
Electrical Commission – Apprentice License Application   Rev 11/2023 

SOUTH DAKOTA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND REGULATION 

SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRICAL COMMISSION 
217 W Missouri, Pierre, SD 57501 | Tel: 605.773.3573 | Fax: 605.773.6213   

 

APPRENTICE LICENSE APPLICATION 
 
INSTRUCTIONS 
This application must be filled out electronically or legibly printed in ink. Failure to answer all questions and submit a complete 
application will cause the application to expire after 30 days. If your application expires, you will need to reapply and submit another 
application fee. All licenses expire on June 30 of the even-numbered years. The application process takes approximately 30 days and 
costs $20.  
 
Complete ALL contact information (all fields are required unless otherwise indicated) 

First Name:   Last Name:   Address:    

City:   State:   Zip Code:   Phone:   

Email (required):   Employer:   

Social Security Number:   

Optional: Business Cell:  Business Phone:   Business numbers are public information 

Do you prefer to receive correspondence by (please check one box):         Mail or         Email 

   (Renewal forms, tidbits, and other commission distributions will be sent via email only.) 
 

Have you ever been issued an electrical license from another State?        Yes         No From SD?        Yes         No 

If yes, State:   Type:   License#:   In force from   to    

Have you ever had a license denied or revoked?        Yes         No   If yes, please state the reason below: 

  

         Yes          No  Have you ever been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a crime of violence as defined under SDCL 
§22-1-2?  If yes, explain on a separate sheet giving the date, place, and full particulars; attach as part of this application unless 
already on file. 
 
By my signature below, I do solemnly swear the statements made herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and 
belief.  I also certify that I understand:  

• If this application is not signed and dated or includes required fees, the application will be returned to me. 
• My SSN may be provided to the Department of Social Services for use in administering Title IV-D of the Social Security Act. 
• Application and license fees are not pro-rated and are non-refundable  

 
Application Submission:  

1. Print the signed application. 
2. MAIL your application to 217 W Missouri, Pierre, SD 57501 or  Fax: 605.773.6213 

 
Payment Methods: 

• $20 check or money order payable to the South Dakota Electrical Commission.  
• To pay by credit card, please call the office at 605.773.3573. For your security, we are no longer accepting credit 

payments via email. 
 
 
Signature:   Date:   

http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=22-1-2
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