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South Dakota’s unemployment insurance program is financed by employers through payroll taxes. It is exactly what the 
name implies — insurance — and benefits are paid to eligible claimants who meet the conditions fixed by law, as a matter 
of right, without regard to need.

As an employer, if you are liable under the state law, you will also pay federal unemployment taxes directly to the federal 
government. This federal tax helps finance various South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation workforce and 
training programs, such as job placement, labor market information and training of workers to meet industry needs. Your 
federal tax also pays the administrative costs of the state unemployment insurance program and provides funds that may 
be loaned to states whose unemployment insurance reserves are depleted.

To protect your investment in this program, you should understand your rights and know your responsibilities under South 
Dakota law. Cooperation with the department will help ensure the unemployment insurance (UI) program is administered 
efficiently and economically.

This handbook will help you and others in your organization who are responsible for hiring and/or discharging workers, 
examining and completing unemployment insurance claim notices and preparing payrolls and tax forms. This handbook 
also provides information on other department programs. We hope it will be useful.

Statements in this handbook are for general information and do not have the effect of law or regulation. The actual 
unemployment insurance laws and regulations are contained in South Dakota Codified Law, Title 61 (http://legis.state.
sd.us/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=61&Type=Statute) and South Dakota
Administrative Rules, Article 47:06 (http://legis.state.sd.us/rules/Display Rule.aspx?Rule=47:06).

Be advised that wage information and other confidential information may be requested and utilized for other 
governmental purposes including, but not limited to, verification of an individual’s eligibility for other governmental 
programs in accordance with federal regulations.

If you have a question not covered in this handbook, please contact any UI Field Representative (see p. 20), or write to: 
South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
Unemployment Insurance Division, Tax Unit
PO Box 4730
Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

Or visit our website, sdjobs.org, and choose “Unemployment Insurance,” then choose “Unemployment Insurance for 
Businesses.” 

EMPLOYER LIABILITY AND COVERAGE
Definition of an Employer - An employer is an individual, partnership, corporation, limited liability company (LLC), 
association, trust, organization or political subdivision, etc., which has in its employ one or more individuals performing 
services in South Dakota. 

Covered Employer - You become a covered employer when you incur liability and are required to pay taxes into the 
Unemployment Insurance Fund. You must pay UI taxes if you meet one of the following criteria:

•	 Employed one or more individuals (full- or part-time) in 20 different calendar weeks in the current or preceding 
calendar year.

•	 Paid wages of $1,500 or more in a calendar quarter in the current or preceding calendar year.
•	 Are covered under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA).
•	 Acquired all or a portion of a covered business.
•	 Paid wages for agricultural employment of $20,000 or more in a calendar quarter or employed 10 or more individuals 

for some portion of a day in each of 20 different calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year.
•	 Paid wages for domestic employment of $1,000 or more in a calendar quarter in the current or preceding calendar 

year. 
•	 Have proof of 501(c)(3) non-profit status with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and employed four or more 

individuals in 20 different calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year.

http://legis.state.sd.us/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=61&Type=Statute
http://legis.state.sd.us/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=61&Type=Statute


2

COVERED EMPLOYMENT

Covered employment - is an individual’s entire service (including service in interstate commerce), performed for wages or 
under any contract of hire, written or oral, expressed or implied.

Day Labor
Day Labor, temporary labor and part-time labor all count as employment and need to be reported to the Unemployment 
Insurance Tax Division by covered employers. Under South Dakota statute, there is no unemployment insurance tax 
exemption for part-time wages (including short-term or day labor). If you are a covered employer under South Dakota’s 
unemployment insurance tax laws, you must report all wages paid, including those of part-time/short-term employees.

Corporate Officer Remuneration
Corporate officers are considered employees for unemployment insurance tax purposes. When a shareholder employee of 
an S corporation provides services to the S corporation, reasonable compensation generally needs to be paid. Reasonable 
compensation to shareholder employee(s) must be declared before a non-wage distribution may be made to that 
shareholder employee. This compensation is subject to unemployment taxes.

Individuals Hired by Your Employee
Any individual engaged to perform or assist in performing the work of any person in your service is considered your 
employee. It does not matter whether that individual was engaged or paid directly by you or one of your employees, so 
long as you have actual or constructive knowledge of the work.

Multi-State Employer
To be considered covered employment under the South Dakota law, the worker must perform services entirely within the 
state or perform most of the services in the state with only temporary tasks outside the state.

However, if a worker’s service is not localized in any state, all employment is reportable to the state in which the base of 
operation is located. 

If you have any doubt as to where to report wages, contact a tax representative of the UI Division, listed on 
p. 20.

EXEMPT EMPLOYMENT
•	 Services performed by a sole proprietor, the sole proprietor’s spouse, the sole proprietor’s minor children under the 

age of 21 years and sole proprietor’s parents. The term “child” has been defined to include stepchildren and foster 
children.

•	 Service performed by a partner in a partnership comprised of two or more individuals or businesses.
•	 Services performed by elected officials, members of legislative and judicial bodies, members of the state national 

or air national guard, temporary employees hired during an emergency, and nontenured policy-making or advisory 
positions. State and local government employees who do not fall under these exclusions are covered employees.

•	 Service performed by a student hired as part of a cooperative education program. 
•	 Service performed by an individual under 18 years of age in the delivery or distribution of newspapers.
•	 Service performed by an individual as an insurance agent or a solicitor, if all such services are performed for 

remuneration solely by way of commission. See p. 2 for an exception for corporate officers.
•	 Service performed: 

- In the employ of a church or convention or association of churches, primarily for religious purposes, or an 
organization which is operated, supervised, controlled or principally supported by a church, convention or 
association of churches.
- By a duly ordained, commissioned or licensed minister of a church in the exercise of the ministry or by a 
member of a religious order in the exercise of duties required by such order.

•	 Service performed in a facility conducted for the purpose of carrying out a program of rehabilitation for individuals 
whose earning capacity is impaired by age, or physical or mental deficiency or injury, or providing remunerative 
work for individuals who, because of their impaired physical or mental capacity, cannot be readily absorbed into the 
competitive labor market, by an individual receiving such rehabilitation or remunerative work.

•	 Service performed as part of an unemployment work-relief program or as part of an unemployment work-training 
program assisted or financed in whole or in part by a federal agency or an agency of a state or political subdivision, 
by an individual receiving work relief or work training. 
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•	 Service performed by a non-resident alien temporarily present in the United States with a F-1, J-1, M-1, Q-1 or H2A 
visa. Note: you must report all wages for individuals with any other type of visa, including H2Bs, if you are a covered 
employer.

OPERATING MORE THAN ONE ESTABLISHMENT
If you operate more than one establishment under the same ownership in South Dakota, two separate account numbers 
may be assigned. One reason for maintaining separate accounts is for cost accounting. Experience-rating accounts will be 
consolidated for rating purposes. See p. 11 for more information.

If each of the establishments is operated by a separate employing entity, an account must be established for each business. 
For example, two corporations would be separate legal entities, even though individual “A” owns the majority of the stock 
in each corporation.

If “A” is a partner of “B” in operating one store and a partner of “C” in operating a second store, the two partnerships 
would each be separate employing entities.

SEASONAL EMPLOYERS
A seasonal industry or employing unit is one that customarily suspends its operations for revenue for a period of five 
months or more within a calendar year except for basic caretaking activities.

A seasonal employer is one who is operating in a seasonal industry as defined above and who, upon application, is 
designated by the department.

