Action Item:

Change the by-laws verbiage regarding board membership to:

Article III. Membership

Section 1. The membership of the Council is appointed by the Governor shall consist of eighteen members as follows:

- a. A simple majority which will serve fixed, staggered terms, shall be representatives of the private sector, who shall be owners of business concerns, chief executives or chief operating officers of non-governmental employers, or other private sector executives who have substantial management or policy responsibility.
- b. Membership shall include the secretaries of the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation, Education, Human Services, the commissioner of the Governor's Office of Economic Development, and the executive director of the Board of Regents, or their designees.
- c. Representatives of organized labor and community-based organizations shall constitute not less than 20% of the membership of the council.

Current reading of the By-Laws regarding membership:

ARTICLE III. MEMBERSHIP:

Section 1. The membership of the Council is appointed by the Governor shall consist of seventeen members as follows:

- a. A simple majority which will serve fixed, staggered terms, shall be representatives of the private sector, who shall be owners of business concerns, chief executives or chief operating officers of non-governmental employers, or other private sector executives who have substantial management or policy responsibility.
- b. Membership shall include the secretaries of the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation, Education, Human Services, the commissioner of the Governor's Office of Economic Development, and the executive director of the Board of Regents, or their designees.
- c. Representatives of organized labor and community-based organizations shall constitute not less than 15% of the membership of the council.

The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) requires:

- 1. Majority of the members are representatives of businesses or organizations who:
 - Are an owner or chief executive officer for the business or organization that has optimum policy-making authority;
 - Represent business or organizations that represent businesses that provide employment and training opportunities that include high-quality, work-relevant and development in in-demand industry sectors or occupations in the State; and
 - At a minimum one member representing a small business.

Currently includes: Dave Giovannini, Lee Anderson, Carla Gatzke, Chris Houwman, Rick Larson, Scott Peterson, and Keri Wientjes. (Lance Weaver, but has never attended or been in contact with DLR).

- 2. Not less than 20% who are representatives of the workforce within the State which:
 - Must include two or more representatives or labor organizations;
 - Must include one representative who is a representative of a registered apprenticeship program;
 - May include one or more representatives of community-based organizations;
 - May include one or more representative of organizations that have demonstrated experience and expertise in addressing the employment, training or education needs of individuals with barriers to employment.

Currently includes: Mark Rogers, Randy Stainbrook, and Jim Borszich.

We are currently at 17.6%. By adding one board member to this category, we will reach 20%. The Governor's office has a community-based organization representative they plan to appoint.

- 3. The balance of the members:
 - Must include representatives of the Government including the lead State officials with primary responsibility for the core programs;
 - Two or more chief elected officials
 - Due to the board being grandfathered, SD does not have to meet this requirement.
 - May include other representatives and officials designated by the Governor.

Currently includes: Marcia Hultman, Eric Weiss, Tiffany Sanderson, Mike Rush, and Aaron Scheibe

By increasing membership to 18, we would have three open spots. The new board member from category two and two openings in category one.