was sent to cities, counties, utilities and interested parties regarding the rules changes on carnivals and celebrations.
- Director Linn informed the Commission that the South Dakota Science and Technology Authority have designated a piece of equipment as machinery.
- A discussion was held in regards to disconnect orders.

Upcoming meeting dates:

September 17-20, 2017 – IAEI Western Section Meeting – Kearney, NE October 19, 2017 – Commission meeting – Conference Call

 McIntrye made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:15 p.m. Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Tim McIntyre, Commission Secretary