Duration of Seasons
The following industries have been designated as seasonal industries in South Dakota:

•	 Summer hotels, inns, camps, curio shops, roadside restaurants, ice cream/soft drinks stands, and stable/trail ride 
operations: May 1 to October 1

•	 Tourist souvenir stores, tour buses, information centers and other operations in the tourist industry: 
       May 1 to October 31

•	 Drive-in theatres and concessions: April 15 to November 1
•	 Racetracks and racetrack concessions: May 15 to October 1
•	 Baseball teams/ball park concessions: May 1 to September 15
•	 Carnivals: May 1 to October 1
•	 Seasonally operated country clubs/golf courses: April 1 to November 1
•	 Seasonally operated chair lifts: May 1 to November 1
•	 Seasonally operated ski resorts: November 1 to May 1
•	 Outdoor swimming pools: May 15 to September 15
•	 Seasonally operated small game cleaning services, hunting preserves/game lodges: September 1 to February 1
•	 Retail nurseries classified in industry number 444220 as enumerated in the North American Industrial Classification 

Manual (NAICS): May 1 to October 31
•	 Retail fireworks stands: May 1 to September 15

Applying to Become a Seasonal Employer
Applications for designation as a seasonal employer (Form 26) may be downloaded at www.state.sd.us/eforms/secure/
eforms/E0772v3-form26.pdf, or obtained by contacting us at: 

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation 
Unemployment Insurance Division, Tax Unit
PO Box 4730
Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

Benefit Eligibility of Seasonal Employees
If you are a designated seasonal employer, your former employees who were engaged in other than year-round work will 
be eligible to draw benefits based on wages earned with you only for weeks of unemployment when the major portion of 
such week falls within the defined season of operation of your industry.

http:// www.state.sd.us/eforms/secure/eforms/E0772v3-form26.pdf
http:// www.state.sd.us/eforms/secure/eforms/E0772v3-form26.pdf
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Reporting Requirements
Employers approved for seasonal designation will still need to file a quarterly report for all four quarters by regular due 
dates.

INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR OR EMPLOYEE?
Contract labor is perhaps the most misused category of workers in the business world. You cannot assume casual labor, 
temporary or part-time labor, or individuals who sign independent contractor agreements can be considered independent 
contractors. Issuing 1099s and not withholding taxes does not make an individual an independent contractor.

South Dakota Codified Law 61-1-11 states to be considered an independent contractor, a worker must be both:
•	 Free from your control or direction, and
•	 Customarily engaged in their own independently established business.

Otherwise, the worker is your employee. Any contractual agreement as well as the actual working relationship must be 
examined to support a finding that a worker is an independent agent and not an employee.

The courts have defined both portions of the South Dakota statute. The first part of the statute concerns control. Although 
individuals may have freedom of action in the way the work can be performed, control can still be exercised through other 
means such as written or verbal agreements or a contract. What really matters is who has the legal right to control the 
outcome of the work. If you direct and control the services of an individual, or have the right to direct and control the 
individual’s services, that individual is your employee. The fact that the individual is paid on a commission, share of the 
profits, fee, job or piecework basis does not necessarily mean that worker is an independent contractor.

The second portion of the statute concerns whether the individual is customarily engaged in an independently established 
trade, occupation, profession or business. The word “independently”means a trade, occupation, profession or business 
must be established independently of, and separate from, the services rendered to the alleged employer. The present 
tense of “is” indicates the individual must be engaged in such independent activity at the time of rendering the service 
to the alleged employer. If your attorney or accountant draws up a contract labor agreement and the worker signs the 
agreement, you may think you have complied with the law. This is not so! By law, a worker cannot sign away their rights 
to unemployment insurance. The worker must meet the independent contractor criteria to be considered anything other 
than your employee.

If you have misclassified workers as independent contractors and a determination is made that they are employees, 
you may be subject to back taxes, penalty and interest. In addition, you may also be liable for FUTA taxes. If you have 
questions about whether an individual is an employee or an independent contractor, and would like to request a written 
determination, please contact the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation at 605.626.2312 or complete Form 
23 found at www.state.sd.us/eforms/secure/eforms/E0776v1-Worker_Relationship_Questionnaire.pdf.

IRS or Other State Determination of Exempt Employment
Even if the Collector of Internal Revenue or another state determines that certain services constitute exempt employment, 
you cannot assume those services will be exempt under South Dakota law. While the laws are often similar, the federal and 
state laws do differ. Also, court decisions and precedent cases are not always the same at the federal level or in different 
states.

REPORTABLE WAGES
Wages are all payments for personal services from all sources, including cash, commissions, bonuses, gift cards/certificates 
and cash value of any payment in anything other than cash. Cash value would include items such as goods, board and 
lodging, working out a debt, etc. Tip and gratuity income must be reported if it totals $20 or more per month. These tips 
must be included in the gross wages of the employee.

Sick pay and medical leave pay are considered wages and are reportable unless they are payments received under a 
workers’ compensation law.

Some exceptions to reportable wages are:
•	 Dismissal or severance payments which you are not legally required to make.

http://www.state.sd.us/eforms/secure/eforms/E0776v1-Worker_Relationship_Questionnaire.pdf 
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•	 Payments made to yourself, your parents, or your children under the age of 21, if you are a sole proprietor.
•	 Services performed by a partner in a partnership comprised of two or more individuals or businesses.
•	 Business expenses if expenses are reasonable and ordinary and if the expenses are well documented.
•	 Employer contributions for life and health insurance and payments made under a workers’ compensation plan. 

Note: Employee-paid premiums for life and health insurance are reportable. Employers must report the gross wage 
(amount before any deductions are taken out).

•	 Employer contributions to retirement or pension plans authorized in 26 U.S.C. §401(k), §403(b), §408(k), §457 and 
§408(p), the Simple IRA.

The above explanation is not all inclusive. If you have a question regarding wages, contact an Unemployment Insurance 
Tax Representative (p. 24).

RECORDS YOU MUST KEEP
You must keep the following records for each employee:

•	 Full name and Social Security number
•	 Places of work within the state
•	 Date hired, rehired or returned to work after temporary or partial layoff
•	 Date of termination of employment 
•	 Information covering the termination, stating if the termination occurred by voluntary action of the individual, or by 

discharge, and complete reason for such termination
•	 The cause of all time lost due to unavailability for work occurring within any week
•	 Hours worked and wages earned in each pay period, and total wages for all pay periods ending in each quarter of the 

year, including the cash value of other remuneration, and the amount of all bonuses or special commissions
•	 Hours worked and wages earned in exempt employment

Covered Versus Exempt Employment Records
You must keep records of exempt employment wages and hours separate from those for covered employment for each 
worker. If you do not keep such records separate, you will be required to report and pay on all wages, including the exempt 
wages.

Your Responsibility to Keep Us Informed
It is your responsibility to inform the UI Division when you become a covered employer or when there has been any change 
in ownership or legal adjustment in operating a business. 

We request that you tell us about:
•	 Purchase or sale of a business or a portion of a business
•	 Wages paid to each individual employed
•	 Total wages paid
•	 Any possible errors, especially errors which may result in payment of incorrect benefits

To register for your Unemployment Insurance Tax account, you may go online at www.sdjobs.org. 
1.	Select “Unemployment Insurance”
2.	Choose “Unemployment Insurance for Businesses”
3.	Click on “Log in here to register your business”

A domestic employer may apply to report annually to the UI Division by submitting form DE - Domestic Employer Election 
to Report Wages and Pay Contributions Annually by December 31st for the following calendar year. The request, if 
approved, remains in place as long as the domestic employer continues to employ only domestic employees. For more 
information visit our Domestic Employer Web page.

Download any UI Forms Web page or call 605.626.2312.

www.sdjobs.org
http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/uitaxdomesticemployer.aspx
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DURATION AND TERMINATION OF LIABILITY
Once you become a covered employer, liable under South Dakota law, you must continue to report and pay contributions 
on any wages paid until your account is terminated by the Division.
You can ask for termination prior to July 1 if:

•	 No individuals have performed services for you in covered employment in the previous calendar year.
•	 During the prior year, you did not have one employee in 20 calendar weeks and did not pay $1,500 or more in one 

calendar quarter. 
Your coverage will be terminated upon notification of sale of your entire business, and your entire experience-rating 
account (see p. 9) may be transferred to your successor. If, however, you have any employment during the remainder of 
the year, you must report it.

EMPLOYERS’ CONTRIBUTIONS
As a covered employer, you are required to pay taxes on taxable wages at the rate assigned to you.

