Filing a Complaint with the South Dakota

Division of Insurance

Insurance Complaint Process

Step 1—Try to resolve the dispute yourself
o Contacting your agent
e Contacting your insurance company
During your conversation, consider asking to speak with a supervisor regarding your issue; ask that any
agreement, compromise or agent/company position regarding your issue be provided in writing.

Step 2—File a complaint with the South Dakota Department of Labor & Regulation’s Division of Insurance:
e Complaints must be submitted in writing—there are several ways to file a complaint:
0 File a complaint online using the DOI complaint portal available here.
0 Print the online complaint form and submit it.
0 Write a letter explaining the situation
e Include as much of the following information as possible:
Name of the insurance company and/or agent
Policy number
Employer Name/Group number (if applicable)
Insured’s Name
Detailed description of what happened and who was involved
Correspondence between you and the company regarding the dispute
Copy of your Health ID card
Detailed description of the solution you are seeking
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Step 3—Complaint Process
e Upon receiving the complaint request, the Division will open a consumer inquiry and assign a
problem report identification number.
e You will receive a letter from the Division confirming receipt of your complaint and notifying you of
the problem report identification number assigned to your issue.
0 If additional information is requested by the Division, instruction will be provided.
0 If you have additional information not originally included with your complaint, please
submit it in writing , referencing the assigned problem report number.
o A letter will be sent by the Division to the company and/or agent named in your complaint.
0 The company and/or agent must respond within 20 days from receipt of the letter.
0 Not all questions/issues will be resolved in the initial response received from the company and/
or agent.
0 Follow-up requests for information issued by the Division also allow 20 days from the receipt of
the request for a response from the company and/or agent.
e Once the information has been gathered, the facts will be reviewed against state laws,
administrative rules, and the policy.
e A letter will be sent to you with the results upon completion of the complaint investigation.

Still have questions before filing your complaint? Contact us at 605.773.3563 or via email SDComplaints@state.sd.us
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