
September 2, 2014 

To: Workers’ Compensation Advisory Council 

Re:  Survey of Prompt Payment Laws 

From: James Marsh,  DLR Division of Labor and Management Director  

At the July, 2014 Council meeting, Lt. Governor Michels asked me to put together information about 

South Dakota’s laws requiring prompt payment of medical bills compared to other states.  In 2007, The 

Council recommended legislation requiring benefit payers to pay, deny, or request additional 

information on a “properly submitted” medical bill within 30 days after receipt.  A $500 fine would be 

imposed on payers who did not meet the requirement.  These proposals became law on July 1, 2008 as 

SDCL §§62‐4‐1.1 and ‐1.2, and DLR was permitted to create a rule establishing the definition of a 

properly submitted bill (ARSD 47:03:09:01). 

As it happened, the Workers’ Compensation Research Institute (WCRI), which collects survey data on 

many topics, had prepared a report called “Workers’ Compensation Medical Cost Containment: a 

National Inventory, 2013.”   The information below can be found on Table 20 of the WCRI report. 

Compared to other states, South Dakota’s laws fell in the middle of the pack for time allowed for a payer 

to act, and the punishment imposed for noncompliance.  Two states have shorter timeframes, 21 states 

use a 30‐day limit, 10 states use a 45‐day limit, 10 use a 60‐day limit, and eight have no time limit.   

For our surrounding states, Minnesota and Nebraska use 30 days, Montana and Wyoming use 60 days, 

and Iowa and North Dakota do not have a time limit. 

For punishments, the plurality (21) use a percentage of some type.  Four states besides South Dakota 

exclusively use a dollar fine of some kind.  Five states either deny the payer the opportunity to contest 

the amount of the bill through the hearing process, or require the payer to pay the bill without fee 

schedule reductions (South Dakota’s Supreme Court has interpreted SDCL §62‐1‐1.3 to state a payer 

cannot apply the fee schedule when it has disputed the general compensability of the claim.)  Six states 

use a combination of two or more of the previous three approaches, and 13 states have no direct 

penalty at all.   

For our surrounding states, Montana fines between $1,000 and $2,000, Minnesota uses a combination 

of interest and a flat penalty of undefined amount, Nebraska denies a hearing on the amount of 

reimbursement, and Iowa, North Dakota, and Wyoming have no penalty.  

Respectfully Submitted,  

 

James Marsh 

 