Tax Rates
If you are a new employer, or an employer who is not eligible for a reduced rate, you will pay tax at the rate of 1.2 percent, 
plus an investment fee of 0.55 percent, for a total of 1.75 percent the first year. The rate then decreases to 1.0 percent 
plus an investment fee of 0.55 percent for a total of 1.55 percent for the second and third year until you are eligible for a 
rate based on experience (see p. 9; see also p. 12 for an explanation of the investment fee). You must maintain a positive 
unemployment insurance account balance to receive the 1.0 percent rate for the second and third year. The Administrative 
Fee is not applicable to employers not eligible for a rate based on experience.

Exception for Construction Industry
All new employers classified in construction industries will pay tax at the rate of 6.0 percent plus an investment fee of 
0.55 percent, for a total of 6.55 percent the first year. The rate then decreases to 3.0 percent plus an investment fee 
of 0.55 percent for a total of 3.55 percent for the second and third year until the employer is eligible for a rate based 
on experience. You must maintain a positive unemployment insurance account balance to receive the 3.0 percent rate 
for the second and third year. If further information is needed, contact your local UI Tax Representative (see p. 20). The 
Administrative Fee is not applicable to employers not eligible for a rate based on experience.

					            Table 1. Taxable Wage Base*		         

Year
2009 $9,500
2010 $10,000
2011 $11,000
2012 $12,000
2013 $13,000
2014 $14,000
2015 and thereafter $15,000

*All rates and wage bases subject to change by the South Dakota Legislature

Surcharge
An additional surcharge goes into effect when the UI Trust Fund balance is below $11 million at the end of any quarter 
and remains in effect until the Trust Fund balance reaches $16.5 million at the end of a quarter. Effective January 1, 2012, 
any surcharge rate increase will remain in effect for four consecutive calendar quarters. The rate for the second, third and 
fourth quarters may increase based on the fund balance on the last day of the immediately prior quarter, but may not 
decrease from the prior quarter during the four consecutive quarters. The unemployment insurance tax surcharge is a 
permanent part of South Dakota law (SDCL 61-5-28). The surcharge is in addition to any other payments due. Surcharge 
payments do not credit to the employer’s experience rating account. Any applicable surcharge rate is announced by the 
Division at the end of each calendar quarter. For more information contact a tax representative (see p. 20).
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REPORTS REQUIRED
The two most common reports you are required to file are the Employer’s Quarterly Contribution, Investment Fee and 
Wage Report (Form 21; see appendix) and Notice to Base Period Employer (Form 238; see appendix). Other reports may be 
required depending on your particular circumstances.

Employer’s Unemployment Insurance Quarterly Report
Covered employers must file these reports quarterly by the last day of the months of April, July, October and January. You 
must file your report during these months even if no wages were paid. 

The proper reporting forms are mailed during the last week of each quarter to all employers who: 
•	 Filed a paper report for the previous quarter.
•	 Are filing a report for their first quarter in business. 

Employers who file electronically will not receive a form in the mail. If the employer has provided the Division with 
an email address, a reminder will be sent to the email address provided. It is your responsibility to file a report during 
the month it is due, even if you do not receive a form in the mail. Employers have the option of filing their Employer’s 
Quarterly Contribution reports online at sdwagereport.com. See p. 8 for details.

The Employer’s Quarterly Contribution, Investment Fee and Wage Report (Form 21) may also be obtained from our 
website as an Excel spreadsheet (recommended; www.dlr.sd.gov/ui/forms/form21.xls) or as a pdf document (www.dlr.
sd.gov/ui/forms/form21.pdf). You may also contact your nearest UI Tax Unit Field Representative (see p. 20) or write to us 
at:

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
Unemployment Insurance Division, Tax Unit
PO Box 4730
Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

If approved in advance, domestic employers may report annually. Annual reporting must be done by submitting the Annual 
Employer’s Contribution, Investment Fee and Wage Report, 21D & E form available on our UI Forms Web page. For more 
information visit our Domestic Employer Web page.

Types of Information Required
There are two main sections of the quarterly report:

•	 The employer’s contribution report totals and general statistical information.
•	 The listing of individual wage details.

An example of the Employer’s Unemployment Insurance Quarterly Report is in the Appendix (i).

Note: Wages should be reported in the quarter they were actually paid to the employee, even if they were earned or 
the work was done in a different quarter.

Submitting Reports
We encourage employers to file their reports online at www.sdwagereport.com. Filing online will calculate your taxable 
wages for you, and will allow you to either pay online or mail in your payment. See p. 8 for details. Or you can send your 
paper report and remittance by mail to the Aberdeen address listed on the form.

UI Tax
Non-Construction Construction Investment Fee Administrative Fee

Year 1 1.20% 6.00% 0.55% Not Applicable

Years 2 & 3 
(with positive
account balance)

1.00% 3.00% 0.55% Not Applicable

Table 2. New Employer Tax Rate*

www.sdwagereport.com
www.dlr.sd.gov/ui/forms/form21.xls
www.dlr.sd.gov/ui/forms/form21.pdf
www.dlr.sd.gov/ui/forms/form21.pdf
http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/uitaxdomesticemployer.aspx
www.sdwagereport.com
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Notice to Base Period Employer
When a former employee files a claim for unemployment insurance, notice of a claim having been filed is sent to each 
employer whose unemployment insurance account is potentially chargeable. The form is called the Notice To Base 
Period Employer (Form 238). If the reason for this unemployment is anything other than lack of work, you should give 
complete details concerning the reason for separation in the space provided on the form. This form also provides space for 
separation payment information.

You need to return the form to our office within 15 calendar days of the date appearing on the notice. Prompt return of 
this separation notice helps protect your right to a reduced contribution rate and limits the charges to your account to only 
those benefits paid to former employees who are involuntarily unemployed. This also prevents payment of unemployment 
insurance benefits to individuals not entitled to benefits. If a controversy arises regarding this separation, we will request 
additional information, either by mail or telephone. Refer to Appendix ii,  Notice To Base Period Employer.

Your account cannot be relieved of charges if an erroneous payment has been made because you were at fault for failing to 
respond timely or adequately to the department’s request for information. An erroneous payment is a payment that would 
not have been made but for the failure to fully respond.  

PROTESTING CHARGES
All employers within a claimant’s base period will receive notice of potential charges and have the right to protest those 
charges. If you think benefit payments should not have been charged because of the reason for separation of the claimant, 
contact us for information on how to file a protest. When writing to us in reference to a claim of a former employee, you 
should be sure to include the employee’s social security number.

WHEN AND WHERE TO PAY
State unemployment insurance contributions are to be paid quarterly to:

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
Unemployment Insurance Division, Tax Unit
PO Box 4730
Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

All quarterly reports are due 30 days after the end of the quarter. Contributions must be paid quarterly by the end of the 
month following the calendar quarter covered. If you are unable to make a payment in full, file your report by the due date 
and contact our office to set up a payment plan or complete and return Form 10 found at UI Forms.

Quarter                                                                              		 Due No Later Than Midnight
January 1 to March 31                                                         	 April 30
April 1 to June 30                                                                	 July 31
July 1 to September 30                                                      	 October 31
October 1 to December 31                                                  	 January 31
If approved in advance, a domestic employer must pay contributions annually. Annual reports are due by January 31 for the prior 
calendar year.

ONLINE REPORTING
You can submit your quarterly report online with the option of making your payment using electronic funds transfer or 
sending a check. The online method will automatically calculate excess wages and tax due, and also allows you to update 
important account information. Upon completion of the filing process, you will get a confirmation number with a date and 
time the report was filed. You may print a copy of the report for your records. 

Go directly tosdwagereport.com or go to our department home page, sdjobs.org, and go to select “Unemployment 
Insurance,” then “Unemployment Insurance for Business,” then click “Log in here to File a Quarterly Report.” See online 
help for further instructions or call 605.626.2312 or your area field representative (see p. 20).

Domestic employers who report annually must submit the Annual Employer’s Contribution, Investment Fee and Wage 
Report, 21D & E form available on our Forms Web page.  

