SOUTH DAKOTA COSMETOLOGY COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

October 29, 2010

Call Meeting to Order

The special meeting of the Cosmetology Commission was called to order by President Nora Slykhuis at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, October 29, 2010 at Black Hills Beauty College-Rapid City, 623 St. Joseph Street, Rapid City, South Dakota.

1. Roll Call

Attendance was taken by Secretary-Treasurer Pat Clark, with the following members present: Pat Clark, Ila Davis, Kory McKay, Lois Porch, and Nora Slykhuis. Staff present: Kate Boyd, Executive Director and Holly Love, Secretary.

2. Tour Black Hills Beauty College Classrooms & Observe Students. The Commission toured the cosmetology program at Black Hills Beauty College-Rapid City and met briefly with school representatives.

The meeting was recessed at 10:05 a.m.

The meeting reconvened at 10:30 a.m. at Headlines Academy, Inc., 333 Omaha Street, Suites 6 & 7, Rapid City, South Dakota.

3. Tour Headlines Academy, Inc. Classrooms & Observe Students. The Commission toured the cosmetology program at Headlines Academy, Inc. and met briefly with school representatives.

The meeting recessed at 11:30 a.m. and reconvened at 2:00 p.m. at Desaree & Company School of Beauty, 1117 Main Street Suite C, Sturgis, South Dakota.

4. Tour Desaree & Company School of Beauty Classrooms & Observe Students. The Commission toured the cosmetology program at Desaree & Company School of Beauty and met briefly with school representatives.

Note: At all three school locations, The Commission informed the school representatives of the following:

- The Esthetics students should present themselves with more professionalism when they come to Pierre for their State Boards exams, both in terms of their attire, hair, and makeup.
- Schools were encouraged to incorporate suicide prevention into training for their staff members.

Adjournment

There being no further business, IT WAS MOVED BY LOIS PORCH, SECONDED BY KORY MCKAY, TO ADJOURN. THE MOTION PREVAILED ON A VOICE VOTE.

The meeting adjourned at 3:05 p.m.		
Respectfully submitted by:		
Kate Boyd, Recording Secretary	and	Pat Clark, Secretary-Treasurer