
Work Stations
•	 Cleanliness should be practiced at the 

salon and all workstations must be clean 
and free of dust and debris.  

•	 Disposable files must be new and 
unused for each client.  

•	 Disposable tools, such as orange sticks, 
sponges, white block, etc. must be 
thrown away after use in a covered trash 
container.  

•	 Multi-use tools, such as metal tools, 
must be cleaned, properly disinfected 
and stored in a clean container ready for 
the next client.

•	 A clean towel should be used for each 
client.  

•	 Disinfectant should be on every table 
and used by the licensed technician 
throughout the service.

•	 Adequate ventilation.  
An over-whelming 
smell of acrylic nails 
or remover is a sign 
of inadequate 
ventilation.  

Products containing liquid methyl 
methacrylate monomers (MMA) cannot 
be used in South Dakota.  

How can you tell if it is being used?  

1.	 a powerful and unusually sweet odor.

2.	 hard and difficult to file acrylic nails. 

3.	 acrylic nails that will not soak off in 
solvents designed to remove acrylics.

Licenses 
•	 All nail services must be performed in a 

state-licensed salon with state-licensed 
practitioners.  

•	 Practitioners must post their original 
licenses at their work stations.  No 
photocopies.

•	 Unlicensed activity is against South 
Dakota Law and should be reported to 
the Cosmetology Commission.

•	 Cutting calluses, ingrown toenails, 
and skin is not allowed.  Blades or callus 
shavers cannot be used.

•	 Electric files are legal, but cannot be used 
on skin.  The drill bits of the electrical file 
should be CLEAN and free of 
debris and dirt.  The bits must be 
stored in a closed, 
clean container.

If you do not see a license 
posted in the salon, 

discontinue your services. 

Other  Services

Everything must be clean, including your hands or feet and the licensee’s hands.

•	 Waxing. Nail technicians cannot perform 
waxing services in South Dakota. Waxing 
services can only be done by licensed 
cosmetologists and estheticians.

•	 Services should not be done if 
there is an infection (fungus, mold), 
communicable disease (athlete’s foot, 
eczema) or other unhealthy condition 
present. 

•	 If an accidental cut should occur, the 
technician must follow the blood spill 
procedure in their first aid kit.

Pedicures
Before services:

•	 You should not shave your legs at least 
24 hours before the pedicure.  Do not 
have a pedicure if you have open sores or 
cuts on your legs.

•	 All pedicure equipment must be clean 
and disinfected – including basins and 
bowls.  

•	 Inform the technician if you are diabetic, 
have a peripheral vascular disease or are 
taking any blood-thinning medication.  

•	 Before a whirlpool footbath, ask if the 
screen was removed, cleaned and 
disinfected within the last 24 hours.  A 
disinfectant should also have been 
circulated and flushed through the 
whirlpool system for at least 10 minutes.



A Consumer Guide to
Nail and Pedicure Services

This pamphlet is designed to aid consumers in 
making informed decisions when perfoming 

cosmetology related services.

Cosmetology 
Commission

After service
•	 Equipment must be thoroughly washed, 

disinfected and stored in a closed, clean 
container before being used again.  

•	 Soiled tools must be stored separately 
from clean tools in labeled containers.  

•	 All work areas including tables and 
footrests must be clean at all times.

The disinfectant used should 
be EPA-registered and stop 
bactericidal, fungicidal and 

virucidal activity.  
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If you have questions about a nail salon or 
state sanitation regulations, please contact:

South Dakota Cosmetology Commission
500 E Capitol Ave
Pierre, SD 57501

Tel: 605.773.6193

Email: cosmetology@state.sd.us
Website:  cosmetology.sd.gov

Nail technicians and salon owners not in 
compliance with state requirements may face 

revocation of their licensure.

Our Goal
The South Dakota Cosmetology 
Commission sets high professional 
standards to ensure South Dakota 
consumers are protected from injury and 
disease when they enter a state-licensed 
salon.  Salons are inspected annually to 
ensure compliance with state regulations 
for safety.

It is also important that consumers be 
aware of the safety requirements 
in order to protect their health.

Services
•	Before starting, ask the licensee about 

the disinfection processes.

•	The licensee’s hands must be washed 
or sanitized before touching a client’s 
hands or feet.  

•	Your hands or feet must be either 
washed or sanitized before any nail 
service.

If you are not comfortable with 
what you see in a salon, the best 

thing to do is leave. Services 
should not hurt, injure or put you 

at risk of infection. 

S o u t h  D a k o t a

Make Informed Decisions