Remittance
Your check, money order or other remittance should be made payable to the South Dakota Unemployment Insurance 
Division.

http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/forms.aspx#tax
www.sdwagereport.com
www.sdjobs.org
http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/uiforms.aspx


9

Payment Date
Contributions are due by the end of the month following the quarter end. To avoid interest and penalty, any payment must 
be received by the UI Division on or prior to the last day of the month.

Late Contributions or Reports
A penalty may be assessed when the quarterly report is not submitted by the due date. The penalty accrues separately on 
each quarterly report due. 

A penalty of $25 per month (or fraction of a month) is assessed for each delinquent report and an additional penalty of $25 
for each delinquent contribution. The maximum penalty is $150 for each delinquent report and $150 for each delinquent 
contribution, for a total possible penalty of $300. 
Interest of 1.5 percent for each month (or fraction of a month) is also computed from the due date of the report.
NOTE: A report is required even though you may not have had employment during the quarter.

Adjustments and Refunds
If, at the time of filing a quarterly contribution report, you find that a mistake was made on a previous quarterly report, you 
may make adjustment by showing the tax underpayment or overpayment on the lines provided on the contribution report. 
A complete explanation of the error made must be attached to
the adjusted report. You may also complete and return Form 21C, Statement to Correct Information Previously Submitted, 
found on our UI Forms Web page. 

If the adjustment involves an employee’s wages, the explanation should include the worker’s name, social security number, 
wages originally reported, correct wages, and the quarter and year in which the error was made. You should notify us 
as soon as the error is discovered. The notification may be made by letter, or by submitting Form 21C, supplying full 
information concerning the error. If the error resulted in an underpayment, you should forward remittance with your letter 
or Form 21C. If the error resulted in an overpayment, we will correct the account and refund any amount more than $25.

Contesting Charges
All employers have the right to contest charges made to their account. If you do not agree with a decision that has been 
made, you may request a hearing. For more details, see p. 17.

COST REIMBURSEMENT
South Dakota law allows certain employers to elect the “Cost Reimbursement” alternative as a means of financing benefit 
payment costs. 

Nonprofit organizations as defined by Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, hospitals and institutions of higher 
education operated by political subdivisions may be eligible to elect to repay benefit costs, instead of making the regular 
contributions required of other covered employers. This election must be made for a period of at least two years. The 
election can be initiated or terminated by filing written notice with the Unemployment Insurance Division no later than 30 
days before the beginning of a calendar year.

There are two methods of repayment:
•	 Reimburse the actual cost of benefit payments based on wages reported by the organization(s). The organization will 

be billed for benefit costs each quarter and payment must be made within 30 days after the date of billing.

•	 Pay equal amounts each calendar quarter, with an adjustment being made at the end of each calendar year. This 
determination shall be based each year on the average benefit costs during the preceding calendar year. 

Eligible employers electing the cost-reimbursement method may be required to provide a surety bond. However, in most 
cases, the “payments in advance” option will satisfy this requirement. A group of cost-reimbursement employers may elect, 
with the approval of the Secretary of Labor and Regulation, to act as one entity in electing the cost-reimbursement option. 

For additional information regarding cost reimbursement, contact us at:
South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
Unemployment Insurance Division, Tax Unit
PO Box 4730
Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730

FUTA PAYMENTS
FUTA (Federal Unemployment Tax Act) taxes are a federal tax and are paid to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). For more 

http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/forms.aspx#tax
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information, call the IRS Business and Specialty Tax Line at 800.829.4933 or go to www.irs.gov.

Table 3. SD Reserve Ratios and Unemployment Insurance Rates*   (Beginning 2015)

EXPERIENCE RATING

Contribution Rate Reserve Ratio  

Schedule A Schedule B
0.00%   0.00%       2.25% and Over   
0.05%   0.00%       1.75% and Less than  2.25% 
0.15%   0.05%       1.50% and Less than  1.75% 
0.25%   0.15%       1.25% and Less than  1.50% 
0.35%   0.25%       1.00% and Less than  1.25% 
0.55%   0.45%       0.75% and Less than  1.00% 
0.70%   0.60%       0.50% and Less than  0.75% 
0.95%   0.85%       0.00% and Less than  0.50% 
1.45%   1.35%      -0.25% and Less than  0.00% 
1.95%   1.85%      -0.50% and Less than -0.25% 
2.45%   2.35%      -0.75% and Less than -0.50% 
2.95%   2.85%      -1.00% and Less than -0.75% 
3.45%   3.35%      -1.50% and Less than -1.00% 
3.95%   3.85%      -2.00% and Less than -1.50% 
4.45%   4.35%      -2.50% and Less than -2.00% 
4.95%   4.85%      -3.00% and Less than -2.50% 
5.45%   5.35%      -3.50% and Less than -3.00% 
5.95%   5.85%      -4.00% and Less than -3.50% 
6.45%   6.35%      -4.50% and Less than -4.00% 
6.95%   6.85%      -5.00% and Less than -4.50% 
7.45%   7.35%      -5.50% and Less than -5.00% 
7.95%   7.85%      -6.00% and Less than -5.50% 
8.45%   8.35%      -6.50% and Less than -6.00% 
8.95%   8.85%      -7.00% and Less than -6.50% 

9.45%   9.35%       Less than -7.00%   

Table 4. SD Reserve Ratios and Investment Fee Rates*

Less than 1.00% 0.53%
1.00% and less than 1.20% 0.50%
1.20% and less than 1.30% 0.40%
1.30% and less than 1.40% 0.30%
1.40% and less than 1.50% 0.20%
1.50% and less than 1.60%  0.10%
1.60% and over 0.00%

*All rates and wage bases subject to change by the South Dakota Legislature

www.irs.gov
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The method used to determine your assigned contribution rate based on both your experience as a covered employer 
(unless you are a cost-reimbursement employer) and the status of the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund balance.

Rate Determination
Rates are determined strictly according to statute. We are prohibited from arbitrarily determining your reserve ratio or 
your resulting contribution rate. Rates are computed annually and are assigned for the calendar year. A Notice of Rate 
Determination will be mailed to you no later than November each year.

Reserve Ratio
We determine this ratio in the following way. The employer’s reserve ratio for calendar year 2012 and thereafter is the 
result obtained by dividing the balance of credits existing in the employer’s experience-rating account (as of June 30 of the 
preceding year for which the rate is to be computed) by the total taxable payroll 

Eligibility for a Reduced Rate
You may be an “eligible employer” if you are a covered employer (not electing cost-reimbursement) who has qualifying 
experience as specified by unemployment insurance law, such as:

•	 You must have filed all reports and paid all money due prior to the cutoff date (July 31).
•	 You must have been a covered employer for three fiscal years (ending June 30) to have your rate based on experience 

for the following year.
•	 You may be able to reduce your contribution rate for the following calendar year by making a voluntary contribution 

to your account prior to December 31.

Rate Increases
South Dakota law provides for increases in all employer rates if the state Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund balance falls 
below the minimum reserve level of $11 million. If this occurs, the additional rate information will be provided to employers 
advising them of any applicable increase. Rate increases do not apply to nonprofit or governmental employers that elect 
the cost-reimbursement to self-insure their unemployment insurance costs.

Experience-Rating Notice
No later than November each year, we mail an Experience-Rating Notice to all covered employers (except cost-
reimbursement employers). The notice sets forth your rate for the following calendar year, information about experience, 
methods used in calculating the rate and the period of time during which a valid protest may be filed.

Review and Redetermination of Rate
Because clerical error is possible when we calculate tax rates, you have the right to request a review and re-determination 
within 15 days of the date the notice is mailed. Such requests should be made in writing, contain an explanation of why you 
think the rate assigned is incorrect, and mailed to our Aberdeen office.

Administrative Fee
Each employer eligible for experience-rating as defined in law (SDCL 61-5-24) shall pay an administrative fee on wages. If 
the employer’s reserve ratio is less then two and one-quarter percent, an administrative fee of two hundredths percent 
(.02%) or .0002 shall be paid. No administrative fee may be credited to the employer’s experience-rating account or 
deducted in whole or in part by any employer from the wages of individuals in its employ.

