
 DLR COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE AND EXAMINATION APPLICATION   07/2025 

SOUTH DAKOTA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND REGULATION 

SOUTH DAKOTA COSMETOLOGY COMMISSION 
217 W. Missouri Ave, Pierre, SD 57501 

Tel: 605.773.6193 | cosmetology@state.sd.gov | cosmetology.sd.gov 

INSTRUCTOR LICENSE AND EXAMINATION APPLICATION 

Check license applying for:       Cosmetology Instructor        Esthetics Instructor  Nail Tech. Instructor 
Have you had an instructor license in South Dakota before?  Yes        No 

Please print all information if you do not fill out online 
PERSONAL INFORMATION 

Name:   Tel: 

Address:  
STREET   CITY  STATE      ZIP 

SD (Cosmetologist, Esthetician, or Nail Technician) License Number: 

*Social Security Number (if no SD license Number):  Birth Date: 

Have you ever been convicted of a felony or any state or federal crime?         Yes   No    If “yes” explain on a separate 
sheet giving date, place and full details and attach as part of this application. Additionally, send the Commission a 
certified copy of your court records detailing the charges and sentencing for your conviction. 

12-CLOCK HOURS NEW INSTRUCTOR COURSE
Must be completed before being issued a Conditional Instructor License (attach copy(s) of certificate)

Name of course(s):  

Company(s) providing the course: 

SOUTH DAKOTA INSTRUCTOR STATE LAWS/RULES TEST   
Must take and pass before being issued an Instructor License. Once the Commission has received your completed 
application and payment, you will be sent instructions to complete the SD Instructor Laws & Rules Examination. 

NIC INSTRUCTOR THEORY EXAMINATION 
The NIC Instructor Theory examination can be taken online or at an authorized testing center. Once the Commission has 
received your completed application and payment, you will be sent instructions to register for the NIC Instructor Theory 
Examination. 

APPLICANT STATEMENT 
I hereby make application for an instructor license to teach in a South Dakota cosmetology school. I declare and affirm 
under the penalties of perjury that this application has been examined by me, and to the best of my knowledge and belief 
if, in all things, true and correct. 

If granted an instructor license, I promise to abide by all the laws of the state of South Dakota governing instructors and 
cosmetology in South Dakota.  

Applicant Signature:  Date: 

Mail your completed application and $165 fee ($45 license fee and $120 exam fee) to the above address. 
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