Department of Labor and Regulation

Title - Division of Securities

Winners of the 2013 - 2014 SD High School Senior Essay Contest

Congratulations to these 2013 - 2014 essay contest winners! Division of Securities Director, Michael Youngberg, recently presented checks to winners of the 2013 - 2014 South Dakota High School Senior Essay Contest:

  • First Place: Kristie Bade, $6,000, Northwestern Area High School
  • Second Place: Emma Froke, $5,000, West Central High School
  • Third Place: Ridge Sandal, $3,500, Wall High School
  • Fourth Place: Conrad Adam, $2,500, T.F. Riggs High School
  • Fifth Place: Summer Smith, $1,500, West Central High School

"How to Create Financial Independence by Understanding Five Principles of Investing" was the theme of the investor education and protection initiative. South Dakota high school seniors were invited to submit five-page essays to win the cash prizes.

Additional cash prizes were given based on a drawing. Those winners were:

  • $1,000 each: Chelsey Mehlhoff Clyde, Warner High School and Abigail Ceremuga, RC Stevens High School
  • $750 each: Rachel Zacher, Belle Fourche High School and Austin Effling, Britton-Hecla High School
  • $500 each: Jalen Hurley, Parkston High School and Colin Geppert, Kimball High School
  • $250 each: Schyler Sattler, Northwestern Area High School and Sachiko Risseeuw, Plankinton High School

The Division of Securities received 189 entries in the eighth annual contest, which began last fall and ended Jan. 21, 2014. Essays were judged on their content

In addition to submitting essays, students also had to be sponsored by a teacher from their high school. Educators sponsoring the top five winning students received cash prizes up to $500, and the teacher sponsoring the most senior student essays won $100. One teacher was also randomly drawn to win $100. Educators honored as sponsors are:

  • Anne Frericks, $500, Northwestern Area High School, for sponsoring the first place winner
  • Kent Mueller, $400, West Central High School, for sponsoring the second place winner
  • David Ermish, $300, Wall High School, for sponsoring the third place winner
  • Denise Thompson, $200, T.F. Riggs High School, for sponsoring the fourth place winner
  • JoAnne Bohl, $100, West Central High School, for sponsoring the fifth place winner
  • Tyler Hockett (Parkston High School), received $100 for sponsoring the most qualified entries
  • Andrea Johnson (West Central High School), was the teacher randomly chosen to receive a cash prize of $100

The essay contest was funded by a grant from the Investor Protection Trust (IPT), a nonprofit organization devoted to investor education. Since 1993, the IPT has worked with states to provide independent, objective investor education all Americans can use to make informed investment decisions. For more information, visit

Contact Us

445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3185
Phone: 605.773.4823
Fax: 605.773.5953

Division of Securities
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3185
Tel. 605.773.4823
Fax. 605.773.5953