Experience-Rating Account Activity
As a covered employer, you will have a unique experience-rating account recording your accumulated paid contributions, 
the accumulated benefit payments charged to your account, and your total taxable payroll. These three totals are used each 
year to compute your reserve ratio. See p. 10 for reserve ratios and corresponding rates.

Charging of Benefits
Benefit payments to your former employees are charged to your account in inverse chronological order. In other words, the 
most recent employer is charged first, then the next most recent, etc. 

These charges will match the corresponding percentage of wages from each of the claimant’s employers. In other words, 
if you paid only 30 percent of the claimant’s wages during his or her base period, your account will be charged only 30 
percent of the benefit payment.
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Probationary Period
You may establish a probationary period for new employees for unemployment insurance purposes. You will be exempt 
from unemployment charges if the new worker is terminated within 90 days after his or her hire date because the worker 
lacks ability to do the work. You must establish the 90-day probationary period at the time of hire. 

You may not use a probationary period to gain exemption from unemployment benefit charges if you have elected to be a 
reimbursing employer (see p. 9).

Voluntary Contribution
You may be able to reduce your contribution rate for the following calendar year by making a voluntary contribution to 
your account prior to December 31. Please contact us for details at 605.626.2312.

Investment Fee
The investment fee is not credited to your experience-rating account. The proceeds from this fee are used for one-time 
research grants and economic development projects.

Negative Account Balances
Starting in 2009, if your experience rating account has a negative balance, you may be assessed interest on the negative 
balance.

In 2006, the South Dakota Legislature adopted a comprehensive package to put the South Dakota Unemployment 
Insurance Trust Fund on a path to improved solvency. One of the pieces was an assessment of interest on experience-
rating accounts that have maintained a negative balance.

The South Dakota Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund is held by the U.S. Treasury, where it earns interest. The South 
Dakota Legislature decided that employers whose experience-rating account balances were negative and had become 
more negative compared to the balances as of December 31, 2006, will be charged interest equivalent to the interest rate 
earned by the Trust Fund.

Details
If your experience-rating account has had a negative balance at the end of each quarter for the last two calendar years and 
the balance is more negative now than it was as of December 31, 2006, your account will be assessed interest at a rate 
equal to the rate the U.S. Treasury pays on the Trust Fund. 

During March of each year, you will receive notice of interest due. The interest is payable in four equal payments due on 
the last day of each quarter. Effective July 1, 2011, the interest payment will be deposited in the South Dakota UI Trust 
Fund, as in the past, but will also be credited to your UI employer account.  Negative account balances prior to December 
31, 2006, will be not charged.

Example
If your account balance on December 31, 2011, is a negative $2,000 and if your account balance on December 31, 2006, 
was a negative $1,000, you will pay interest on the $1,000 difference. The average 2011 interest rate earned by the Trust 
Fund (3.57 percent) times $1,000 equals $35.70.

STAYING INFORMED AND GETTING HELP
We will notify employer about:

•	 Your experience rating
•	 Any decisions made affecting your experience-rating account
•	 Amounts charged to your account to pay benefits
•	 Potential benefit charges
•	 Any errors detected during processing of reports

Field Representatives
Field personnel of the Unemployment Insurance Division Tax Unit who work directly with employers are available at most 
local Department of Labor and Regulation offices listed on p. 20.
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Still Have Questions?
If you have questions about:

•	 Workers you consider to be exempt, independent contractors, or who work in more than one state
•	 How wages of employees should be reported
•	 The effect of a provision of the unemployment insurance law
•	 Any other matter related to unemployment insurance or new hire reporting 

You should:
•	 Forward a complete statement of facts regarding the matter in question to the South Dakota Department of Labor 

and Regulation, Unemployment Insurance Division, PO Box 4730, Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730
•	 Contact the UI Tax Representative in your area (p. 20) and discuss the question
•	 Call 605.626.2312

NOTE: If you do not submit your question to us, and it is later determined that you must report additional wages, you may 
be required to pay penalty and interest for late reporting, in addition to the tax. So when in doubt, ask. We will work with 
you to answer all your questions.

BENEFIT PAYMENT POLICY AND PRACTICES
Unemployment insurance benefits provide temporary aid to workers who have lost their jobs through no fault of their 
own. These benefits are not meant to be a total replacement of wages, but rather to be a protection against a total loss of 
wages. An individual can file an initial claim or reopen a claim at www.sd.uiclaims.com or call 605.626.3179.

The payroll tax you pay as a covered employer provides unemployment benefits for not more than the equivalent of 26 
weeks in a 52-week benefit year.

DEFINITIONS
Effective Date - This is the starting point of a claim. Under South Dakota law, the effective date of a claim is the (Sunday 
proceeding) the date a person establishes a claim.

Base Period (Standard) - The time period used to determine a claimant’s eligibility for unemployment insurance benefits is 
the individual’s base period. This includes the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters immediately preceding 
the application for benefits. See the example below.

Base Period Lag Period

Jan Apr Jul Oct Jan Apr
Feb May Aug Nov Feb May
Mar Jun Sep Dec Mar

1 2 3 4 5 Incomplete

In the example, the claimant filed a claim in the month of May. His or her base period includes the four completed 
calendar quarters of the preceding year. The first quarter of the current year (January, February, March) plus April and part 
of May combine to make the lag period.

Alternate Base Period - There is a special base period for persons who are not monetarily eligible because they have not 
worked for an extended period due to a work-related injury. This base period can only be used if a claim is filed within 24 
months after the injury.

Alternative Base Period (a.k.a. Lag Quarter Base Period) - South Dakota adopted a new policy, starting July 1, 2009, that 
allows a different base period if the claimant is not eligible for benefits during the standard base period. This Lag Quarter 
Base Period counts the first four previously completed quarters. When this type of base period is used, an employer may 
be asked to provide the claimant’s wage information immediately, in addition to the Employer’s Quarterly Contribution, 
Investment Fee and Wage Report.

www.sd.uiclaims.com
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Lag Quarter Base Period Claim Filed

Apr Jul Oct Jan Apr
May Aug Nov Feb May

Jun Sep Dec Mar

1 2 3 4 Incomplete
                                                                           
Lag Period - The length of time between the end of the base period and the beginning of the benefit year is the lag period. 
Wages earned during the lag period are not used in figuring the amount of benefits a claimant may receive.

Benefit Year - This is a one-year period starting with the effective date of the claim. During this period a claimant cannot 
receive more than the equivalent of 26 full payments at the weekly benefit rate established when the claim was filed. 
However, during periods of high unemployment, up to 13 additional weeks of benefits may be paid to a claimant at the 
claimant’s regular benefit rate, and such payments may be made beyond the expiration of the claimant’s benefit year.

Waiting Period - The first week a claimant files a valid claim for benefits is his or her waiting period week. All claimants 
must serve this week before receiving any benefits and are not compensated for this week.

BENEFITS
Weekly And Maximum Benefits
The weekly benefit amount is 1/26 of the wages paid in the highest quarter of the claimant’s base period, up to a 
maximum amount determined by the state’s average weekly wage.

The maximum amount of benefits payable within a claimant’s benefit year is one third of his or her total base period 
wages. This must not exceed 26 times the weekly benefit amount.

Partial Benefits
A claimant working less than full-time may receive partial benefits. His or her paid benefits are reduced by 
75 percent of the amount by which the wages or earnings exceed $25 per week. However, if the claimant’s wages or 
earnings equal or exceed the weekly benefit amount, the claimant is ineligible for benefits that week. A calendar week is 
a full seven days from Sunday to Saturday. All wages (whether actual payment is received or not) must be reported by the 
claimant for the week in which they were earned.

Reduction Of Benefits
In addition to a claimant’s weekly benefit amount being reduced because of earnings, the following types of payment will 
also reduce the individual’s weekly benefit amount.

•	 Termination, holiday, vacation, severance or dismissal payments, sick leave or wages in lieu of notice.
•	 Compensation for temporary partial disability under a workers’ compensation law. Other disability payments are not 

deductible.
•	 Compensation for retirement or pension if the payments were made under a plan contributed to by a base-period 

employer.

ELIGIBILITY AND DISQUALIFICATIONS
Qualifying for Benefits
To qualify for benefits each claimant must exhibit all of the following:

•	 Total or partial unemployment through no fault of his or her own
•	 Ability and availability for work
•	 Reasonable effort to find work on his or her own 

These eligibility requirements have been established through law, court decisions, secretary appeals, appeal judge 
decisions and central office policies and regulations. Not meeting these requirements may mean losing rights to all or a 
portion of benefits.

30-Calendar-Day Rule
When a claimant is filing a new claim for unemployment insurance benefits, the reasons for the separation from the most 
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recent employer of at least 30 calendar days are used to determine eligibility for benefits. Should the claimant file another 
claim within one year of filing the initial claim, after returning to work, the 30-calendar-day requirement is not applied when 
determining eligibility.

Availability for Work
A claimant must be willing and ready to accept employment during the period of time benefits are being drawn. He or she 
should not have any personal reasons that would prevent him or her from accepting a job (e.g., caring for children or adults, 
lack of transportation, vacation, etc.). Application of this policy is often difficult, since it requires findings about a claimant’s 
state of mind. However, a claimant must certify availability for work and penalties are imposed for fraudulent statements. A 
claimant is informed of this policy and all other policies at the times of establishing an initial claim and reopening a claim. 

Ability to Work
A claimant who is sick, incapacitated or under detention (in jail, etc.) may be held not eligible for benefits. A medical 
statement will be requested as needed to prove ability to work.

Restrictions Imposed by the Claimant
A claimant may be held available for work even if limiting the kinds of jobs, hours or wages that will be accepted, but all 
limitations are closely examined to determine whether they are reasonable and whether there are genuine prospects of 
employment on the claimant’s terms. Generally, the claimant must be willing to accept available work under the wage 
standards for the job or occupation in which he or she has the most experience or training.

Search for Work
The Unemployment Insurance Division requires a claimant to make at least two contacts for work each week. These 
contacts must be recorded. The contact must be made in the manner required by the employer.

Retired Workers
The cases of workers for whom retirement was mandatory by the employer are closely examined. The type and amount of 
pension is taken into consideration. A pension payment is a deductible item if the base-period employer is a contributor to 
the pension. If a worker retires voluntarily, this would be treated the same as a voluntary quit and the claimant would have 
to prove good cause. Mandatory retirement is treated as a layoff and the employer’s account is charged.

Eligibility of Educational Institution Employees
Persons employed by an educational institution are not eligible for benefits based on employment between two academic 
years if they have a contract or reasonable assurance to be employed for both academic years. In other words, employees 
are not eligible for benefits while the school is on summer break. Such employees are also not eligible for benefits during 
established vacation days, holidays or days the school is legally closed, if they are employed both before and after such 
times.

Eligibility of Employees of Educational Institution Service Companies
Persons who work for businesses providing services to public or private schools on a contract basis may not be eligible for 
benefits between school terms if all three of the following conditions are met:

•	 They have reasonable assurance of returning to work for the fall term.
•	 The employment is part of a contract between their employer and the school.
•	 The contract is for services the school could have had performed by its own employees.

Note: Benefits will be denied only if the worker receives written notice prior to commencement of employment.

DISQUALIFICATIONS FOR BENEFITS
Voluntarily Leaving Employment
A claimant who voluntarily leaves employment without “good cause” is disqualified. Benefits are denied until the claimant 
has been re-employed at least six calendar weeks in insured employment during the current benefit year and earned wages 
equal to or greater than the claimant’s weekly benefit amount in each of those six weeks. 
The unemployment insurance law provides that “good cause” for voluntarily leaving employment is restricted to leaving 
employment because:

•	 Continued employment presents a hazard to the employee’s health.  However, this applies only if, prior to the 
separation, the employee is examined by a doctor, chiropractor, physician’s assistant or certified nurse practitioner 
who signs a certificate supporting the existence of the health hazard.
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•	 You required the employee to relocate residence to hold his or her job.
•	 Your conduct demonstrates a substantial disregard of the standards of behavior your employee has a right to expect 

of you, or that you breached or substantially altered the contract for employment.
•	 An individual accepted employment with you while on layoff and subsequently quit such employment to return to 

work for his/her regular employer.
•	 The employee’s religious belief mandates leaving. The provision does not apply, however, if you have offered your 

employee reasonable accommodations taking into consideration his or her religious beliefs, and if you make this offer 
before the employee leaves your employment.

•	 Leaving is necessary to protect the individual from domestic abuse. However, this subdivision applies only if: 
- The employee reports the abusive situation to law enforcement within 48 hours of any occurrence and 
cooperates fully with law enforcement in any subsequent investigation and criminal charge relating to the abusive 
situation.
- The employee has left the abusive situation and remains separate from the situation. 
- The employee made reasonable efforts to preserve the employment before quitting. 

Any person found to have good cause for leaving employment due to domestic abuse and who returns to the abusive 
situation is ineligible for benefits.

•	 The employee is relocating to accompany a spouse who has been reassigned from one military assignment to 
another.

•	 The employee is an officer who exercises substantial control in decisions to take or not to take action on behalf of a 
corporation and has no other alternative than to leave employment with that corporation. This does not preclude a 
corporate officer who does not exercise substantial control on any decision to take or not take action on behalf of a 
corporation from being found to have good cause to leave employment under other circumstances described above. 

Misconduct
If the employee is discharged for “misconduct,” benefits will be denied until he or she has been re-employed and earned 
an amount equal to or greater than the person’s weekly benefit amount in each of six different weeks.
A claimant would be separated due to misconduct when one of the following is determined:

•	 Failure to obey orders, rules or instructions, or failure to discharge the duties for which the claimant was employed. 
•	 Substantial disregard of your interests as employer or of the claimant’s duties and obligations to you.
•	 Conduct evincing such willful or wanton disregard of your interests as is found in deliberate violation or disregard of 

standards of behavior you have the right to expect from your employee.
•	 Carelessness or negligence of such degree of recurrence as to manifest equal culpability or wrongful intent. However, 

mere inefficiency, unsatisfactory conduct, failure to perform as the result of inability or incapacity, a good faith error 
in judgment or discretion, or conduct mandated by a religious belief that you cannot reasonably accommodate is not 
misconduct.

Refusing Employment
If we find that an unemployed individual has failed, without good cause, to apply for available suitable work when so 
directed by us, to accept suitable work when offered, or to return to customary self-employment when directed by us, 
benefits will be denied until he or she has:

•	 Been re-employed at least six calendar weeks in insured employment during the current benefit year
•	 Has earned wages equal to or greater than the claimant’s weekly benefit amount in each of those six weeks 

In determining whether work is suitable, we consider the:
•	 Degree of risk involved to the individual’s health, safety and morals
•	 Physical fitness and prior training
•	 Experience and prior earnings
•	 Length of unemployment and prospects for securing local work in the individual’s customary occupation
•	 Distance of the available work from the individual’s residence 

Compelling personal circumstances may justify refusal of a job. Examples of circumstances that would require a 
determination include:

•	 Health and safety hazards
•	 Interference with religious beliefs
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•	 Requirement to purchase tools and/or equipment
•	 Pay, hours and/or location
•	 Type of work and experience required

What constitutes good cause is influenced by general labor market conditions. A “reasonably prudent person” acts differently 
when jobs are plentiful.

Appeal Request
If you or a former employee is dissatisfied with a non-monetary decision, you each have 15 days from the date on the 
determination notice to appeal. If either party does not agree with the appeal decision, the next step would be an appeal to 
the Secretary of Labor and Regulation or directly to Circuit Court. However, the Secretary is not required to review all cases 
appealed to her or him. Parties who appeal to the Secretary retain the option of appealing to Circuit Court. No fee is charged 
to either party for a regular appeal or a Secretary’s appeal. 

You and your former employee may be represented by an attorney at an appeal; such representation is not required, 
however.

QUALITY CONTROL PROGRAM/BENEFIT PAYMENT CONTROL
Audits
We audit a sample group of claimants selected each week to test the accuracy of the unemployment insurance payments 
and denials. On an ongoing basis, auditors interview claimants who are selected randomly by the computer. In addition, 
they review the claim and contact the employer to verify appropriate payroll records and to substantiate the reason for 
unemployment. They also verify the claimant’s work search attempts.

The audits result in answers to the questions, “Was this claimant truly eligible to receive unemployment insurance benefits?” 
or “Was this claimant properly denied benefits?”

Auditors document types and causes of over- or under-payment of benefits and improper denials. They also determine 
whether the errors were made by the claimant, the Unemployment Insurance Division or the employer.

The purpose of the Quality Control Program is to prevent and reduce both fraud and abuse through better detection of 
improper payments and denials.

In addition, the program is intended to reduce improper payments or denials in the future by deterring future 
unemployment insurance claimants from submitting inaccurate information on the claim applications. This helps reduce 
taxes for you and other employers. 

As part of conducting a thorough audit, investigators may need to contact you. Therefore, your cooperation in this effort is 
greatly appreciated. If you would like more information about Quality Control, call 605.626.7649.

Fraud, Misrepresentation and Overpayments
Through our fraud detection unit, we work to prevent and detect benefits paid through willful misrepresentation, including 
collusion, conspiracy or error by the claimant or others. The program also focuses on recovery of benefit overpayments. 

In addition to detecting and recovering overpayments, the fraud unit investigates overpayments to determine if they resulted 
from misrepresentation. The unit prosecutes those cases where deliberate fraud is clearly indicated and where evidence can 
be presented to substantiate the charge.

All potential fraud cases are investigated and classified as either “overpayment” or “fraud.” Criminal charges are not filed in 
overpayment cases except where misrepresentation occurred; however, the law does require restitution. The department 
imposes four weeks of administrative penalty for each week of fraud. The claimant must file for (serve) the penalty weeks 
but cannot be paid benefits. This penalty does not expire but must be served before any benefits can be paid. In addition, 
the law administers a monetary penalty equal to 50% of benefits of the fraudulent payment for the first offense and 100% for 
each subsequent offense.

In addition to investigation, the fraud unit is a liaison with other state, federal and local law enforcement agencies.

To assist the fraud unit in its investigation of potential fraud, you can:
•	 Provide information promptly, including completion of wage crossmatch forms.
•	 Make certain the information given is as accurate and complete as possible.
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•	 Contribute any other information that can help the unit in its investigation to determine if benefits have been 
fraudulently claimed.

You can report information by contacting an investigator in Aberdeen at 605.626.7649, Rapid City at 605.394.2295 or Sioux 
Falls at 605.367.5306.
You can also visit dlr.sd.gov/ui/businesses and click on “Reporting Possible Fraud” on the left blue menu.

NEW HIRE REPORTING
All employers, private, non-profit and government agencies, are required to report certain information on newly hired, re-
hired, re-employed or re-instated employees to the New Hire Reporting Center (NHRC). This information is matched against 
child support records to locate parents and to establish or enforce child support orders.

You must report all new hires within 20 days of the date of hire, including any employee who is hired, whether full-time, 
part-time, student or temporary.

You must report the following information to the NHRC:
•	 Employee name, address, social security number and date of hire
•	 Employer name, address and Federal Identification number 

You can fax, call or mail:
•	 A printed list with the required information
•	 A copy of the federal W-4 form 

You have several reporting options:
•	 Go directly to sdwagereport.com or go to our home page, sdjobs.org, select “Unemployment Insurance,” then 

“Unemployment Insurance for Business,” then click “Log in here to Report New Hires.”
•	  Once registered to report online, employers have two options.

1. Manually enter employees by clicking on the “Online Form” tab, or
2. Upload a New Hire Report by clicking the “File Transfer” tab. (Upload specifications can be found once you are 
logged in for online reporting.)

•	 Phone - 888.827.6078 or 605.626.2942
•	 Fax - 888.835.8659 or 605.626.2842
•	 Mail - New Hire Reporting Center, SD Department of Labor and Regulation, PO Box 4700, Aberdeen, SD 57402-4700

LABOR MARKET INFORMATION
The Labor Market Information Center (LMIC) is your best source for labor market information, covering local, state and 
national unemployment levels, the number of workers by industry and average annual pay by industry.

The LMIC provides you with:
•	 Occupational wage information
•	 Employee benefits information	
•	 Estimates of available labor
•	 Analysis of current economic conditions
•	 Projected worker levels by industry and occupation
•	 Employment staffing patterns
•	 Labor market demographic information
•	 Cost of living information

The LMIC also provides numerous publications and materials containing information for career planners and decision 
makers. A great deal of labor market information is also available at our website at sdjobs.org. Click on the yellow “Labor 
Market Information” button.

LMIC publishes a monthly economic newsletter, The South Dakota e-Labor Bulletin. To subscribe, click on “Order 
Publications” or call the Labor Market Information Center at 800.592.1881.

http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/businesses/default.aspx
www.sdwagereport.com
www.sdjobs.org
www.sdjobs.org
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DLR JOB SERVICE OFFICES
You will save time and money recruiting and training new personnel when you use the services of our local offices.

Recruitment
Local job service offices match applicants with your job specifications to meet your personnel needs in a prompt and 
efficient manner.

Using SDWORKS, South Dakota’s extensive jobs database of openings and applicants, DLR simplifies the process of finding 
the right employee for the job. Job information such as salary, job duties and qualifications are matched with an applicant’s 
experience and qualifications.

Local job service offices also conduct outreach activities to assist you in attaining affirmative action goals. For new and 
expanding businesses hiring a large number of workers, the local job service office can provide special recruitment 
services.

Online Services
Contact your local job service office (see p. 20) to place a job order and receive these no-cost services. You may also 
establish an account, list job openings and/or look for the right employee using the SDWORKS online system. Visit our 
website, sdjobs.org. Just click on “Post a Job.”

Skilled and Professional Employees
Our job service offices have qualified job applicants for a variety of jobs, both skilled and professional. We encourage 
you to call your local job service office when you need applicants with graduate degrees, specialized training and/or 
experience.

Aberdeen
420 S Roosevelt
PO Box 4730
57402-4730
605.626.2340

Brookings
1310 Main Ave S, Suite 103
57006-3893
605.688.4350

Huron
2361 Dakota Ave S
57350-2413
605.353.7155

Lake Andes
3rd & Lake St	
57356		
605.487.7607, x207 or 212	
		

Madison
223 S Van Eps Ave, Suite 101
57042-2886
605.256.5300	

Mitchell	
1321 N Main St
57301-1354	
605.995.8060	

North Sioux City
504 River Dr, City Hall
57049-3015	
605.242.5445

Pierre
116 W Missouri Ave
57501-4506
605.773.3372

Rapid City
2330 N. Maple Ave., Suite 1
57701-7898
605.394.2296

Sioux Falls
811 E 10th St, Dept 41
57103-1650
605.367.5300

Sisseton
205 E Oak, Federal Bldg
57262-1526
605.698.3964

Spearfish
1300 North Ave
57783-1525
605.642.6900

Vermillion
1024 W Cherry
57069-1742
605.677.6900

Watertown
2001 9th Ave SW, Suite 200
57201-4029
605.882.5151

Winner
313 S Main St
57580-1728
605.842.0474

Yankton
3113 Spruce, Suite 124
57078-5320
605.668.2900	

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE DIVISION ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE
Aberdeen
420 S Roosevelt St
PO Box 4730
57402-4730
UI Appeals: 605.626.2310
UI Tax: 605.626.2312 
UI Customer Service: 605.626.2452

www.sdjobs.org
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IMPORTANT POINTS TO REMEMBER
•	 Time limits are important. You may incur penalties, lose a favorable tax rate or forego appeal rights if you don’t act in 

time.
•	 Tax or penalty payments must be properly identified to credit your account promptly. Use your Employer Account 

Number.
•	 Official changes of address should be made in writing to our Administrative Office. See p. 1 for our address.
•	 Attend appeal hearings whenever you have information about a claimant’s eligibility.
•	 Review your Notice of Benefit Charges to be sure your account is not being charged incorrectly.
•	 Contact your local Tax Unit Field Representative on questions or problems involving your unemployment taxes. Phone 

numbers and addresses can be found on p. 20.
•	 Let the Department of Labor and Regulation help you fill your job openings by calling the nearest local job service 

office. Phone numbers and addresses can be found on p. 20.
•	 Read and follow instructions on required forms. It can save you time and money.

IMPORTANT LINKS
South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation – sdjobs.org

UI Homepage – dlr.sd.gov/ui/default.aspx

Advisory Council – dlr.sd.gov/ui/advisory_council/default.aspx

Claims – dlr.sd.gov/ui/individuals/default.aspx

Employer Updates – dlr.sd.gov/ui/businesses/default.aspx

Forms – dlr.sd.gov/ui/forms.aspx

New Hire Reporting – dlr.sd.gov/ui/new_hire_reporting/default.aspx

Online Reporting – sdwagereport.com

Register Your Business – dlr.sd.gov/ui/businesses/default.aspx

Reporting Possible Fraud – dlr.sd.gov/ui/overpayments/default.aspx

Administrative Rules – sdlegislature.gov

State of South Dakota
Codified Law, Title 61 – legis.state.sd.us/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=61
Administrative Rules, Article 47:06 – legis.state.sd.us/rules/Display Rule.aspx?Rule=47:06

Federal Government
Internal Revenue Service – www.irs.gov

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE DIVISION, TAX UNIT FIELD REPRESENTATIVES
Aberdeen							     
420 S Roosevelt St						    
PO Box 4730							     
57402-4730							     
605.626.2312

Pierre
116 W Missouri Ave
57501-0460
605.773.3398

Rapid City 
2330 N Maple Ave, Suite 1
57701-7898
605.394.2317 
    x2376 or 1651

Sioux Falls
1500 W 51st St., Suit 106 
57105
605.367.5309  
   x5310, 5311 or 5592

Watertown
2001 9th Ave SW, Suite 200
57201-4029
605.882.5105

www.sdjobs.org
www.dlr.sd.gov/ui/default.aspx
http://www.dlr.sd.gov/ui/advisory_council/default.aspx
http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/individuals/default.aspx
http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/businesses/default.aspx
http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/forms.aspx
http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/new_hire_reporting/default.aspx
www.sdwagereport.com
http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/businesses/default.aspx
http://dlr.sd.gov/ui/overpayments/default.aspx
http://sdlegislature.gov/rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=47:06&_ga=2.223469083.1213823106.1501596606-882868477.1501596606
www.legis.state.sd.us/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=61
www.legis.state.sd.us/rules/Display Rule.aspx?Rule=47:06
www.irs.gov
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Appendix
Examples of Tax Forms

Example 1
Employer’s Quarterly Contribution, Investment Fee and Wage Report
Form 21

EMPLOYER’S QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION, INVESTMENT FEE, AND WAGE REPORT
South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation, Unemployment Insurance Division, Attention: Cashier
PO Box 4730, Aberdeen, SD 57402-4730 • Phone 605.626.2312 • Fax 605.626.3347 • www.sdjobs.org

Account Number

Quarter/Year                                                               Due Date

15.   Employee’s Social Security Number                  16.  Employee’s Name (Last, First)                                        17.  Total Gross Wages Paid This Quarter        18.  Excess Wages This Quarter

Form 21 (rev. 7/16)

Signature                      I certify all information on this report is complete and correct.

Title                                                                     Date

Prepared by                                                        Telephone

1. For each month, report the number of covered workers who worked during or 
received pay for the payroll period which includes the 12th of the month.

If none, enter “0”

1st month 2nd month 3rd month

2.  Does this account operate in more than one
location in South Dakota?            Yes                            No          

Please use Black Ink Only.
Completion instructions are on page four below.

                                         

3.  Total gross wages paid in this quarter (Item 21)

4.  Wages paid this quarter in excess of annual per person (Item 22)

5.  Taxable wages (Item 3 minus Item 4)

6.  UI contribution rate                                                   % x line 5

6a.  Surcharge rate                                                   % x line 5 

7.  Investment  fee rate                                                  % x line 5

8.  Total due (add lines 6, 6a & 7)

9.  Adjustment from prior quarters (explain on attached page )

10.  Interest:  Line 8 x 1.5% per month from due date

11.  Penalty for late filing:  $25.00 per month

12.  Penalty for late payment: $25.00 per month

13.  Total remittance (add lines 8, 9, 10, 11 & 12)

Make remittance payable to “SD Unemployment Insurance”14. If your business in South Dakota has changed in any way, please complete Item 14 on the back 
side 

14. If your business in South Dakota has changed in any way, please complete Item 14 on 
following page. If the ownership changed during this quarter, each owner must submit a report.

19.  Total Gross Wages This Page 20.  Total Excess Wages This Page

21.  Total Gross Wages All Pages 22.  Total Excess Wages All Pages

Annual Taxable Wage base, per employee:
2011=$11,000, 2012=$12,000,2013=$13,000,2014=$14,000, 2015&after=$15,000

Note: When you make a check payment, you authorize us to use information from your check to make a one-time electronic funds transfer (EFT) from your account. When we use information from 
your check to make an EFT, funds may be withdrawn from your account as soon as the same day we receive your payment. You will not receive your check back from your financial institution.
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Example 2
Notice to Base-Period Employer
Form 238

 
   SD DEPARTMENT OF LABOR & REGULATION DATE OF NOTICE  
      UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE DIVISION  
                               BOX 4730 CLAIMANT 
     ABERDEEN, SOUTH DAKOTA  57402-4730 
                   PHONE #: 605-626-2452 EFF. DATE OF CLAIM  
                      FAX #: 605-626-3172 
      WEB SITE:  http://www.sdjobs.org BASE PERIOD 
Employer Number 

Weekly Benefit 
Amount 

Maximum 
Benefit Amount 

Amount 
Chargeable to 
Your Account 

Base Period Wages 
While in Your Employ 

Total Base Period 
Wages 

Claimant 
Social Security Number 

      

   
 UI Tax No. 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 

EMPLOYER COMPLETE THIS SECTION 
 

 
Dates Worked 
Dates Worked 

Separation Payment Information In Addition To Regular Wages 
From: 
 

To: Hrs Worked 
Last Calendar 
Week 
 

Sick leave#_____________  $_____________  Vacation/PTO#_____________  $________________ 
                   Hours                     Gross                                          Hours                     Gross  
 

Holiday#_____________  $_____________  Severance         #_____________  $________________ 
              Hours                     Gross                                               Hours                   Gross 
 

Other______________________________________________  #_____________  $______________ 
          List type of payment                                                                Hours                    Gross 

Hourly Rate: Average # 
Hrs Worked 
Each Week: 

REASON NO LONGER WORKING: (PLEASE PROVIDE SPECIFIC INFORMATION.  ADDITIONAL SHEETS OR DOCUMENTS MAY BE ATTACHED.) 
 
     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

This is an initial determination that your experience rating account 
will be charged for benefits.  This determination is final unless 
within 15 days from the date of this notice you mail or fax us this 
form giving detailed information.  Please make a copy for your files. 
 
 
 
 
Signed for 
Employer  _____________________________________________  
 
 
Telephone  ____________________________________________  
 
 
E-Mail  _______________________________________________  
 
 
Date  _________________________________________________  
 
If additional information is required, who should we contact from your office? _______________________________________________________________ 

                                                                                     
Employer information on protests, appeals and relief from charges is on the back of this form 

DLR-UID-238  (4/11) 
 

This claimant’s base period also contains 
wages with the following employers: 


